We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't like it :(”
Review of Prego Cafe

Prego Cafe
Ranked #544 of 1,872 Restaurants in Kiev
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Kiev Oblast, Ukraine
Level Contributor
127 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Didn't like it :(”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was brought there from a friend of mine to have a breakfast.
He was telling me how nice is this place, how good is, etc etc etc
Well...i don't like to be asked 2-3 times what did i ordered, can you just write down what i wanted?
After a long process of ordering the food arrived quite quickly ( my carpaccio was below zero temperature! ) and I had a cappuccino that looks like scrambled milk :( :(

Thank you but no more for me, even if the place looks nice and location is great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GliwiceOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good food spolit by some bad staff”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very pleasant cafe offering a variety of salads, pasta and pizzas. We visited the cafe on two separate occasions and both times the food was very good. On the first visit we ate outside and were served by two waitresses who did a very good job. They were both pleasant and helpful.

On the second occasion we ate inside and were served by a waiter who was not helpful. It soon became obvious that the most important thing was a tip as he spent most time with those who tipped the most. The food was good but the visit was spoilt by the waiter’s attitude.

Try and eat outside and get a waitress and you may have a good time. However be prepared for the opposite if you are unlucky enough to get the same waiter as we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merevaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not impressed!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

the food is good, but the service seriously has problems. I set for 30 minutes and asked 3 waiters for attention, only to find out that they somehow did not care. When I went to speak to the restaurant manager, then they starting giving due attention.

Will not suggest it.....Oliva Restaurant is by far better and in the same price bracket!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mercury C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

the lunch menu is really good. You can have minestrone and salads with fennel. Delicious. The service is good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alevtyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food mediocre - service dreadful”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Like many restaurants in Kiev, Prego serves plenty of sushi, pizza and pasta dishes.
The waiter took our order but didn't write it down and had to come back a few minutes later to check he had remembered it correctly.

He only brought one of the main courses out saying the second would follow in two minutes - it was actually 10 by which time my friend had almost finished otherwise the food would have gone cold.

Didn't leave a tip and definitely wouldn't recommend .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardperkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Prego Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing