We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very good hotel in the centre of Kjiv”
Review of Gintama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gintama Hotel
Ranked #55 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed November 11, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Guido C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is well ran and managed with a a courteous helpful staff. I found the rooms while small to be clean and quite comfortable. While on a narrow street the hotel is also very well situated in the heart of Kiev with the Golden Domes of Saint Michaels visible. The breakfast bar was as nice as all of the hotels I have stayed in and I travel for a living so I give the hotel and especially its staff a thumbs up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussGUman_Ukraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Thought the gps was wrong when i ended up in an alley behind an apt. complex. I did find that archway pictured around one side of the building. Big security guard standing their watching me unload my car speaking in ukraine, which i don't speak, made me want to sock him and run. rooms not bad, kinda upper class old school but carpets rough. Ladies at desk are super cool and helpful. It is up top of a hill, if you see a big church on right you just passed ur entrance, there is usually a small orange gate and a guard shack at driveway closed, they will let you in if you say Hotel, lol. 5 min walk takes you to main square, good pics spot, poker room, lots of food. just walk down to bottom of the big hill you drove up and walk a half block to the right and you're their. The sushi bar under the poker club hotel was good, 18 bucks for a couple of rolls.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HUSA4342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have stayed at the Gintama for three weeks at various times this year. As the title to this review suggests, in my experience there are few - if any - great lodging deals in Kyiv but in my estimation the Gintama is about as good as it gets.

The problem seems to be that there are few mid-range price hotels in town. Sure, you can stay at the Radisson, Hyatt or Intercontinental if you insist on 4 star amenities... and don't mind the prices (which are, in my opinion, outrageous). Still, even if I were willing to spend the money (which I am not) I have never felt comfortable in a hotel where I feel like I should be in a business suit when passing through the lobby.

If you feel the same way, the Gintama is probably a good choice for you.

Pros:

A very helpful and friendly staff.
Clean and modern accommodations.
A great location (a five minute walk from Independence Square, St. Michaels and St. Sophia).
Decent (free) breakfast with 'real' coffee (expresso, 'Kava Americansk'... whatever you want).
Good air conditioning and heating - with on-site staff to handle problems if/when the occur.

Cons:

The showers are very, very small.
In the U.S. a comparable room would cost 40% less.
The hotel is small so rooms will not always be available (you might view this as a "Pro").

I hope this helps in making your decision.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dzahner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Hotel location is great. The hotel is not. It is the 1st floor of an apt bldg. The bathroom was clean. The carpet was not. Don't let the hotel photos and description deceive you. I learned from my stay that a good photographer can make any thing look good. The breakfast was awful. I stuck to the canned fruit and blinis. The lox - I spit it out.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraDeSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

poor hotel. good location but too many low points. poor breakfast , only 1 cup of coffee for free. rugs in room were filthy. hotel is below an existing apartment building and very poor light in room. not senior friendly. pool is not free. too many extra charges. all suites are advertised as having a jacuzzi tub but this is not true.

Room Tip: stay out of room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank romanchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
12.7 mi away
Manufactura Hotel
Manufactura Hotel
#45 of 112 in Kiev
28 reviews
7.4 mi away
City Holiday Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Sunflower B&B Hotel
Sunflower B&B Hotel
#32 of 112 in Kiev
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number 21 by DBI
Number 21 by DBI
#38 of 112 in Kiev
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Staro Hotel
Staro Hotel
#26 of 112 in Kiev
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gintama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gintama Hotel

Address: Tr'okhsviatytels'ka 9, Kiev, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: $70 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gintama Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gintama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gintama Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing