We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.”
Review of Maria Jose Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maria Jose Suites
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Clean, safe, simple and friendly place in a quiet street. We stayed there for a week and liked it very much.
The breakfast is a nice touch, served in your room at the preferred time.
We went grocery shopping at the supermarket and cooked "at home".
We would go back there without any hesitations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stechaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Maria Jose Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay here for three months. I was working at sites across El Salvador, and Apart-Hotel Maria Jose became my base of operations and oasis from the chaos of San Salvador. This hotel is a superb value. It is ideal for business travelers and those attending family events in the area.

Location- Colonia San Benito is quiet, safe neighborhood with plenty of shopping, bars, and restaurants nearby. I was quite comfortable to walk around alone at night. The streets are wide and clean with beautiful landscaping. This area is one of the best in the entire country.

Rooms- The rooms are functional but not luxurious. However, one has all the basics to live comfortably. There is AC and cable TV in the bedrooms. The WiFi was reliable and reasonably fast with good coverage throughout the building.

Facility- The building is very secure and has three stories, an elevator, a small but lovely pool, secure access, covered secure parking, and 24 monitoring.

Dining- There is no restaurant, but a free breakfast is included. One may choose from among several option and specify delivery time. Breakfast is served in the room or poolside. The breakfast was always good, always on time, and always correct per the order. The staff even would notice if a guest routinely did not eat any item on the plate and thoughtfully substitute it for something else.

Service- A staff member is on duty 24/7. Access to the building and parking area is controlled by the on-duty staff member. The rooms are cleaned daily, and the cleaning quality is superb. Cleaning even includes bussing the breakfast and washing any pots, pans, and dishes left in the sinks. Filtered water is delivered daily. If you have any concerns or maintenance issues, it will be quickly resolved. The front desk can help arrange taxis, tours, or any special requests you may have. For example, I enquired about travel options to La Ceiba. They provided me with a chart listing various air and land options with schedules, prices, contacts, and suggestions. Now that is truly exceptional service above and beyond any reasonable expectation!

Staff- The staff is the best part of this hotel. You will always be greeted and given a warm smile. Every single staff member was so friendly and kind: front desk, maintenance, and housekeeping. I felt almost like a member of the family. Often I just spent several minutes just chatting with staff. PJ, the manager, is especially amiable. He is sincerely concerned about the comfort of his guests, and it shows in how well everything operates. PJ is also fluent in English.

Enjoy your stay here. I definitely did. If I have another project in El Salvador, I would not even consider staying elsewhere. Best of all, the price is very low!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have better view. Third floor better view than second.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiveXplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I want say that I'm very picky. i usually stay at the Marriot wherever I go.
A friend recommended this small hotel and I don't regret, stayed with my family during my trip to El Salvador.
I don't have any complains. Friendly staff, clean rooms with small living room, breakfast and free parking. Home away from home.
I strongly recommended.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Patty Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I just came back from El Salvador and stayed at Maria Jose. Excellent location in the Zona Rosa area. The staff is great and the rooms are very good. They all come equipped with a full kitchen. You can buy stuff at the local supermarket and cook if you like. Honestly though, food is so cheap in El Salvador that you are better off going out. Enjoy pupusas or some seafood around the corner at La Ola.

Room Tip: It would be nice if they had a fitness center but for the price and location, you really can't g...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed a week at this apartment hotel. The best location for the money in San Salvador. This is located in Zona Rosa with many, many restaurants within walking distance, deluxe as well as fast food. A very secure area of San Salvador. A supermarket is located within 10 minutes' walk so you can do your own cooking if you want as there is a full kitchen.
PJ, Esperanza and Carlos were all super helpful. Esperanza found a great tour operator for us and arranged all the sightseeing tours for us with El Salvador Travel Plan, formerly know as Murray Travel Plan. They are also highly recommended and their prices were half of other tour operators.

PJ speaks and writes excellent English and answer your emails immediately.

They have the cutest little pool and we had our breakfast there every morning. You can choose between six different a la carte menus.

Wi Fi is good everywhere on the property.

The National Museum of Anthropology is within walking distance and well worth a visit. The elegant Bistro restaurant annexed to the museum offers excellent value lunch specials.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cavendish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Rooms are very big for the price. Not overly luxurious but functional and clean. Staff were very friendly when we arrived. Walking distance to good restaurants and shops in a safe area. Noise does travel between rooms a little bit too easily.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOALdenHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Apartamentos Maria Jose for work. The place was quiet, full of light and with good wireless Internet connection. The apartments are very spacious and clean with all the facilities one might need: fridge, silent air con, stove, kitchen equipment, tv, etc. The decoration is not the most modern but it is pleasant enough. Service is impeccable.
Location wise is perfect, between the Sheraton and the Hilton, close to embassies and public administration buildings. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and a shopping mall a short drive away. It is on the way to Santa Tecla, a lively town to go out at night.
The area is also rather safe which is important for those who like to walk.
I'll keep stating there every time I go to El Salvador.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hadiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#7 of 55 in San Salvador
162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#6 of 55 in San Salvador
254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#4 of 55 in San Salvador
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Jose Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Jose Suites

Address: Col. San Benito | Av. La Capilla 223, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#6 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range: $76 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria Jose Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Maria Jose Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Jose Suites El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing