We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Jose Hostal
Ranked #11 of 54 San Salvador B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel San Jose Hostal from April 29 to May 3 2011. Nice little bed & breakfast (11 room in all) with AC, Cable TV and private Bathroom in each room. The breakfast was really good and they had an assorment of choices(included with the stay!). Well located close to a a mall center; MetroCentro and in walking distance of the El Establo restaurant, try their Churascaria plate excellent grilled meat for only 7.95$! We were pleansantly suprise for all the hostel offered. The staff were very friendly. Most of all the hotel was very clean, the place sparkled. The price was excellent double occupancy was for only 42$ a night + 8% if you payed with a credit card (don't know why?). Bottle water was provided to the room and the hotel had wi-fi for free. The area where the hotel is situated is quiet and secure(walked to the nearby SuperSelectos super market at night). There was never any problems with the AC or the other facilities of the hotel. Overall would stay there again because of the location, the price and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Narranjita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

Me and mu husband travel a lot and we also run our own little hotel.
The family and staf at this hostel is just so genuin kind, welcoming and goes beond service minded! In a safe quite neigbourhood, but close to a lot of shopping, resturants and activities. Rooms are bright and clean, breakfast is delicious.
Very good value for the price!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LiB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This is a great hotel for the price. The owners/staff are willing to give you any information or help you might need, and the 16 year-old translator is delightful. They made sure that our stay was comfortable and ensured that we got to the right bus station for our trip to Honduras. The breakfast and free wi-fi only add to the quality. Great place!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laura1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

This hotel has a family atmosphere, extremely helpful stuff which arrange us a day trip to see several attractions in the country. Free WI-FI,free coffee,and free breakfast.

i had found this hotel via the lonely-planet which is generally a bad idea but this time it was en excellent choice.

i also recommend to take a day tours from the hotel which is the most efficient way to see this tiny country.also we arrange a night bar scroll.

That it enjoy

Max from israel

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maxsambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

i came across this place after having lunch at the vegetarian restaurant sol y luna because it is close by. it was nice to pass by and stay here good internet wifi, clean, comfortable, quiet, private great for doing lots of work and study, nice breakfast free water friendly helpful people who are happy to help whether you need to put your bags here for a few more hours or need to make a call or soemthing.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank Rrr222111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I came upon this hotel 6 years ago and have returned to it every year since whether I am alone or with my groups. I take groups of 4-12 people and have always received very positive feedback from my group members about the hotel and, above all, the staff. The staff and the atmosphere are very professional, but also very homey. They go to great lengths to make sure you are comfortable. Breakfast is healthy and fresh, there are hot water showers, a comfortable central meeting/leisure area and three patio areas. The whole hotel sparkles with cleanliness. It is close to nightlife, a shopping center, and many restaurants (Las Fajitas is a wonderful restaurant on the same block). The staff are very hospitable and helpful, and are very willing to suggest things to do around the city and beyond. They have also been willing to take me to the places I need to go when I cannot arrange transportation.

Also, I know they offer extended-stay rates for language students and longer-term business stays. A friend of mine stayed there on my recommendation for three months while he was studying at a language school and was very pleased with everything.

I would recommend this hotel to solo travellers, business people, couples and groups. Tell them Anna sent you! :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annamariacolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

This is one of the nicest places I have stayed on my whole trip. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless, the breakfast delicious, the location excellent but best of all was the welcome I was given by the family who own the hostal. They could not have been more helpful. I was picked up from the bus station and even given a lift to the beach the next day . English and Spanish are spoken . No trip to El salvador is complete without a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trudy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Happy House
Hotel Happy House
#39 of 55 in San Salvador
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#17 of 55 in San Salvador
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tazumal House
Hotel Tazumal House
#7 of 54 in San Salvador
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia Centro
Hotel Villa Florencia Centro
#20 of 54 in San Salvador
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jose Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose Hostal

Address: Entre 39 Av. Norte y Av. Izalco Boulevard Universitario No. 2212 | Colonia San José, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Salvador
Price Range: $34 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Jose Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Jose Hostel is located in Zona Bohemia, a residential area accessible from anywhere in San Salvador. Close to restaurants, bars, cinemas, banks, supermarkets, and 5 minutes from Metrocentro, 8 minutes from the historic centre and 500 meters from the University of El Salvador, and at 45 minutes from the international airport of El Salvador ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel San Jose Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Jose Hostal El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing