We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quit nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CityHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CityHotel
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quit nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I choice this place over the Cosmopolite I have stayed in before because I had more time on my hands this trip to head into Kiev a bit more. The hotel is on good location, two blocks from the Opera. It's a bit hidden because the entrance is on a side street behind an older building. The hotel is quite nice, the rooms and beds are quite good, nothing to complain. The only thing I truly missed was a stand for my suitcase.
Breakfast is ok. The view from the restaurant is very nice though because it's on the 15th floor. Don't use the car service or suggested taxis from the hotel, they are way more expensive than normal taxis. When ordering a cab at the front desk tell them you want a regular street taxi! All in all I would recommend this hotel due to its good price/quality/location mix.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana_Shutova, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank You for hotel review and recommendation! We appreciate Your opinion on our service and we'll do our best to improve it. In fact we have already started: we ordered luggage stands for our clients' comfort!

We'll be glad to welcome You again in CITYHOTEL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    64
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
42
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our fifth visit to Kiev, but the very first time we stayed in a hotel. We were honestly and positively surprised as the Cityhotel was much better in real that what we saw on the Internet. Even the standard double room in which we stayed was quite comfortable, super clean and had every single detail one could wish for. I am puzzled why this hotel is rated with only 4*. And if you read some of my other reviews, you will see that I rarely waste compliments. The food selection for breakfast was average, but everything tasted great. The gym is rather small, but covers the basics. I know for sure that the next time we are around, we will definitely consider booking this hotel.

The minor issues which did bother us, but didn't spoil the overall impression are:
1. Bathroom was a designated smoking area, although we had a non-smoking room. How silly is that!? But I guess smokers have their way of appreciating such things in case of crisis.
2. There is a single terrace connecting many rooms without even a psychological barrier. This deprives you from privacy to a certain extent, since anybody can "drop by" if you forget to close the door, or they can peek into your room if you don't pull the curtains together.

Tips to the management: invest a few grivnas and install some panels on the terraces to provide a complete privacy to your guests. And by all means fire the male receptionists.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hateshabbyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana_Shutova, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank You for finding time and warm words to evaluate our hotel! We take into account our guests' tips and suggestions on how to make accomodation more comfortable and stunning! Thank You for paying attention to such disadvantage as lack of partitions on the balconies, we know the problem but we were not able to start construction works during winter-spring period, and until the end of summer problem will be solved!

We will be glad to welcome You in CITYHOTEL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Rooms are very spacious, clean and well decorated. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
We had a great view on Kiev from the 12th floor, and an even better view from the Matisse restaurant on the 15th (top) floor, where breakfast is served.
One remark: there was no working wifi in the room, which is a shame for a hotel in this price category

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankSalliau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana_Shutova, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank You for finding time to write such a nice review!
I'm sorry that You experienced discomfort due to lack of wi-fi connection, it's an exсeption, but not the rule in our hotel.

We'll be delighted to welcome You in CITYHOTEL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Me and my friend spent 4 days in Kiev at the City Hotel. I can really recomment this Hotel for several reasons.
Its very central - just a couple of minutes away from the main street and the famous opera.
Its very new and has all the comfort you need. The stuff is quite friendly and everything is very clean.
The breakfast is also very good- a big buffet with a big variety of food.
I would choose this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floor to the back side. The view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana_Shutova, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sven,

Thank You for high evaluation of CITYHOTEL and recommendation!
We'll be delighted to welcome You again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

As the taxi turned off the main road into the drive leading to the hotel I started to think this was going to be an uncomfortable stay. At the end of the drive was a building site for a new apartment block. HOWEVER, as I walked into reception things started to look up. A frendly welcome was received. Check in was efficient. The rooms were a good size, clean, well maintained and new. Price for the hotel was good. Only concern would be that the prices are low due to the fact it was new and not so well known. To walk to the centre of the city took around 10-15minutes. Taxi to the airport took say 40minutes. Breakfast was a little limited but okay. Had lunch in the top floor restaurant looking over the city. Nice view but for some reason the staff liked to play loud pop music. Service good. Overall a good hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana_Shutova, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for nice review!
We've already taken into account your comment regarding loud pop music in the restaurant, your opinion is very important for us! Thank you for helping to improve comfort and services!

We'll be glad to welcome you again in CITYHOTEL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Here we are, fantasctic new hotel, great price but unreliable service.
It takes little to ruine a perfect pitch...
Small little details missing, at front desk and restaurant kills a "couldBeExcellent" hotel.
It will probably takes time and efforts, try harder and you will make it!
I still suggest it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorfeoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana_Shutova, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for choosing CITYHOTEL for your stay in Kiev! Your opinion is very important for us, we are taking into account our guests' comments and preferences to improving service and provide the most comfortable and stunning accommodation!
We'll be glad to welcome you again and hope to become the Excellent hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Kiev (a city that deserves a review) and I can´t wait for sharing the experience with you about this hotel. It was like having Aladdin's lamp: All wishes came true. We asked for a room with views and we stayed in room 1103, bright, large terrace and fantastic views. They sent a taxi to pick us up at the airport, fixed rate, no problem. The staff at the reception is young and very professional. Any question (timetables, tourist sites, instructions to take the subway ...) they always responded quickly and efficiently with a smile. This morning we had to go to the airport before they opened the breakfast buffet: They arranged everything for us to enjoy a freshly prepared breakfast.
The hotel is tastefully decorated, modern urban style. It would seem dark for some people but is part of the atmosphere.
The buffet breakfast: warm dishes are delicious (local cuisine) and the bread is fresh. I missed only honey. A very positive point is that the buffet is in the restaurant, which is on the 15th floor, with large windows. Views are guaranteed from every table.
This hotel is relatively close to the main street (shopping district) and has cafes and restaurants nearby. Even a small supermarket almost opposite. In summary, we are very pleased and we recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in high (+10th) floors, it worths!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HELENA_AIRLINES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana_Shutova, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for such terrific review and recommendation!
We are so delighted that you highly appreciated hotel and staff performance!
Hope to become your favourite place to stay in Kiev!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.2 mi away
Opera Hotel
Opera Hotel
#7 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kyiv
0.9 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#18 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
0.4 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.2 mi away
11 Mirrors Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityHotel

Property: CityHotel
Address: Khmelnytskoho Bohdana vul. 56 A, Kiev 01030, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CityHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITYHOTEL is situated in business, historical and diplomatic center of Kiev. The hotel offers 87 comfortable rooms with LED-TV, ergonomic workspace, Wi-Fi and direct local/international telephone connection in each room. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning system, mini-bars and mini-safes. CITYHOTEL - is a part of business lifestyle, modern technologies, fast and excellent service and reasonable prices. CITYHOTEL - is a restrained style along with elegance and comfort, functional design, individuality and refinement, cozy atmosphere and high class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing