We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 point of views, Great if you are traveling with Tica Bus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Meson de Maria
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 point of views, Great if you are traveling with Tica Bus”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was traveling from Costa Rica to El Salvador with Tica Bus. I arrived around 10:30 pm and I didn't have a place to stay. There was in front of me this hotel. I paid 14$ per night for a room for 2. The room had 2 individual beds that were ok, it didn't have Tv, but the Wifi signal was very good. It didn't have AC and it was necessary because it was very hot in El Salvador, but it had a fan. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. It didn't include breakfast but it is located in the Zona Rosa of El Salvador, which is pretty beautiful and safe, so we took a little walk in the morning and ate a great and cheap breakfast at a local restaurant. That night at this hotel was very good, the staff were very helpful.

I stayed 2 more nights in this hotel after traveling around El Salvador and Guatemala. If was a completely different room. I was with a friend and we paid 16$ dollars per night each. The room was very big with its own bathroom and shower, it had AC and TV. There were 2 king size beds that were very comfortable. It was very convenient because our bus was leaving at 3 am. We fall asleep and woke up 13 min before 3, we didn't have our luggage ready and could even take the bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
18
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I simply can't understand why this hostel is $20 a night for a dorm. Throughout my entire time in El Salvador I paid $8 or $9 per night but for over double you would expect something good right? Wrong.
- Computers at reception need to be paid for
- No communal area
- Tiny rooms
- No lockers
In fact, once 1pm reaches you actually need to leave the premises and can't even hang around to wait for a bus
- No filtered water
In fact, when my friend went to buy a bottle of water at 11pm, the receptionist told him that there were "no more drinks at all" after 10pm. This meant my friend needed to wander the streets at midnight in order to get a drink.

I must say that the staff were very nice & helpful to me, but to my friend they were not, so I suppose it's a flip of the coin.

This hostel is clearly extorting the fact that they are above the Tica Bus station - I recommend staying down the road somewhere cheaper & with better atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Salvador hotels

Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel while on my way to Nicaragua from Guatemala. The bus dropped me off in the front door and after confirming the next morning's bus to Nicaragua, dropped my backpack off and realxed a bit. There is a small restaurant area, though I didn't eat there. The place is nice, clean overall, though the room where I stayed in was a little cramped. The door would barely open because the twin beds in it were too close to it.

Room Tip: If travelling with Ticabus, stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is incredibly convenient if you are traveling via TICA bus, and the quality was better than I had expected. I thought since it was such easy business for them it wouldn't be very nice, but was happy to see the rooms were clean, showers had hot water, and there was free WIFI. There are probably cheaper places to stay, but this is a great option in a safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night on our trip from Nicaragua to Guatemala. If you are travelling with Tica bus this hotel is a good option as the bus stops right outside it, and there is a Tica bus office at the ground level. The rooms are large, have wifi, and the standard is ok considering the price (USD 32 for an "executive rooom" if you are a Tica passenger). There are restaurants in the area such as Wendy's and Pizza Hut, probably som nicer restaurants as well. Few in the staff speaks english.

Would not have stayed here if I were to stay in San Salvadore for more than the night in relation to travelling with Tica, then I would have chosen a nicer hotel closer to shopping etc, especially as the staff told us that it was not safe to just get a taxi of the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Hotel de Maria was where we stayed during our few days in San Salvador. The hotel is in situated in an excellent location (Zona Rosa), very safe, walking distance to many restaurants and other hotels. It is also right by the Tica Bus (Central America transportation) ticket terminal. The facility is very clean, staff is very friendly, our room was towards the back so very quiet, the room size is good, has AC and free wi-fi. There is a very nice patio that is used as a dining area, but in between our excursions we used to sit there and relax with a drink. We stayed there the first two nights, then returned for the last night before we left the country.
It was refreshing to stay in an unassuming place where you actually can get to meet the locals and stay away from big hotel chains. If you are looking for luxury, this place is not for you. But if you want good value, a clean place, friendly staff and something a bit low key, this hotel definitely won't disappoint.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 327Aries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2011

very nice hotel, very clean, the staff is very friendly. the location is excellent and safe. excellent price for passenger bus!

Room Tip: good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.4 mi away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
#10 of 54 in San Salvador
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#8 of 54 in San Salvador
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#6 of 54 in San Salvador
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maria Jose Suites
Maria Jose Suites
#12 of 54 in San Salvador
102 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#17 of 54 in San Salvador
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson de Maria

Property: Hotel Meson de Maria
Address: Boulevard del hipodromo No 301, Colonia San Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador, San Salvador 503, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson de Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Meson de Maria is the answer to the continuing search for low-cost hotel options in an atmosphere, comfortable, hygienic and safe facilities to make you feel right at home. Run by friendly and qualified staff. It has restaurant services, bar and cafe, laundry service, taxis international transportation, car rental etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Meson de Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meson De Maria El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing