We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good value in San Salvador” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Las Palmas.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Suites Las Palmas.
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good value in San Salvador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

on hotels.com I found a very low rate at the Clarion Suites and as I was not happy with the cramped 'economy' hotel I was staying in, I gave this hotel a try. not only was the hotel in a great neighborhood with lots of restaurants and nice areas to walk, but the room was huge, had a kitchenette, a living room and separate bedroom with two queen size beds. although a free breakfast was not included in the rate my friend and I paid, they still gave us vouchers for the free breakfast, which was lovely...on the top of the hotel, sitting outside with a view of the whole city. if you can get the rate we did (less than $70 per night), this has got to be the best value in San Salvador. I heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: i would recommend getting a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank folkestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion S, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Las Palmas., responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear folkestad,
Thank you for giving our hotel a try. We are overjoyed with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    23
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
14
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First time in El Salvador, was skeptical prior to my visit as most friends were saying "Why are you going to El Salvador out of all places". My long time buddy was getting married at the Sheraton San Salvador and I was looking for a affordably priced hotel instead of the pricey Sheraton. My buddy living in El Salvador recommended Clarion Suites, and it was a really good recommendation. Four of us booked 4 nights and the price was very affordable. Room service was up to par and the breakfast was sufficient. The pool on the rooftop looks bigger in the pictures, it's not as big, and they only have 2 long chairs for sun tanning. I'm not sure if they had more in storage and just decided to put 2 out. The roof was clean so we spent a good portion of our time on the roof. Also on the roof is a gym room, it has all the adequate weights/cardio for a good workout. The hotel was clean in general, front desk and room service were very nice. We needed to book something close to the Sheraton, so that was our primary goal for location. But other than, there were some bars and some dance clubs in the area within walking distance. We checked out some bars, there is one bar across the street that we enjoyed, forgot the name, but you have to walk up a good set of stairs to reach the bar. There are plenty of food options in the area: Dominos, pizza hut, subway, tony romas, etc. For parking, they have parking under the hotel, which they do not charge extra for. Wifi was always working it the hotel and did not lag speed. The A/C worked great in the room as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion S, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Las Palmas., responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay in our hotel, for us those words are very important, thanks for taking a chance and try our hotel. We hope to have you in a near future. Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

After travelling around El Salvador, it was heavenly to arrive at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and accomodated our late check out with big smiles. The rooftop pool and breakfast room are amazing, and we really enjoyed our meal at the adjoining restaurant. While I doubt this area is the real San Salvador there are many restaurants and museums within walking distance which makes a pleasant day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion S, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Las Palmas., responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear SMD919 ,

Thank you for sending this fabulous review. We are overjoyed that you had a great stay, is very important to us. We hope to have you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was selected for me in a recent business trip and I was happy that it was. The room was big and clean, the bed was super comfortable, the included breakfast was yummy, the WiFi was good everywhere and the staff was very nice ad helpful. It is located in a very safe area surrounded by restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion S, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Las Palmas., responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Chris, Thanks for choosing our hotel, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to have you in our hotel in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good WiFi, decent hot and cold breakfast buffet included, good central location, comfortable rooms with everything working, fair price ... highly recommend this place for business travelers looking to not do much damage to expense account. It has everything the nearby, big chain hotels have but in a smaller, more easily accessible place with a friendly staff. Good selection of nearby restaurants (fast food and better) at walking distance. Yes, gym and pool not much to write home about but the rooms are spacious with comfortable, modern furnishings. Upper floors have view of volcano, mountains, city.

Room Tip: Go for upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion S, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Las Palmas., responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear RC A,

Thanks for sending us your review and recommendation for business travelers. We appreciate the time you took to do your observations. We hope to have you in our hotel in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was very happy with the service here. I recommend trying the hotel will offer you a room on an upper floor because my friends got it but I did not. and the outlook for them was the best. The pool is not very big but enough for fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Las Palmas., responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Robin,

Thank you very much for sending your review and your recommendations, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are sorry you couldn't have the same type of room your friends had. We will be delighted if you come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I am so glad I selected this hotel for a recent business trip. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and super clean. The staff was very helpful. There is a modest sized conference room which can be used for meetings, free of charge if available. I was able to arrange for coffee and snacks to be served at a very reasonable cost. The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. I loved the full buffet breakfast with fruit, eggs, local dishes such as pupusas and an array of breakfast breads. Fresh juice and coffee is served by the staff. If possible grab a seat on the terrace and soak up the view of the city and surrounding volcanos.
There are several choices of restaurants very nearby, although crossing the busy road in front of the hotel is a bit of an adventure! The hotel bar often has drink specials and live music.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nowvoyagerVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#2 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#3 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#11 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Magnolias
Hotel Las Magnolias
#9 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Las Palmas.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Las Palmas.

Property: Clarion Suites Las Palmas.
Address: Zona Rosa | Colonia San Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#12 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Suites Las Palmas. 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Clarion Suites Las Palmas. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Las Palmas Hotel San Salvador
Clarion Suites Las Palmas. El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing