We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Kyiv”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunflower B&B Hotel
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Business has been bringing me to the city regularly for several years and I always try to stay at the Sunflower. The staff is so warm and welcoming it's like coming home. No matter what time you arrive they are ready to great you with tea and cookies. The decor is tasteful and the rooms very comfertable, quiet and spotlessly clean. You can't beat the location - though you are steps away from the Maidan and very busy streets it's amazingly quiet. Moreover - it's consistently good - you know exactly what you are paying for. The beds are big and each room has a bathtub (a luxury coming in off the road).
For first-time travellers - arrival may be a little tricky as the entrance is tucked away in a courtyard and the narrow staircase to the 2nd floor may prove an obstacle for some. This is a B+B NOT a hotel so there are some amenities missing - ie there is no kettle, but there is always staff on hand ready to provide it, and clearly no firness centre, etc. They installed WiFi a while ago, which was a welcome addition for those on business. It's small and in the nice months it fills up quickly so book early.

Room Tip: Every room I've stayed in has been perfect. It fills up in nice months so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troubletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 101 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we arrived, it seemed a bit seedy, but once we got in, the staff was lovely. I asked for hot water for tea and got a whole tray with cookies, hot water, cups, etc, and it was replenished for the entire time we were there (same for wine glasses). The young girl there was amazing and spent a lot of time marking places on a map for us to find our way around. The room was comfortable with tons of storage (I think I counted 39 drawers).

On the other hand, the older lady that was with us the last couple of days was not nearly as friendly as the young one. She seemed to be a bit annoyed with us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OverseasIowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

As I have written in one of my other reviews finding a pleasant hotel around Khreshchiatik is not an easy task. They are either tired, seedy or horrifically expensive. So it was wonderful when this one was booked for me by my hosts.

The decor of rooms is lovely, almost Mediterranean - a wonderful thing if you have to visit Kyiv in the middle of winter. My room also had a balcony which is probably quite a pleasant thing in the summer (make sure you take room 3 or 2 as they have a nicer space outside. It is supposed to be B&B, but you have access to most basic services available in hotels: laundry service, multi channel TV, good quality wifi, etc. You are very close to Maidan and all it's underground shopping and overground restaurants.

There is very good heating in the winter and also air conditioning available for the Summer.

The downsides? To enter you need to cross a dodgy courtyard - might not be best for a single woman if returning late at night. Also - indeed it is good to have someone to take that suitcase for you upstairs (there is a way for cars to park just in front of the main door). There is no communal area - neither a dining room or a bar (the hotel is almost like a flat). Breakfasts are brought to your room at the time agreed with the person who is on duty. They may get a bit repetitive if you are staying there for a longer period of time.

One concern which the owners might want to address - the part for the guests is separated by a staircase from the porters room. One night I discovered that the door from the staircase to the guest part was locked with the person on duty being on the other side of the corridor. It might not be very safe in case of an emergency.

The rooms are indeed quite large and thankfully with a bath and a hot rail. Towels were changed daily. There was much space in the wardrobes to put your things away. Especially many drawers (unlike in the hotel where I am staying at the moment :( ). Just make sure you check them all not to leave anything behind when you check out!

Room Tip: Choose rooms 3 or 2 for a bit nicer view and more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtsAndWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in early November and had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is not easy to find as the entrance is from a yard through a gateway off a side street, then there's a flight of stairs to climb but our room was spacious with a huge, comfortable bed and the bathroom was spotlessly clean and well-appointed. There are just 5 rooms and an office so no general reception area, restaurant etc but the service was very good - Anna, in particular, was lovely. We were asked each evening what we wanted for breakfast and that was brought to the room at the requested time on a trolley. The location is really excellent, just a few minutes from Kreschatyk, Independence Square, St Michael's Monastery among others. The room was very warm but the air-conditioning worked well. We would certainly go back here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyMac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during the euro 2012. It's a great wee place in a fab location literally a few mins walk to independence square. The entrance is a bit dodgy and there's no lift, the hotel is located on the 1st floor up a small windy staircase. The room was fine very clean but basic but I think this is the norm for Kiev (either v grand r v basic) the girls at reception were more than helpful especially the lovely zoya! We paid over twice the usual price as the euros were on and while in aware everyone in Kiev was at this i did think it a bit unfair. The breakfast in the mornings were ok. If you are going to Kiev I would give this place a go as apart from a few very small things it's really good! Enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saz1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Amazingly positive experience during Euro2012 when finding hotels in Ukraine was basically impossible. This is unquestionably a gem: great location next to Independence square, nice clean rooms, efficient AC units inside room, VERY friendly and helpful service from English speaking staff, great continental breakfast served in the rooms on little trolleys, etc. A very positive experience across the board.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojo2018zabivaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Sunflower B&B is brilliantly located for all the key sites in central Kiev and close to the Metro for getting to some of the things you will want to see further afield.
All the stuff are endlessly helpful, producing tea on request, giving you directions and suggestions, generally being your friend in Kiev.
The rooms aren't huge - but this is central Kiev so its forgivable, and the bathrooms are nice, and our room had a little balcony for sitting out.
No restaurant or breakfast room so breakfast is delivered to your room at a time you request on a little hostess trolley. And there is some variety each day.
What's not to like, well you have to overcome the courtyard you have to cross to get to the entrance, the rather forbidding shared front door where you press the bell and they open the door remotely, and the rather steep and narrow stairs to 'reception' on the first floor. A bummer with heavy luggage but help is available if needed.
Get beyond that, and its fine. And good value for central Kiev - but don't take that to mean cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.2 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
0.3 mi away
Bontiak Hotel
Bontiak Hotel
#30 of 112 in Kiev
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kozatskiy Hotel
Kozatskiy Hotel
#98 of 112 in Kiev
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Kiev City Center
0.5 mi away
Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower B&B Hotel

Address: Kostelnaya 9 - 41, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: $55 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower B&B Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunflower B&B Hotel is a charming boutique hotel located in the heart of historic Kiev. Although we are only a block away from the busy main city square, Maidan Nezalezhnosti, our location is in a quiet courtyard on a small street lined with splendid architectural treasures of the 18th and 19th centuries. This beautiful street ends with an elegant Oleksandrivska Roman-Catholic Church (Kostel), which gave the street its name "Kostelnaya".Our hotel serves business and family guests and we understand that a safe, quiet and comfortable environment is essential for a pleasant stay. At Sunflower you can count on: hospitable and cozy atmosphere services and amenities according to top international standards friendly and highly-experienced English-speaking staff stylish and sunny interior large and comfortable air-conditioned rooms, each with well-equipped and bright bathroom modern system of telecommunications and free Internet access 24-hour Front Desk and security wide range of guest services, including business, art&culture sightseeing tours, travel arrangements and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunflower B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Bed And Breakfast Hotel
Sunflower Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing