We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Express
Ranked #57 of 115 Hotels in Kiev
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed here twice in two weeks. The rooms were fine. The breakfast on the first day was a bit sparse as it had to be taken in the hotel's cafe rather than its restaurant. The breakfast is from 7.30 to 11 which is good if you want to get up late, but I had to miss it once because I was leaving on a train. When I did get to have it in the restaurant (on the 16th floor with a good view) there was plenty to choose from. The staff at reception were helpful too.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank b037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
24
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed there with my son's class tour. Small but clean rooms, good Ukrainian breakfast (although definitely not for those caring for amount of cholesterol), excellent location - 10 mins walking distance from the railway station and city centre, nice park nearby. The restaurant on the 16th floor, having a nice view and decent food, is almost empty in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Together with two of my Fellows, we went for a couple of Nights in this "Express" Hotel in Kiev. The Choicewas good, due itis good located. Arround 10 to 15 Minutes walking to the Kiev Main Train Station and about 25 to 30 Minutes walking to the City Center. There was also a Subway Station (with Lnes to City Center and Train Station) just few Minutes beside the Hotel. Classic outfitted Room with a spectacular View (especially in night). Room was nothing special, but top clean. Good Service at Breakfast!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelshopshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hof, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

It was a short Stay there and we both did felt good in this good middle class Hotel. Although we have been there only 2 nights, we say, that it was all very friendly and totally clean there. During our Stay, we went two times there for Breakfast, wich was nice decorated and all fresh. Good Coffee there!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 562782Ingrid1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

rooms are not huge, but very comfortable and everything works. good desk for working and table light, good light for reading in bed.nice breakfast fantastic location within walking distance of st sophia and from rail station. cheap way from airport is to take airport bus no 322 to the rail station which has two entrances on either side of the tracks. go down the escalators to the left of the station as you leave the bus and walk through to the other side. then turn right aiming for the McDonalds corner and the main road from the station goes straight down the hill and up the other side. carry straight on past the botanic gardens on your right and the Express is at the corner at the end of the road. if too much luggage to go uphill, then don't head for mcdonalds but go to the left to the metro station (everyone else is going there) and take one stop to universitat, and go downhill to the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tricia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is ugly inside and outside. Dingy reception very poorly lit at night and I found difficult to locate entrance. I have booked standard room. It is more of a prison cell with 14” ctr TV which barley gets any reception, very bare room. Bathroom tiny, with some strange electric boiler. Hot water lasts for a bout 5 min (in very cold winter months). Restaurant small, sometimes can not accommodate arriving guests for breakfast, food uninspiring… The only good points are good central heating and hotel location, within walking distance to major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariuszKluzniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kiev hotels

Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
192 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spend 3 nights in this 3 stars hotel. Good location. Rooms are clean, air condition, hot water and free Wi-Fi. The breakfast has a great variety. The staff speaks good English.
Close to the hotel there is a fantastic shop "LVIV hand made chocolate". A must.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mogolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Hotel Lybid
Premier Hotel Lybid
#45 of 115 in Kiev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ambassador Plaza
Ambassador Plaza
#27 of 115 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 115 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bratislava Hotel
Bratislava Hotel
#26 of 115 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
Mir
#64 of 115 in Kiev
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sherborne ApartHotel
Sherborne ApartHotel
#21 of 115 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express

Property: Express
Address: 38/40 Shevchenko Avenue, Kiev 252032 , Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 115 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Express 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing