We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good middle class Hotel”
Review of Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Express
Ranked #63 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed February 14, 2013

It was a short Stay there and we both did felt good in this good middle class Hotel. Although we have been there only 2 nights, we say, that it was all very friendly and totally clean there. During our Stay, we went two times there for Breakfast, wich was nice decorated and all fresh. Good Coffee there!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 562782Ingrid1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

rooms are not huge, but very comfortable and everything works. good desk for working and table light, good light for reading in bed.nice breakfast fantastic location within walking distance of st sophia and from rail station. cheap way from airport is to take airport bus no 322 to the rail station which has two entrances on either side of the tracks. go down the escalators to the left of the station as you leave the bus and walk through to the other side. then turn right aiming for the McDonalds corner and the main road from the station goes straight down the hill and up the other side. carry straight on past the botanic gardens on your right and the Express is at the corner at the end of the road. if too much luggage to go uphill, then don't head for mcdonalds but go to the left to the metro station (everyone else is going there) and take one stop to universitat, and go downhill to the hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tricia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is ugly inside and outside. Dingy reception very poorly lit at night and I found difficult to locate entrance. I have booked standard room. It is more of a prison cell with 14” ctr TV which barley gets any reception, very bare room. Bathroom tiny, with some strange electric boiler. Hot water lasts for a bout 5 min (in very cold winter months). Restaurant small, sometimes can not accommodate arriving guests for breakfast, food uninspiring… The only good points are good central heating and hotel location, within walking distance to major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariuszKluzniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spend 3 nights in this 3 stars hotel. Good location. Rooms are clean, air condition, hot water and free Wi-Fi. The breakfast has a great variety. The staff speaks good English.
Close to the hotel there is a fantastic shop "LVIV hand made chocolate". A must.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mogolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good value for money - by Kiev's standards. The hotel is very basic but they do the basics very well. Comfortable bed (good pillows - not always given in Ukraine!), TV, an air conditioner that works, fridge, desk, and a top notch free wifi link. Good location (you can see the railway station from the restaurant terrace on the 16th floor) and about 10-15 minutes walk from Kreshchatyk Street. Breakfast is Ukrainian style (cucumbers and tomatoes, etc) but adequate. All that's needed for a short trip and at a fraction of the cost of the top hotels.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor (there are 16 floors) to enjoy the view over Kiev's rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riko09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was my second stay at the Express. I had to return to visit Chernobyl! The hotel is clean, rooms are fine (maybe too warm but just open the window), hot water is on tap, laundry cleaning costs reasonable though the breakfast is unappealing. Am not sure if its a russian breakfast, but it looks to be food left over from the restaurant the night before - though I guess its not! This hotel is close to the centre but is still a good 20 minute walk up a gentle hill (which you need to descend too).

Room Tip: The higher up you are - the better the view across Kiev or the Botanical Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monktonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed for two nights in September. Our room was clean, beds comfortable and clean. Bathroom was clean and re-stocked with towels and toiletries daily. The little sitting room with fridge and mineral water was a real bonus. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a buffet and there was plenty on it to suit most tastes.
The hotel is very central with a metro station 5 minutes walk away and the main shopping street less than 15 minutes on foot. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AlfNoax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Nivki
Hotel Nivki
#56 of 112 in Kiev
85 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bratislava Hotel
Bratislava Hotel
#18 of 112 in Kiev
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lukyanovsky
Hotel Lukyanovsky
#57 of 112 in Kiev
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Oberig
Hotel Oberig
#38 of 112 in Kiev
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Kiev City Center
5.2 mi away
Ambassador Plaza
Ambassador Plaza
#28 of 112 in Kiev
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express

Address: 38/40 Shevchenko Avenue, Kiev 252032, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: $28 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Express 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing