We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wagon

Wagon
Ranked #1,135 of 1,797 Restaurants in Kiev
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, European, Pub, Eastern European, Central European, Ukrainian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Tables are arranged as a train carts, in a nice way. Food and drinks were delicious, service nice. Would go back there again. Very suitable for a romantic date as well as for a meeting with friends.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A meal on the Orient...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I visited Vagon Restaurant one evening with my boyfriend, as we found it listed in the guidebook and it was only a few minutes walk from our apartment. We began by sitting outside, but it was so noisy from the street and plainly decorated, we almost left. But luckily, we decided to ask to be moved inside.. and we were taken to one of the carriages. Our first response was wow! We have both been to Istanbul so we immediately fell in love with the table. It was beautifully decorated and the curtain was drawn across from some pivacy. Our waitress was helpful, even though they had ran out of almost all beers on tap (football match on during the day). The food was delicious, with plenty of choice and reasonably priced, the service was friendly and we stayed for a cocktail rather than moving on to another bar. Overall, a fantastic experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
140 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice place, interesting interior, good food well presented”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

A nice place to go in Chernoarminskaya 52, or Krasnoarmenskaya, or Vasiliyevska. No, it is one location only, but the street is changing name so often that i found useful citing the three names.
Interiors are nice, some also a little bit sexy, the romms are made of a train wagons and platforms.
Smiling service. The food is not typical, but rather international, and it well done and very well presented. There are some local dishes, but it is mainly European.
Maybe not the ideal place fopr a bsuiness meeting, but ok for groups friends, families, of or a date.
Prices are not inexpesnive, but ok with the level of the restaurant.
On april 30, 2012 Credit card machine was broken, but they told us before ordering.
http://www.vagon-restoran.kiev.ua

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GIOPIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Food and Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I dined at the Wagon Restaurant for my first meal in Kiev over Easter weekend in April 2012. This restaurant lets you dine in train carriages, which might sound hokey, but was actually really nice. The menu was practically a tome, which oodles of delicious Ukrainian dishes from which to choose. I opted for pickled herring and borscht followed by the Lady Lynn (chicken with mozzarella and Parma ham). The staff were lovely. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NMPCC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing