We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough place”
Review of Kozatskiy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kozatskiy Hotel
Ranked #96 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent enough place”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hotel seemed dark and unpleasant at first - it screamed "Soviet" days - but it's actually a pretty nice place. The location is amazing - you can't get a better one. The rooms are decent, although there is no AC and it was pretty hot when we got there, so we were feeling it. The bathrooms are a bit outdated and especially the shower/water pressure is weak, but they were clean. Breakfast was nice - it was small, but as a vegetarian, I was still able to find more than enough to fill me up, which is significant in a country that eats a lot of meat. There were water coolers on most floors - a nice touch - the wifi in the lobby worked well. Overall, I would stay here again if I were going to Kiev.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ug97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    72
    27
    23
See reviews for
15
31
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

The Kozatskiy Hotel is very well located, at the end of the main square in Kiev centre, so easy walking to many of the sights and to the Metro. Reception staff are courteous and helpful though the entire hotel has the Soviet feel about it - unlit stairwells (with ashtrays placed at each level..); rooms fairly basic although the 7th floor has wifi installed; bathroom shower comprised a rubber hose attached to the faucet of the sink and the bathroom, while clean, was obviously quite old. Breakfast was ok but again not much effort made to cater for Western tastes, which is fine.
An annoying feature of this, and other Ukrainian hotels, is the constant, insistent music played in all public area.
An clean and OK 2-3 star hotel whose main attributes are the location, and reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotlobMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We haven't expected it would be that bad... I agree with most of previous reviews,the only good thing about the hotel is its location,well,and probably the breakfast..We've been there in winter and we were freezing in our room!The blanket was too small,the bed-too uncomfortable,room was old fashioned,but the worst is that we were woke up by a phone call at midnight!In the morning staff explained us they have such happening quite often because people misdial numbers.We'd never come back.
Don't stay at this hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irena_rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kiev hotels

Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My experience of the hotel is no more than one day and one night but the overall impression is positive. The room was clean, the reception staff polite, breakfast OK and the location best you can get in Kiev (in the corner of the Independent Square). Yes, there is a hint of old Soviet days in the looks of the hotel and rooms but it gives the place a special spice. I have never understood what sense there is in traveling in foreign countries and staying always in western standard nice but expensive and boring hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PekkaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

i have stayed in Kozatsky in the past and have written a previous negative review. I could not believe the positive changes which have taken place - the hotel has been redecorated in places, the dining room has been improved, the room i had was refurbished including 2 double beds in place of twin single beds. The biggest change was in the staff - they were friendly, willing to help and when possible did small extras which were thoughtful and appreciated.
The location is excellent. There is much security within the hotel. rooms in hotel are clean. The main downside is that the rooms can be very hot and noisy (due to location). Food for breakfast is not great.However, people have to remember this is a great value hotel in a location which is totally central and price reflects the standard.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeltobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Yes, I would recommend this hotel.. to backpackers, to people who just looov the 70s and to friends who do not want to spend hundreds of euros on hotels. This hotel is sooooo funny. The lobby is huge, with peroxide blond ladies hand-writing little breakfast vouchers and sleeping security guys (or many friends of security guys.. there are so many of them!!!).

The rooms are really spartan. Our roum had brand new beds and mattresses, but the time capsule trip started after entering the bathroom. Spartan is the best way to describe it. Old, walls peeling off, no glory if you're the cleaner, perhaps you can eat off the floor but it'll never ever ever look clean.

You pick up your key at the floor lady (some left over from the communist era??). Also handy if you run out of toilet paper. Don't try to ask for tourist information. Their English is about as bad as my Ukrainan.

Final verdics? Great location, acceptable rooms, excellent price/value. And Kieve is lovely!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityCheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Very run down hotel - a state enterprise in the old Soviet style, and it shows.
The hotel dishonoured our February booking made through Expedia. Although the manager was very apologetic and clearly embarassed, it took more than 1.5 hours to agree a new room rate and check in.
Rooms were barely adequate, but the bathrooms were disgusting - filthy shower curtain, tiles, and bath, and no bath plug. The water for both bath and basin came from a single outlet that swivelled between them. The shower was just a small head on a rubber hose. The bath when full of water (with plug improvised from a cake of hotel soap) was brown in colour.
Breakfast was presumably the leftovers from last night's dinner - there was no normal breakfast food. No fruit juice or fresh fruit on most days, and the bread was usually stale.
The only good thing about the hotel was its excellent location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Areandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Sunflower B&B Hotel
#33 of 111 in Kiev
97 reviews
Lypky
Hotel Ukraine
Hotel Ukraine
#21 of 111 in Kiev
772 reviews
Dnipro Hotel
#51 of 111 in Kiev
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bontiak Hotel
#29 of 111 in Kiev
220 reviews
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
374 reviews
Express
#54 of 111 in Kiev
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kozatskiy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kozatskiy Hotel

Property: Kozatskiy Hotel
Address: Mihaylivska St., 1/3, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kozatskiy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kozatskiy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kozatsky Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing