We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Bontiak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bontiak Hotel
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Bontiak during our city break to Kiev for 4 days (July 5-9) and really enjoyed the hotel. The hotel is located in the quite neighbourhood in the convenient center location - 5 min walk to the metro station and to the Indendence square. The room is very spacious, the bed is huge. Good choice of channel on the cable TV. We were told that the hotel doesn't have the separate restaurant/cafeteria, so the breakfast was served to the room every morning by default, which is very convenient. Overall, great hotel - would stay there again next time we are in Kiev.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    78
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
58
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strombeek-Bever, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 6 days end of June 2013.

The hotel is ideally situated, a few minutes walking distance from St Sophia and from the opera.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They speak english.

The room is nice and vey big with air conditionning (it was necessary: the temperature exceeded the 30 ° c). The place is quiet.

The breakfast is good and served in the room. You have the choice between different formulas.
The only critic: as it is served in the room and therefore, it is not a buffet, you have not the possibility to serve yourself if you want more! There is no restaurant or bar.

They also organised my taxi transfer from and to the airport: good service for a reasonable price.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
125 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Been there last week.
Rooms are very clean and have everything you may need.
We arrived at noon time, but room was still not ready. Was forced to walk around for two more hours to be checked in. After 2 flights it's not a good thing.
Location: unbeatable. 100 m from St.Sophia and 400 n from Maidan and Kreschatik.
Breakfast is good. It's serving in your room. You should choose a breakfast option a eve before from 6 different breakfasts
Free wi-fi in the room
Great place. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Situated in very center of Kiev, very comfortable for visitors of Kiev. Very nice and kind personal. Good and free WiFi. Private parking. Spacious rooms and bathrooms, nice style of room. Very clean. Huge and comfortable beds, which is always nice :) Too bad for lobby and reception area, doesn't do justice. Breakfast in room. 5 min by walk from metro and main square of Kiev. Over all I am very happy to have chosen this hotel in Kiev.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaFoxArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I just spent our first 5 nights in Ukraine at the Bontiak, and were very impressed, and really happy we booked it. Originally, someone had recommended some of the older, better-known mid-price hotels, but when I looked into them, and read some reviews on TA, I wasn't very enthused about booking any of them. They sounded "OK" at best, definitely showing their Soviet heritage in terms of service and charm. Then I found a few reviews of the Bontiak, and booked it.

This is not a place for anyone who wants a big hotel, or a "full-service" one. No restaurant or coffee shop, bar, room service, or gift shop. But it's very attrractive, modern, clean and roomy. We had a large room with king bed; bathroom is spacious, large shower, always with hot water.
We loved the location, two minutes from St. Sophia and close walk to other great sites, restaurants (favourite restaurant: Le Cosmpolite), Opera, Theatre, and a short walk downhill (good climb back) to the Maidan and Khreshchatyk St.

Best of all was the staff, who gave great service, were all really warm, helpful, and ready to help with anything. We really felt at home there.

Some more info... Rooms are on 3 floors of the building (reception on the middle floor). It has I think 35 rooms, but only 25 in service right now. Breakfasts are ordered each day and delivered to your room. (We both recommend the Ukrainian breakfast. Be warned that the "American" breakfast -- eggs and sausages -- the "sausages" are hot dogs.

We had a large room for two, but the room came with just one bath towel. (We asked for more, and got them every day). Could use some more hangers for two people. (You can see my "complaints" are pretty small).

If you'd like a convenient, attractive, very friendly, small hotel in Kyiv, you can't go wrong with the Bontiak.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank to-music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Bontiak. The hotel is 2-3 blocks from the Opera, Gate of Kiev, Santa Sofía, thus perfect for walking and exploring this very upscale part of city. For further explorations the metro is with walking distance.
Our bedroom had a king size bed, nice size closet and very modern bathroom.There were robes and sleepers. The breakfast was brought to the room every morning because the hotel does not have a breakfast room and my only observation for improvement would be to add one more chair , one is not enough for a couple to sit for a meal.
As meal choices go, I specially recommend the Ukrainian cottage cheese pancakes , they were most delicious and portable.
By the way, in spite of having had a window overlooking a playground, the room was quiet. The wifi had good signal and the reception desk personnel were very courteous.
Our reservation was made through the hotel website around two and a half months before arrival and thus managed to get a very reasonable rate.
Spacziba !

Room Tip: If you go to the Opera, order a meal to go at Lemonade, located on the corner of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Prompted to write this after reading the negative review (while we were there in April). We were flabbergasted to read it, thinking a competing hotel must have inserted it.

The Bontiak is not a Five Star Luxury hotel nor does it pretended to be. It is a very well located facility with spacious, adequately appointed rooms/bathrooms. The breakfasts were good, not overwhelming.

Service was without flaw. It is not obsequious but rooms were spotless and the front desk was responsive. The breakfasts were brought to the room (we did not miss an in house restaurant) promptly.

Should you be looking for a comfortable hotel to see Kiev FROM as opposed to a palace to spend Kievan time IN this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OddZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.1 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
0.3 mi away
Sunflower B&B Hotel
Sunflower B&B Hotel
#33 of 111 in Kiev
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Impressa
Impressa
#40 of 111 in Kiev
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityHotel
CityHotel
#19 of 111 in Kiev
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kyiv
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bontiak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bontiak Hotel

Property: Bontiak Hotel
Address: Irininskaya Street 5/24 Block B, Kiev 01034, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bontiak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bontiak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing