We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Opera Hotel
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I spent 3 nights on a recent business trip at this hotel and I really liked it.
I had a standard room and this was well appointed, large and a good sized bathroom.
Breakfast was very good with a great choice of food and excellent service.
Quiet location but close enough to walk to the city centre and surrounding areas
I would definetly recommend this hotel and I will go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manil0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    117
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
65
47
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was organizing 3-days training in Kiev with 30+ invited guests (from our network offices in Central Europe, NL and UK) in Apr 2012 and we selected Opera Hotel.

I must say the hotel's supervisor supported with an appropriate manner:
- making a fair deal taking into account the number of guests and their requirements in terms of rooms
- contacting with guests re details of accomodation, when necessary helping with information, etc (incl. cancelation from one of the guests without penalties).

All our colleagues who stayed there admitted:
- fairly good location
- clean and well equipped rooms accordingly hotel's stars
- very good breakfast

Within the year we had a few visits more of our foreign colleagues who stayed there and I never heard any complaints.

So this is my recommendation for business travellers and perhaps tourists who value comfort and positive attitude to the guests from Opera Hotel (particularly in Kiev where good quality hotels are quite overpriced).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rower1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Opera hotel
Back to this most beautiful of hotels, never ceased to be amazed at the incredible welcome I always receive on my return.
I arrived on 26th January around 7.30 in the evening on Saturday checking in was quick and easy, prechecked in just a signature then on my way to room, on the way to the elevator I meet that most fastidious of general managers Benoit Kuborn yes, even on Saturday he was on a walk about to check that all was ok before he left himself. A general manager that enjoys his job, and it seems infectious among the staff, they all like the boss and try to do well for him, so lucky guests,
I think that the Opera Hotel is an absolute delight for business, pleasure, special weekends, even to just come in and enjoy the informal bar or to eat in, or the wonderful Teatro Restaurant. The Hotel has a pleasant location very convenient for all areas of this beautiful city, it is also on the road which you can take to exit town and has parking next to hotel on same level as lobby.
My room was perfect as always in every possible way , the rooms here are spectacular.I seem to get a different but simply exquisite room each and every time I come to Opera Hotel. This time I had the Rusian suite.
After changing from the winter gear we have just had very bad weather minus 14 and a very long journey to Kiev,needed to look respectable to go to the Teatro restaurant for dinner.
I had the unexpected pleasure of meeting the Executive Chef Emmanuel Soares, whom I met almost a year ago when he had just arrived from Morocco. I was interested to see the new additions to the menu, to see for myself the changes that Emmanuel Soares the executive chef has introduced into the menu, added some really good dishes. I had a tapas selection just what I needed after a long day fraught with difficulties, relaxing in Teatro, the good food, the ambience , a good glass of Rioja and an informative chat with Emmanuel soon had me enjoying the gracious service and my dinner.
Such is the high standard of Emmanuel’s talents as the executive chef, he is now corporate chef for Opera and Donbass Palace, another very fine hotel under his belt, I am looking forward to my next trip to Donbass Palace Hotel in Donetsk, to see and taste for myself the tantalising, to the taste buds food, that I will inevitably find there.
I enclose photographs of the stunning Russian Suite that I stayed in unfortunately only for a short while late arrival and, then off to airport in the morning.
The Russian suite is equipped to satisfy the most demanding, including 63 Square metres of space, lounge/living room so cosy and a truly comfortable bedroom, two bathrooms, individual controlled air-conditioning in both rooms , controlled temperature under floor heating in master bathroom ,mini bars in both rooms, room safe, complimentary high speed internet connection, complimentary newspaper, pay TV, DVD / CD player , direct dial telephone, special guest amenities and, welcome amenities, plus the new chefs delicacies chocolate with strawberries and raspberries even the photos will make your mouth water, a nice bottle of wine, which I have saved for my next trip.
I had the buffet breakfast and, was delighted and, very pleasantly surprised that the executive chef was on parade even on Sunday morning, the selection was everything that you could possible desire, juices, cold dishes fine selection of breads and patisserie, a varied choice of hot dishes, eggs anyway you needed them, if there was something you needed that wasn’t there, a few minutes later the ever attentive staff were bringing your choice to you.
I am glad that the Opera Hotel has won the prestigious trip advisor Travellers' Choice® 2013 Winner
A hotel full of character, an established impressive boutique hotel, where the quest is always for the best in comfort and service for the guests which starts at the top level with GM Benoit Kuborn.,
Stay here with the complete confidence that you will enjoy your stay and, want to revisit the Opera Hotel.
i know I will be back
http://tripadvisor.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/meet-fred-finn-the-worlds-most-traveled-man/

Room Tip: It is a delightful boutoique hotel thr rooms are all exquiste and original just enjoy the ambiance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfinnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoit K, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Mr Finn,

thank you for your kind words and we are happy to read that you were happy while staying with us.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Benoit Kuborn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very nice hotel, with very nice rooms. The best part is the amazing service, very rare for Kiev. The hotel is located more or less centrally, but in the middle of old Soviet buildings.
The overall experience was very good, definately recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

A very nice quaint hotel located in the posh district. The rooms are small, but very clean. The rooms are in need of a renovation. The bathrooms are nice and recently renovated. The mattress are horrible. The common areas are very nice as is the bar and restaurant. Staff is excellent. I think if the hotel was a little less expensive than I would rate higher. But at $250 -$350 minimum per night you expect better rooms.

However overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenoasulil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very well located in the real center of Kiev, less than 500 meters from the main street, in very calm street, you will find this hotel, seems to be the own five stars in Kiev.

Rooms are ok, not so amazing, but it's historical building, so renovation must be difficult.

Staff is perfect, you can ask all you want and they really take care about you.

They are able to recognize you and to make you enjoy your stay, you can feel like real VIP :-)

They have nice spa, and very very nice lobby.

For me the best choice for good hotel in Kiev

Room Tip: starting to 7 floor you can be up of the other buildings around and have nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've been in this hotel six or seven times along last 18 months. Having travelled Ukraine and CIS quite a bit, this is one of the best places I was. The staff speaks perfect english. The service levels are a bit low for a 5 star hotel, but again, you can't still compare Ukraine with other countries when it comes to turistic development.
Rooms are fairly small and bathrooms are complete and clean but slightly dated. The hotel belongs to a chain, for instance Donbass Palace in Dometskis of same owner, and in my understanding they (management and general staff) could do better considering the expertise they have. That said, i can definitely recommend this as a clean nice place to be, you will haveno trouble communicating and is conviniently situated.

Room Tip: If you need space, the standard room will fall short
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpancorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#6 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#4 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Premier Palace Hotel
#14 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Property: Opera Hotel
Address: B. Khmelnitskogo St., 53, Kiev 01054, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
#9 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Opera Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Priceline so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing