We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to San Salvador” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Torogoz Casa de Huespedes

El Torogoz Casa de Huespedes
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Torogoz Casa de Huespedes
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit to San Salvador”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

My visit was very good, the great staff are very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent all freshly made and well presented. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well conditioned, All in all a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Hotel El Torogoz is great, most notably for the friendly atmosphere and the helpful staff. In total, during the summer of 2011 I spent several weeks there and it was a great experience. When my father, who spoke no Spanish, came to visit me we stayed and he soon became a member of the family, despite being unable to communicate with anyone! The rooms are clean and simple, with very good air conditioning (San Salvador's heat can be intense) and comfortable beds. The price is competitive and it is in a great part of the city - not the uber-fancy (and uber-expensive) areas but a safe, clean neighborhood close to the national university and lots of food. I definitely plan to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Arriving into San Salvador can be a daunting experience, and as such, having somewhere clean, friendly and that makes you feel at home is very important.

As such, I would throughly recommend El Torogoz. It is a lovely hotel in a safe part of the city (Reparto Santo Fe). The rooms are excellent with air conditioning, cable TV and comfortable beds.

All of the staff are also extremely friendly, and certainly always make me very welcome, treated at times more like a friend or family member, something which, living away from home is always something I really appeaciate it.

I adore El Salvador, and I even love San Salvador. I would really recommend the country, the city for a night or two, and El Torogoz as my favourite place to stay in this city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon_M_Walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

Wow...what an experience. There were several hotels/hostels in this residential area of El Salvador and I picked this one because of the nice room and the swimming pool out back. Well, I happened to be there for one of their private fiestas so I couldn't use the pool (told that it was closed for cleaning but it was really because they were having a huge multi-day party). I was the ONLY person staying in the place...can't call it a hostel or a hotel as that is not what this is.

On my second day there I was taking a nap and I heard the door to my room open and when I looked up they shut it and were gone by the time I went out to see who it was and what they wanted. Since I was the only one staying in the place it was suspect. I told the owners later in the day when they returned about it. They then got all of their employees to come into the main room and the guy said the employees have been with them for over ten years and that none of them tried going into my room and that I was making it up. Making it up? Why would I make something like this up? Well we got into it and I finally said to call the police before I realized they were probably well connected in the town (due to their wealth) and that in the third world it is never wise to talk with the police.
Bottom line: DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE CONCERNED ABOUT YOUR PRIVACY. The fact that no other travelers were staying there said something in itself but it also raises the question of if something happened there to you that there are no other travelers to talk to about it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Can recommend this one. Just north of town and not far to walk to Boulevard Los Heroes with plenty of restaurants nearby too. USD 30 for a double room which includes breakfast, with some very friendly staff. Nice little pool in the back garden for relaxing, although mostly in the shade in the afternoon due to the trees. We had a double room with shared bath. Both spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen_walker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#18 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Via Luz
#33 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tazumal House
Hotel Tazumal House
#5 of 46 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 46 in San Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Jose Hostal
Hotel San Jose Hostal
#12 of 46 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Torogoz Casa de Huespedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Torogoz Casa de Huespedes

Property: El Torogoz Casa de Huespedes
Address: Final 35 Av. Norte No 6 y 7 Bis, Reparto Santa Fe, San Salvador 9020393, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty Lodging in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a comfortable place to stay in San Salvador, allow us to become your home away from home. We are located in a accessible place near to malls and banks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Torogoz Casa de Huespedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Torogoz Casa De Huespedes El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing