We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strange place”

Kanapa Restaurant Salon
Ranked #12 of 1,934 Restaurants in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ukrainian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“strange place”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

As I understand the owners tried to do something very original.
The design is a very strange mixture of Ukrainian notes and modern art: wood and wool are connected to leather and copper (pipe). I didn't like the food. The pieces of quail in the salade were as rubber toys - uneatable. The veal brains were better, but still not really good.
The waiter forgot about the bread and hadn't visited our table 40 minutes.
The toilet was smelly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    112
    55
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, creative presentation”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm from New York and visited the restaurant in Aug 2013 with a group of 8 people including children. The highlight of the restaurant is the quality of the food they serve. All 8 different main dishes as well as the appetizers that we ordered were fresh and tasty. We ordered a lot: the ukranian soups, golushki, vareniki , pelmeni, a rabbit, farshmack, eggplant caviar. Pelmeni and vareniki were made with a thin dough ( like it is supposed to be!) and good quality fillings. Every dish was very good. It is possible that the prices are high for the locals; however, compared to other restaurants in Kiev where the prices are alomost the same the restaurant has much better food quality. Also the way the food is served is very creative. I recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityOval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awful pseudotraditional restaurant”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Awful pseudotraditional restaurant. Extremely high prices. Substandart service. And its`not ukrainian quisine: dumpling with beaver, are they kidding? Ordinary dumpling for 69 UAH (really small portion). Little tasting set costs 598 UAH. It`s a hype.
Restaurant bill for the evening is on average 400 UAH, per person.
Strongly reccomend get this place side off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pivomansu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Wroclaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Restaurant is just great! It was exactly what we expected. You can get there the real Ukrainian food which was simply delicious. A lot of space, air condition, nice service, clean toilet. Everything was OK. And the best were nice sweet cheese little cakes with cream and strawberries - for a dessert. They even sell hand made ceramic (new) which is also used in the restaurant on the regular basis. I recomend this restaurant to everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ibisek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Creative Kanapa”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wow!! Having lived in Kyiv for 3 years, and then returning, I can truly say this is a wonderful restaurant. They take the wonderful flavors of Ukraine and make them even better. Wonderful service, and delicious twists and turns. I would highly recommend this to those who enjoy Ukrainian food and who enjoy a higher gourmet quality experience. Yum, just yum. Don't miss the caviar for a mere 499UAH, with a delicious homemade horseradish vodka and the varenkiy (Ukrainian dumplings) are out of this world!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCSatKyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanapa Restaurant Salon also viewed

 

Been to Kanapa Restaurant Salon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing