We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunflower B&B Hotel
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed here for four days in Feb 2011. The location is fantastic just off Independance Square. So it is very central for everything. Down an alley way just follow the sign on the main street. We received a warm friendly welcome with tea/coffee and biscuits whilst we settled in. The rooms are bright and cheery and very clean. The bathroom was a good size and there was lots of storage space for our things. Our friends next door had a balcony to their room but it was far too cold to go out on it in February! Breakfast was delivered to our room each morning at the time we specified. It was a mixture of cereal, yougurt, toast, fruit and a pastry. Plus juice, tea/coffee. I quickly got use to breakfast in bed each morning! We found a selection of resturants and bars five minutes walk away that did good cheap food and beer. The sights of the city are easily reached on foot or via metro/taxi. We enjoyed our stay at the Sunflower B&B and we are very pleased we choose this hotel for our stay as opposed to others that were much more expensive. If you like small friendly hotels that possess character then the Sunflower B&B is a great choice for your stay in Kiev.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JimCo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Sunflower B&B Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 98 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2010

The alley part didn't scare us at all. It's just the back of a restaurant and apartment building and leads to the parking spaces for the cars of the residents and there's a light for the entrance to Sunflower once you get to the narrowest part of pavement and can see the big parking lot. Yes to good breakfasts, cleanliness, LOCATION , McDonald's across the square at bottom of the hill (use the underground pedestrian tunnel), good food court in underground shopping area, friendly staff, and only US$20 with their driver to the airport at 4AM for the 6:35 flight to Frankfurt. I met a lady at the airport who stayed at a fancy hotel who paid US$100 for their hotel driver to take her to the airport. I would recommend Sunflower's guy for all trips.

Great location if you're in early to go on one of the Dneiper River Boat cruises down to Odessa and the Black Sea. The taxi to the port is only US$5 from Sunflower or roll your suitcase down the hill for free or take the funicular down to the port for cheap. Piece of cake. You can see the route on maps. Only problem might be the stairs down to the under-road pedestrian crossing and back up to street level. Pack light for the River cruises. There is NO dress-up!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bwagk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

If you are looking for a hotel in the middle of the action, but want to avoid the 300 Euro and up hotels like the Hyatt, then this is probably the place for you.

I call this hotel a "Lonely Planet Special", because Lonely Planet is all about backpacking and camping out, so just a roof over your head get's them all goo-goo eyed. But is not some charming boutique hotel like say the Premier chain (a Ukrainian hotel chain with very nice hotels), Radisson BLU, Hyatt, Intercontinental, etc. Sure those places cost more. They are nicer.

The hotel itself is just fine, but realistically, if you are expecting something exceptional, you will be disappointed. I did not have any issues, but I just didn't think that it rated a 4- or 5-star. It was perfectly fine, just not some luxury place that it seems some think of it.

The location is ridiculously good, but as others point out, it's a little behind the main street and through a bit of a dark alley. Not a problem for me as a 6'4" male, but this might be an issue for some.

There is internet, but it is not WiFi, if that matters to you. The rooms have TV with several English channels. There is no lift, no lobby, no room service per se (but the breakfast is quite good and it is served in your room, which was really nice).

The beds are a little hard.

I took their option of hiring their driver to and from the airport. I was very happy with that. My driver was super nice and we enjoyed trying to teach each other English and Russian.

If money is a factor and you want to be in the heard of the city, I wholeheartedly recommend the Sunflower B&B, but you should not be expecting a level of comfort on par with the BLU or other fine hotels in the area. It's not all that.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gsbdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We had a great long weekend in Kiev. This hotel is very centrally located, and therefore an excellent place to explore this fascinating city. For those planning to go to Chernobyl with Solo East Travel, the tour leaves (at least when we were there) from the Maidan Nezalezhnosti, which is literally just around the corner.

The hotel is located in a residential building and is very quiet. The rooms were clean and quite big. Breakfast is brought to your room in the morning. There's no restaurant, but there are several options within a few minutes walk, including various stalls and cafes on the Maidan Nezalezhnosti and underneath it in the underground shopping centre.

The staff were very friendly, in a restrained Eastern European way, and always ready to help. They booked us a taxi for the airport, and when we forgot our camera in it, we phoned them and they quickly managed to get hold of the driver, who brought it back. We happily paid again for the $15 fare, rather than losing the camera and all those photos from Chernobyl.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johannes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Sunflower is a great choice for short visits to Kiev, (3-4 days); however, travelers will find that their money goes much farther if you rent an apartment. The hotel is very close to Independence Square and Хрещатик, (Khreshchatyk) Street. Great breakfast, friendly service, laptop/internet access (you must ask), airport/train transfer available, very safe neighborhood.

Whether or not you stay at Sunflower, travelers to Kiev should definitely reach out to Sergei [--] for city tours and airport pickup/dropoffs. Sergei is a brilliant english/russian/ukrainian speaking Kiev historian/tour guide, very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable - meeting him greatly enhanced our Kiev travels.

Since Kiev is so large and the sites are spread out go ahead and book Sergei to take you around for a day or half a day. I don't normally recommend people but I can't encourage readers enough to look him up.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gather_no_moss_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

The location very near Independence Square is great and breakfast served in the room is delightful. Used the hotel transfers from/to airport and the driver carried bags up/down the steep stairs. The service was excellent and the junior suite room was located in a quiet area. Enjoyed the bathrobes and slippers provided. No bathtub but the shower was large. Bottled water provided each day The cereal, tea, fruit, bread/ rolls were adequate, but we brought along some packets of oatmeal to supplement our breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara33964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Don't be put off by the entrance! The rooms are very comfortable, there's free internet access, possible complimentary early check-in (subject to room bookings), a nice breakfast brought to your room and the staff are very friendly. The location is brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.2 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
0.3 mi away
Bontiak Hotel
Bontiak Hotel
#28 of 111 in Kiev
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
0.1 mi away
Kozatskiy Hotel
Kozatskiy Hotel
#97 of 111 in Kiev
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sherborne ApartHotel
Sherborne ApartHotel
#27 of 111 in Kiev
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower B&B Hotel

Address: Kostelnaya 9 - 41, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: $53 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower B&B Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunflower B&B Hotel is a charming boutique hotel located in the heart of historic Kiev. Although we are only a block away from the busy main city square, Maidan Nezalezhnosti, our location is in a quiet courtyard on a small street lined with splendid architectural treasures of the 18th and 19th centuries. This beautiful street ends with an elegant Oleksandrivska Roman-Catholic Church (Kostel), which gave the street its name "Kostelnaya".Our hotel serves business and family guests and we understand that a safe, quiet and comfortable environment is essential for a pleasant stay. At Sunflower you can count on: hospitable and cozy atmosphere services and amenities according to top international standards friendly and highly-experienced English-speaking staff stylish and sunny interior large and comfortable air-conditioned rooms, each with well-equipped and bright bathroom modern system of telecommunications and free Internet access 24-hour Front Desk and security wide range of guest services, including business, art&culture sightseeing tours, travel arrangements and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sunflower B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Bed And Breakfast Hotel
Sunflower Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing