We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Review Highlights
Amazing Family Bucket-List Tour of Western Ukraine

Both my mother and father hail from Western Ukraine. They grew up in different villages about 120... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
The_Intrepid_Canuck
,
Toronto, Canada
Thoroughly enjoyable

This was a large group tour with eight persons starting out in Kiev, we were a mixed bag with an... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Living-Image-Cameras
Read all 133 reviews
  
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
123
9
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
123
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews western ukraine custom tour carpathian mountains visit lviv tour manager travel arrangements lady boss local tour comfortable mini van excellent driver ivano frankivsk driving skills wonderful tour cultural experience always felt safe city guide day tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a large group tour with eight persons starting out in Kiev, we were a mixed bag with an age range spanning seven decades, the eldest being 80, a challenge for the organizers I am sure. The overall impression was one of a well organized and practiced company who managed to dovetail in all our requests seamlessly. Everything went to schedule and to plane, bar a few hiccups which were dealt with as they cropped up. We had three different drivers, buses and guides during our trip as we went from region to region. The drivers were owner/drivers and consequently took care of their vehicles and drove very carefully, the minibus from Kiev to Lviv was practically new and fully equipped including wifi, which was useful for some of the longer sectors. Our longest serving Guide was a lass named Marina, who took us to Lviv, she was knowledgeable and joined in with our joking about effortlessly, all told it was a good atmosphere in the confines of the minibus. In Lviv we were handed over to a new Gide and Marina made her way home. In Lviv we started out on the city tour but had to abandon as we got caught in a torrential downpour and were drenched in seconds, the group kind of fragmented and scattered in all directions! She eventually rounded us all up at the hotel and we rescheduled for the next day. In hindsight it was all very funny, but the poor guide was concerned as they take their charges seriously and want to take great care of you. All told, I can thoroughly recommend this company, the guides, drivers, vehicles and hotels they selected were all spot on and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Living-Image-Cameras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

As Americans visiting family in Ukraine, we were a bit stumped about how to coordinate certain aspects of our trip. We were fortunate to have found Julia who took the time to ask the questions to figure out exactly what we needed. She coordinated the train travel from Kyiv to a regional town, purchasing the tickets, arranging for a driver, directing us to an excellent hotel.

Back in Kyiv, she coordinated a private tour for our family of four ranging from a 78 year old babushka to an 18 year old. The tour guide, Marina, spoke both English and Ukrainian and deftly connected ancient Kyievan history to modern events which kept the tour engaging for everyone. I highly recommend this private tour. The duration was 9:00am to 5:00pm. There is a driver + the tour guide and you will visit all the highlights of Kyiv's history from the Golden Gates, to Maidan Square; from the Friendship Arch to the Motherland statue and see every church in between. Regarding the churches, these are sacred spaces and headscarves for women are highly encouraged. Many have a basket of them by the door, but as a pro tip, bring your own.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Sergei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

The entire team at JC Travel was professional, easy to work with and they went out of their way to create an amazing experience for all 12 members of our group which ranged in age from 17 to 72! We will definitely use them again the next time we return to Kiev!

Date of experience: July 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank tbond2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

Our family wanted to have an expert guide on our private tour of Kyiv. I called Julia at JC Travel, told her what we wanted and asked her to set things up. She did and provided and outstanding, smart, knowledgeable and friendly guide named Olga. I was very impressed. If you are planning a trip to Kyiv, call Julia at JC Travel. Whether you want a general tour of Kyiv (which is what we did) or something specific, Julia will match you with the appropriate tour guide. In, closing Julia followed up constantly to make sure everything was communicated properly between me and our guide.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

This was a fabulous tour. Julia is a vey genuine person who cares about her clients and seeks ways to enhance their experiences. The guides and drivers are carefully selected, as are the sights to visit. We have no hesitation in highly recommending JC Travel. Thank you Julia.

Date of experience: June 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank 698gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews