We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of CityHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityHotel
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Great Value”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights - Great Hotel for the price - had everything you could ask for - rooms were a nice size and bathrooms finished to the highest standards.
Would have liked the breakfast buffet to be a bit more extensive although the restaurants view more than made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dxb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    70
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
43
25
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spending nearly 2 weeks across Ukraine we were surprised about this impersonal and non connecting atmosphere at City Hotel Kiev. No welcome during check in, no good morning passing the lobby and no good bye at the check out. That was quite unusual due our great experiences at other places around the country. Getting an invoice for kind of tourist fee of approx 16 hryvnya at the end was the final highlight and will for sure stay in our memories. It's not about the money, it's all about the attitude. The place itself and the whole interior is nice but the staff really screwed up our impression of this hotel. Quite weird place within lovely and communicative Ukraine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you would like to relax in Kyiv really cool, just choose this hotel. In addition you'll get a 20% discount if you purchase a Kyiv City card. Next month I'd stay in CityHotel in Kyiv. Really perfect place

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlosrevera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had great 3 night stay in this hotel. Everything was top of the line - the room, the breakfast and service. It was my fist time in Kiev after 35 years and it was amazing, beyond my expectation. I hope to come back next year and stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana_Shutova, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank You for great review!
We'll be delighted to welcome You during Your next visit to Kiev!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 for a week on business. Wonderful hotel, reasonably priced, very comfortable beds (I still dream about them!), nice breakfast with a panoramic view of the city. You can't go wrong with City Hotel. I will definitely stay here next time I am back - I think its the best place to stay in Kiev. Hope they keep similar prices because its definitely worth it!

Room Tip: don't stay in a room on a high floor! thing is that - the restaurant is on the top floor and eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I choice this place over the Cosmopolite I have stayed in before because I had more time on my hands this trip to head into Kiev a bit more. The hotel is on good location, two blocks from the Opera. It's a bit hidden because the entrance is on a side street behind an older building. The hotel is quite nice, the rooms and beds are quite good, nothing to complain. The only thing I truly missed was a stand for my suitcase.
Breakfast is ok. The view from the restaurant is very nice though because it's on the 15th floor. Don't use the car service or suggested taxis from the hotel, they are way more expensive than normal taxis. When ordering a cab at the front desk tell them you want a regular street taxi! All in all I would recommend this hotel due to its good price/quality/location mix.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana_Shutova, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank You for hotel review and recommendation! We appreciate Your opinion on our service and we'll do our best to improve it. In fact we have already started: we ordered luggage stands for our clients' comfort!

We'll be glad to welcome You again in CITYHOTEL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our fifth visit to Kiev, but the very first time we stayed in a hotel. We were honestly and positively surprised as the Cityhotel was much better in real that what we saw on the Internet. Even the standard double room in which we stayed was quite comfortable, super clean and had every single detail one could wish for. I am puzzled why this hotel is rated with only 4*. And if you read some of my other reviews, you will see that I rarely waste compliments. The food selection for breakfast was average, but everything tasted great. The gym is rather small, but covers the basics. I know for sure that the next time we are around, we will definitely consider booking this hotel.

The minor issues which did bother us, but didn't spoil the overall impression are:
1. Bathroom was a designated smoking area, although we had a non-smoking room. How silly is that!? But I guess smokers have their way of appreciating such things in case of crisis.
2. There is a single terrace connecting many rooms without even a psychological barrier. This deprives you from privacy to a certain extent, since anybody can "drop by" if you forget to close the door, or they can peek into your room if you don't pull the curtains together.

Tips to the management: invest a few grivnas and install some panels on the terraces to provide a complete privacy to your guests. And by all means fire the male receptionists.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hateshabbyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana_Shutova, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank You for finding time and warm words to evaluate our hotel! We take into account our guests' tips and suggestions on how to make accomodation more comfortable and stunning! Thank You for paying attention to such disadvantage as lack of partitions on the balconies, we know the problem but we were not able to start construction works during winter-spring period, and until the end of summer problem will be solved!

We will be glad to welcome You in CITYHOTEL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera Hotel
#7 of 111 in Kiev
454 reviews
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#5 of 111 in Kiev
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityHotel

Property: CityHotel
Address: Khmelnytskoho Bohdana vul. 56 A, Kiev 01030, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CityHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITYHOTEL is situated in business, historical and diplomatic center of Kiev. The hotel offers 87 comfortable rooms with LED-TV, ergonomic workspace, Wi-Fi and direct local/international telephone connection in each room. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning system, mini-bars and mini-safes. CITYHOTEL - is a part of business lifestyle, modern technologies, fast and excellent service and reasonable prices. CITYHOTEL - is a restrained style along with elegance and comfort, functional design, individuality and refinement, cozy atmosphere and high class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your CityHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing