We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weatherbeaten but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Slavutych Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Slavutych Hotel
Ranked #53 of 110 Hotels in Kiev
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Weatherbeaten but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

A classic bit of Communist architecture. The problem with Kiev weather is it can wear most things down and the exterior is worn and not in much better a state than the grim housing estates surrounding it. Inside though, it's a very pleasant and briskly efficient place, with basic and decent rooms, 24 hour room service, a sushi bar on the top floor and the sort of hearty breakfast you need to face a Ukrainian November.. It's no central though there's a metro nearby, and there's Wifi in the lobby only....no frills, but this is Kiev, if you don't like the sound of it find a boring frilly city instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    64
    65
    14
    19
See reviews for
15
17
63
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I spent six days during October 2012. It was very comfortable hotel.
The receptionists was very polite and helpful. the maids was polite and clean my room every day.
My double room was clean comfortable and deserves what I paid for.
The hotel was secure and always we have guards outside.
You have a bus stop outside and you need 5 min to be in the metro station.
A great Location near a beautiful park on the Dnieper River.
Many restaurants inside and outside the hotel.
In general and if you want an average hotel in a good and quiet location for sure I will advise Slavutych.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleb S, Manager at Slavutych Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear valued guest!
Thank You for Your kind review!
Slavutych hotel team is very glad to hear Your comments and pleased to know, that You chose our hotel to spend almost a week in Kyiv. Thank you for your great feedback for our staff. One of our goals is to work together as efficient and friendly team to provide the highest level of service. You are absolutely right saying about Slavutych hotel`s location, it is one of the most picturesque places in Kyiv.
Looking forward to welcome You again in future.

Best Regard,
Slavutych hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I usually don't write reviews, but this was the worst hotel experience in my life and I just wanted to let others know before they stay here. Here are my notes:

Internet works only in corridors, right out of soviet times comfort...

The bathrooms are in horrible condition! Wall tile is falling off and broken in places, some strange looking boards covering holes in walls. The tub is so black, scary to step on it.

Every piece of furniture I think was there since the hotel was built probably 50 years ago. It has good old stains all over. Even the wallpaper has disgusting stains all around.
Don't bother to close your windows, the smoke from smokers outside will come through holes in window frames.
Beds are very small and uncomfortable, covers are disgusting to even seat on. Sheets even had I think blood stains on them. :(
Towels are like floor rags with blood stains and strings flaring out.
At night you will hear drunks yelling from down below, to keep you entertained.
Fluorescent lights in corridors flickering like in a bad horror movie...
The room doors lock only with one key and can't be unlocked from inside without that key.
Only hot water at the sink, no cold water.
Floor rug has dark stains on it and probably never been cleaned.
The doors are so squeaky, fun at night!

The "fancy" Restaurant upstairs doesn't change their tablecloths after each visitor so you get to dine with old disgusting stains on your table. Yum!

There is about 10 people standing down below, not sure if they are security or taxi drivers and what they are doing there all day long... Very strange. And just a note, don't get a taxi from the hotel people they charge twice as much. Just call for taxi from somewhere else or get one on a street.

And there is no fridge in a room with vodka in it to make us blind to all of the above!!! For that price you can get a nice clean hotel in the US. Common Ukrainians!

Room Tip: All I have to say is stay away form this hotel if you don't want to experience disappointment fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAllLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleb S, Manager at Slavutych Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear valued guest!

Thank You very much for this review! We are really appreciate Your opinion.
Let me bring You our apologies for this unpleasant stay at Slavutych hotel.

We would like to pay Your attention that every from Your notes will be checked and fixed at the soonest time.(if possible)

However, we suppose that You stayed at the room of Economy type (twin/single). Such rooms are old furnished and need to be redecorated and that is why those rooms are the cheapest. Certainly the advantage of this rooms is their price. Nevertheless Slavutych hotel offers rooms of different categories (standard, suite, semi-suite, etc.) those rooms are well-conditioned, with modern equipment and facilities.

We really hope to restore Your trust and loyalty to our hotel. We’d like to present our apologies once again and hope that such situation will not happen again. Next time if You decide to stay at Slavutych hotel despite previous experience that would be a great possibility for us to demonstrate You our high level of service and hospitality, also we recommend to book Standard rooms or higher category for Your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kiev hotels

Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stay here for one night because of late arrival to the city. Economy room is cosy and cheapest in the city, but bed is very nice and clean. Bathroom not so. Probably other categories is better, but economy is acceptable for short or overnight stay. Direct road to airport. Hotel oposit river, not so far from exhibition center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed one night at the start of the Euro2012 football championships.
Teh website for the hotel had been hacked, so we had some concerns regarding the hotel's security. We needn't have worried.

Relatively easy to find. Just head for Hydropark & it's not far from there.

Grand on the outside, particularly at nigh (well lit), and you can see the hotel from miles away.

Welcoming reception. English spoken well. There is a bar next to the reception with large scree TV's. Surprisingly this was some of the cheapest drinks we found in Kiev (pint of beer ~£1).

Teh rooms are very old Communist style. Beige colours everywhere. Fairly rickety beds. Mini-bath tubs. However all is clean.

Overall you get what you pay for here. We paid ~£50 for one night during the Euros, & considering every other equivalent hotel in Kiev was charging ~£200, this was a steal.

If you're on a budget then it is ideal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finbarr_in_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleb S, Manager at Slavutych Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Our team is doing all it`s best to ensure our guests comfort and pleasant stay. And each gratitude from our guests is highest reward for us. At the moment some our rooms are old stylized but we are working to make all rooms in the hotel good furnished and well equipped for a reasonable price. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to see you again.

Best Regard,
Slavutych hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked 2 nights in the hotel for the Euro 2012 Final in Kiev.
Our expectations were very low because we read some reviews before our arrival, but we booked the hotel anyway because it fitted our budget.
We also booked this hotel since we heard some stories about hotels that people ordered and not exist in realty…
This is a very big hotel (more than 400 rooms) and known.

We arrived from the Airport by taxi (260 Grivnas during the Euro 2012) and we received a great service and welcoming in the reception.
There is a nice bar in the lobby. Open 24 Hours.
There is also a Money Exchange boot and a concierge for arranging stuff in the city.
The hotel is secured 24 hours with a guard outside.
Breakfast is nice (10th Floor).
The rooms:
If you will adjust your expectations – you will not be disappointed…
These kinds of room's type are very old. I believe more than 100 years…
The room is very small: 2 small beds and 1 small TV.
The bath looks like ages ago (see photos), but there is hot water all the time
But although all this – I will recommended the hotel for a budget travelers that want to save money for other things (In other words - this is not a Hotel for Honeymoon Couples...)
And anyway, I'm sure there are better room's types (but you need to pay more)
The service in the hotel is great and this is an important thing.
The hotel is located 25 Min walk from the nearest Metro station (Livoberznha), but it's a very nice walk.
You can also take the bus from outside the hotel and taxis are also not expensive.
There is a nice Italian Restaurant nearby and some groceries stores. So it's very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Located by a bridge on the opposite river bank to the main city of Kiev. Large hotel with a variety of nationalities staying there. Good value for money in general and although the room I stayed in was quite small, it felt comfortable and secure. The nearest metro station was about 20 minutes walk away or a short bus trip along the same street. Food available and there's a reasonable restaurant which is clean & tidy. Breakfast also quite good. I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymousUser0084845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
5.3 mi away
Vizit Hotel Complex
Vizit Hotel Complex
#60 of 110 in Kiev
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mir
Mir
#57 of 110 in Kiev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bratislava Hotel
Bratislava Hotel
#24 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Express
Express
#68 of 110 in Kiev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.0 mi away
Salute Hotel
Salute Hotel
#36 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Nivki
Hotel Nivki
#63 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slavutych Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slavutych Hotel

Property: Slavutych Hotel
Address: 1 Entuziastov Street, Kiev 253154, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 110 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Slavutych Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slavutych Hotel sits near one of the most picturesque places in Kyiv on the east side or, in local parlance, the “left bank” of the Dnipro River, on Rusanivsky Island and just 20 minutes by foot from Livoberezhna metro station and the International Exhibition Centre. The rooms of the hotel boast a splendid view of the Dnipro, the Rusanivsky Canal, the Kyiv Pecherska Lavra cave monastery, the Vydubychi Monastery, plus the historic Pechersk and Podil sections of the city.The hotel has 400 comfortable rooms that are affordably priced. The cosy Café Bar on the 10th floor offers delicious meals from its vantage point overlooking the Dnipro and the Dnipro Embankment, the 16th-floor restaurant Hang Gang offers a taste of Korean and Japanese cuisine, with the Lobby Bar on the main floor providing a welcome space to relax at any time of day. The hotel is a useful space for business travelers, with its Conference Hall and Meeting Room suitable for seminars and conferences, and a business center for handling all manner of related tasks.The hospitable staff of the Slavutych Hotel is there to make every guest feel welcome and perfectly at home in this amazing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Slavutych Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavutich Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing