We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and excellent service in a good location”
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opera Hotel
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is just a few hundred meters from the National Opera but still shielded from the noise of the main streets. The rooms are great, with comfortable beds, large bathrooms and all the amenities needed by the business traveler. The service is 24/7 and excellent. The reception and the rest of the lobby staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. This is definitely the hotel of my choice in Kiev..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reisejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 507 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Gregmore155 from New York City must have stayed at a different hotel to the one my wife and I have just returned from. The hotel were unable to offer me anything other than a standard room but what a standard - clean, comfortable, large bathroom and Mouton Brown toiletries - a joy in every way. The staff were wonderful, friendly, helpful and always ready with a smile. The breakfast buffet was really excellent - a wonderful buffet selection with especially good selection of home made breads. In every way superb - well done to the management and staff.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent service, friendliness and helpfulness, not only this made a good hotel. All this and more you can find in Opera. I travel a lot in the last 10 years and this hotel is one of the best where I ever was! The rooms are very clean, silent, from some rooms you can have an excellent view to Kiev. During the last snow storm I got a super service, the reception find a taxi for me (from 10.000 could be only 100 can drive during this incredible storm). For me is the name for this: excellent service! Of course the hotel is good situated in the city center, closed to ARENA, the Oper and so on ... Special Tip: Cafe Reprisa in the same road! Breakfast is also excellent, also the restaurant ...
BR
Andreas

Room Tip: Beginning with level 7 or 8 you could have a really good view over Kiev!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreasD106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel is absolutely terrible from the check in to the room to the bathroom.
Check in took for ever, at 1 in the morning, all you want is to go to bed. The room are old, the carpet has stain everywhere. the bed are as good as the bed at the motel 6! Pillows are uncomfortable. The bathroom is from the fifties, the water in the bathtub is yellow/brown.. (took some pictures). I will never ever stay there again!
This hotel should be a one star, thats it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregmorel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

3 nights for business were truly enjoyable here. Here's why:

1. the staff were super friendly and accommodating with a beautiful air of true professionalism
2. breakfast buffet, restaurant food & lunch for conference were top, considering its not your typical conference hotel and man, there was sooo much to go round
3. the rooms were kitted out with all you need and bathroom was almost as big as bedroom and newly refurbished
4. bed very comfortable
5. minibar fully equipped
6. quiet and clean room with plenty of space, desk and large window (able to open window for fresh air as well)
7. beautiful grand hall with typical Ukrainian biscuits and tea being served, piano player in the evening and a neat bar
8. Restaurant had a colonial feeling to it. Loved it for breakfast and lunch! Probably too empty in the evenings though if you want real atmosphere. What came as a surprise, was when the waitress bought a beautiful stool for my handbag to rest on :)

Room Tip: Tips for your booking: - upgrade to a standard room if you want space and a 4 **** feeling - rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I spent 3 nights on a recent business trip at this hotel and I really liked it.
I had a standard room and this was well appointed, large and a good sized bathroom.
Breakfast was very good with a great choice of food and excellent service.
Quiet location but close enough to walk to the city centre and surrounding areas
I would definetly recommend this hotel and I will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manil0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was organizing 3-days training in Kiev with 30+ invited guests (from our network offices in Central Europe, NL and UK) in Apr 2012 and we selected Opera Hotel.

I must say the hotel's supervisor supported with an appropriate manner:
- making a fair deal taking into account the number of guests and their requirements in terms of rooms
- contacting with guests re details of accomodation, when necessary helping with information, etc (incl. cancelation from one of the guests without penalties).

All our colleagues who stayed there admitted:
- fairly good location
- clean and well equipped rooms accordingly hotel's stars
- very good breakfast

Within the year we had a few visits more of our foreign colleagues who stayed there and I never heard any complaints.

So this is my recommendation for business travellers and perhaps tourists who value comfort and positive attitude to the guests from Opera Hotel (particularly in Kiev where good quality hotels are quite overpriced).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rower1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#4 of 112 in Kiev
591 reviews
Senator Maidan
#5 of 112 in Kiev
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Address: B. Khmelnitskogo St., 53, Kiev 01054, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
#9 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: $160 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Opera Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Kiev at the crossroads of the city's business, cultural and historical districts, the 140-room boutique Opera Hotel is within walking distance of the Opera House, St. Sophia and St. Vladimir churches and Kiev’s main business and Embassies district. This luxury hotel in Kiev is spacious yet cosy and all rooms are elegantly appointed with stylish soft furnishings. Our Russian Suite, Italian Suite and French Suite are decorated to reflect world-famous opera compositions from each country, while the Egyptian, American, Moroccan and Japanese suites evoke the distinctive character of each country and culture. Modern business travellers will appreciate the amenities available throughout our hotel in Kiev, including large working desks with portable telephone, multiple AV plugs and a flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing