We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience”
Review of Salute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salute Hotel
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is very unusual
Unsual because of the design, very soviet style and also because the rooms doesn't match the lobby
Last time i stayed there i get a room on the 7 floor with view on the dniepr and it was great
Breakfast is not their best point but they always try to help you
If you want to change your mind you can go to the club in the hotel
The area is not the best for shopping but there is a nice park in front of the hotel and if you want to face the ukrainian life and exchange words it's the place

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 108 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

I visited this advertised as a 4-star-hotel in the summer of 2011, because of its very central and convenient location and the reasonably priced for Kiev rooms. Salute is not very big hotel (with around 90 rooms) and for sure not new - it was built in 1984 and its strange architecture style is reflecting the ugly Soviet futurism from that time, so I haven't expected to be pleasantly surprised by my stay there. By entering the lobby and approaching the reception I decided that I have returned back in time and started thinking that choosing of Salute wasn't quite a good idea. Fortunately, my standard room turned to be not very big (around 20 sq.m), but renovated and looking fresh and clean. The room is air-conditioned, has a mini-bar and a satellite TV (don't expect LCD or LED TV though). The room bathroom was really small and could have been better (I have heard that the bathroom of the superior room is same in size but much better), the balcony is not big either but giving quite a nice view over Dnieper river and its left bank, but for the price of 850 UAH (a little bit more than 100 USD) it was a good deal! I should also mention that the staff at the reception and the cleaning lady have been very kind and always willing to help. What I didn't like is that you have to pay additionally for breakfast and the fact that a construction was going on nearby the hotel and there was a a lot of noise during the day... I would recommend Salute hotel though, because of its room comfort, reasonable prices and central location - very close to a lot of must-see things such as the Ukrainian Parliament, the Mariinskiy Palace and park, the famous Kyivo-Pecherska Lavra and only 5 min away by feet from the Arsenalnaia metro station!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolfchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Watch out for the expensive taxis waiting outside! Make shure they call you a cab from the reception!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okramzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I found the Salute Hotel to be a very good value. We stayed there 5 days. We came from another hotel farther out wanting to get closer into the city. Our main consideration was location and price. I thought the room rate was very fair. I rented 2 rooms. 1 for my friend and one for me. They were on separate floors. Both rooms were very comfortable, the internet was fast, the water hot and the rooms were very clean. The Desk Staff and the house staff were very accommodating to any special requests. The hotel features 2 cafe's and 1 restaurant. We never had a chance to try the Cafe but we did use the 24/7 Cafe several times. While the menu as simple it was excellent. Everything looked good, simple. Since it was late I always had the grilled vegetables and potato's. Underground there is a mall with food courts and shopping. I liked the hotel very much and enjoyed my stay there and when price is a main consideration I feel the Salute is a great value. Across the street from a War memorial park Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and near many churches.

Room Tip: I had a wonderful room with a view of the city from the balcony. My friend also had a nice view. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveHillyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

A great location next to Pechersk monastery, the prestigious Pechersk neighborhood with many nice places to shop and dine. Hotel it self has great views from at least 50% of the rooms, all have balconies. A great exeample of modernist Soviet architecture, actually plannes as a high rise building but then reduced to a mere seven levels.

Do not go to restaurant - neither for breakfast or other meals. Location, staff and food look like they were from 1985. Many better alternatives around.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SundG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This is a 1980s Soviet built hotel which has been recently refurbished. Rooms are plain but clean and comfortable with TV, mini bar and telephone linking you to the city. Calls were cheap for a hotel of this size. There are excellent view over the city. Breakfast was your typical buffet style but with with a Ukrainian flavour consisting of pancakes, cabbage, tomatoes, cucumbers, as well as porridge and other cereals. The table cloths could do with being replaced, though.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tud59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

In terms of architecture and design the Salute is a true gem in Kiev. Its a 1980s built soviet-style piece of architecture which is a sign of the last defiant struggle before the breakdown of the soviet empire. And in contrary to many many other examples in eastern europe you'll find this hotel in almost unrefurbished condition. Of course the reception and many other parts of the lobby are 'littered' with many things ther do not belong there but you still get the feeling of a cool and well designed soviet hotel of the 80s. The rooms are still original as well. I know this is not everybodies style but I liked it a lot. So go there if you want to catch a bit of cold war flavour. By the way the brakfast was terrible and the stuff not the friendliest I found around the world.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelmutNassauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.1 mi away
Sherborne ApartHotel
Sherborne ApartHotel
#28 of 112 in Kiev
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bakkara Art-Hotel
Bakkara Art-Hotel
#23 of 112 in Kiev
323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 112 in Kiev
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel
1.2 mi away
Royal Olympic Hotel
Royal Olympic Hotel
#88 of 112 in Kiev
94 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Kiev City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salute Hotel

Address: Mazepy Ivana vul. 11-b, Kiev 01010, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: $54 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salute Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salute Hotel is located on a high, green hill of a right bank of the Dnieper River, in Pechersk district - the administrative and cultural centre of Kyiv. It takes only 10-minute walk from the buildings of the Parliament of Ukraine, Residence of the President and famous Kyivo-Pecherska Lavra - the unique historical and architectural churches' complex of times of ancient Kiev, protected by UNESCO. The Salute Hotel offers 88 comfortable guestrooms of different categories with wonderful views on Kyivo-Pecherska Lavra and the Dnieper River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing