We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place, stunning food, stunningly empty!”
Review of Lipskiy

Lipskiy
Ranked #125 of 1,902 Restaurants in Kiev
Price range: $5 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lypky
Description: The legendary restaurant in Kiev changes the rules and amazes again! The new menu, new interior, new format. Under the same roof, at Lipki, the heart of the capital, Lipsky combined the classic and modern. The art of modern gastronomy and take away author's desserts, creative space and traditional luxury of banquets, wine tastings and dj-sets, an exquisite restaurant and a stylish city cafe. People make selfie there and enter into contracts during lunch, have breakfast with their parents and dinner with a noisy group of friends. Lipsky is always open. It is open to everything new and surprising. In common with native Kiev, it is old, familiar, cozy, but always trendy.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Stunning place, stunning food, stunningly empty!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This restaurant will take your breath away. The ornate design, the huge, heavy leather tomes which serve as menus (every page authentically stamped and signed in a hark back to Soviet times). The exquisite (and expensive as I learned) wine list and the personal but not overbearing service which makes you feel all 'Downton Abbey' as they present the food by whipping the silver lid from the plate as they approach your table. We had the pancakes to start with a selection of local traditional pickles. All lovely, rather like Ukranian dim sum...small soft dumplings filled with meat and small potato fritters with fried onion, lovely. My partner went for the fish which was beautifully presented as was my entrecôte which came with fabulous fried potatoes! For dessert I had the ice cream served in a gently brittle brandy snap basket and my partner tried a local dessert which was like frost fruits wrapped in a semi transparent soft dumpling served with a strawberry cream sauce. Delicious! This restaurant absolutely deserves to be heaving on a a Saturday eve. If it was in London doing the east same menu in the exact same setting...you would have to book weeks in advance!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leelondon40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    41
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exquisite restaurant that you will fall in love”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

i was there with my wife for anniversary of our wedding, since it was during week days so did not have difficulties of making reservation but they were really supportive and understanding my last minute request.
Food were best i tried in ukraine and would not doubt, as for service, waiter had good understanding of english and provide excellent service as restaurant's reputation stays.

i would go again and would recommend to friends of their great service and food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xXPiccoXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best in kiev”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was on a business trip in Kiev, we had a wonderful dinner in this restaurant. We were 4 people, each of us ordered different meals, all of us were so happy. They have live piano music , the pianist, a lovely emotional lady played more when we requested in a polite way. she made our night more wonderful. It was our first night in Kiev and we began our trip with very good thoughts.
Try salmon pelmenis, they are so delicious. their duck is wonderful too. Dont' forget to see their spare saloon, it has the most strange ceiling I've ever seen. Have a look at the fireplace in that room as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A romantic candle-lit dinner.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were keen to try this authentic Ukrainian restaurant as the reviews had been very enthusiastic. We chose a Friday evening and had expected a fairly busy restaurant ,with live music.Sadly,the place was almost deserted and there was no music. The dining room was beautiful and luxurious. We were given an excellent table and the setting was most romantic.
The menu was extensive and we had difficulty making our choices as there were many attractive dishes. Our choices included: wild mushrooms ;Ukrainian Borsh; half a roast duck with mushrooms and also wild salmon.The meal was delicious but even with a choice of a bottle of Ukrainian wine, the bill was over £100.As we had not expected it to be quite as expensive, the change left over for tips and taxi, meant that the excellent waiting staff did seem to be disappointed with our rather meagre tip. Our apologies to them as it was not a reflection of the excellent service and meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok value, not as good as expected.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good: Very nice location, had live beautiful background music (3 women singing and playing violin) and good food.
Bad: Our waiter was rude and far below the standard we expected. Wine list is horribly expensive, we could not find a single bottle of wine below $50 US.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanzitooler583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lipskiy also viewed

 

Been to Lipskiy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing