We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than nasty reviews and wonderful terrace dining”
Review of Avalon

Avalon
Ranked #150 of 1,963 Restaurants in Kiev
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese, Ukrainian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The entertaining complex "Avalon" has been founded in 1992. Under its roof are the vocal restaurant Pavlin, lounge-zone, Terrace, Alchemist Disco have taken places. The complex philosophy consists that any visitor of an institution will necessarily find here the vacation spot with an excellent interior and irreproachable service.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Much better than nasty reviews and wonderful terrace dining”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Based on some nasty reviews here I almost avoided Avalon, but my girl friend's local contacts had rated it so highly I decided to trust them over the negative visitors. I was rewarded with a lovely summer dining experience in a club that was lively and upscale even on a Monday night. The security forces smiled nicely. Everyone smiled nicely. The cosmopolitans were strong. We had some great caviar and great service. The terrace looks out on a lovely street from a third floor. It was romantic and perfect on this Monday night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Григорий С, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Avalon, responded to this review, May 17, 2017
Jamie, thank you very much for your kind words. We have changed a lot over time. The lounge and terrace were renovated, a fitness club and even a beauty salon were launched. Since the autumn, we have a "Alchemist" disco-bar . We will be glad to see you again. We are sure that you will appreciate our changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    27
    11
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but very tasty food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Discovered a new version of the traditional Olivie salad - a staple of any Soviet era celebration. They call this one an "1812 version", with the difference apparently being quail eggs and meat being used instead of regular chicken eggs and meat.

At $15 (with the exchange rate at the time), I wouldn't call this exactly affordable for the locals, however for us it was acceptable (although the portion was very small).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Григорий С, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Avalon, responded to this review, May 17, 2017
Thank you very much for your feedback. We have changed a lot over this time. The lounge and terrace were renovated, a fitness club and even a beauty salon were launched. Since the autumn, we have a "Alchemist" disco-bar . Special attention is paid to the quality of service and cuisine. We will be glad to see you again. We are sure that you will appreciate our changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“half a star is too much”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

this place is a rip-off club, full of prostitutes, drinks are very expensive and you will get double charged, if you don't speak Russian to explain, forget about correcting your double charged... my credit card info was stolen after my visit, a week later I had ATM withdraws in Moscow, it took me a lot to figure that out.. .the security guys are extremely rude , management don't care about customers ...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Григорий С, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Avalon, responded to this review, May 16, 2017
Leonardo, thank you very much for your feedback. Since your last visit, we have changed a lot. We have updated our lounge, terrace, we have a gym and even a beauty salon. Service for us is of great importance and we are constantly working in this direction. In any case, we would very much like you to visit us again and are sure that your opinion will change for the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoy the night in Kiev.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Ive been there couple of times and for sure will go again.
The place is set on several floors, so can enjoy live music, disco, karaoke or just a glamorous dinner.
Food is quite good quality and will satisfy any customer. From sushi and fresh fish to traditional steaks and local cuisine.
For the ones who is smoking - despite that you can not smoke in public places, here you can. For ones who dont - you still can find a place where smoke will not disturb you.
Prices are quite high, but such level place in very cenrtal location... What can you expect.
They are open I think all night long, so just go - thats a good choice if you are visiting Kiev!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZigmundP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Григорий С, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Avalon, responded to this review, May 16, 2017
Zigmund, thank you very much for your feedback. Since your last visit, we have changed a lot. We have updated our lounge, terrace, we have a gym and even a beauty salon. Looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalon also viewed

 
Kiev, Ukraine
 
Kiev, Ukraine
 

Been to Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing