We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New and reasonable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CityHotel
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

With Euro 2012, not a few new hotels opened in Kiev. Among such hotels this is one of the best from the view of cost effectiveness. Though Its location is not centre of the city, staffs are very friendly, room is clean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTKMKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STatiana, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for finding time and warm words to write this review!
We'll be glad to welcome You again in CITYHOTEL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    63
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
39
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. After traditionally using the premier palace as my place of stay and subsequentally being treated very badly there, I thought I would try the city hotel to see if my experience could be improved. I was very impressed to say the least. This is a new hotel, so there are a few teething problems, none of which are that important. What IS important is that the staff are extremely tentative (especially the receptionists and especially Natalia). They listen when you give them tips and react to advise and requests with great willing and a desire to impress and service the customer properly.

The rooms are excellent. Modern and very spacious. The view if you get a balcony is amazing, the location great....BUT the most important aspect for me is value for money and the service. The Ukraine isn´t famous for its service (try fliying ukranian international!), but the city hotel and its staff break this trend and give you the sort of service and experience you would expect from a decent four star hotel.

If in Kiev, stay here....you won´t find a better place for location, service, room quality and overall satisfaction.....

See you soon city hotel! I will be back in three weeks!

David

Room Tip: Choose a high floor and ask for a balcony..makes all the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavideMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STatiana, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear David,

Thank you for finding time to write such a nice review! We appreciate your comments and help in our efforts to improve our services!
We are grateful for choosing CITYHOTEL for your stay in Kiev and we'll be delighted to welcome you in three weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestdale
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The room is modern, comfortable and reasonably spaceous, and the design has an executive feel to it. Very clean and new. Wifi worked well. Location was a little far from the main street, but there is lots of shops and coffee shops/restaurants near by so it isn't necessary to go far to get what you need. Price-wise, in comparsion to around the world, it is reasonable both for the room and for the food at the restaurant on 15th floor, but compairing to places locally, it would be in the middle to high range for room price and certainly expensive when it comes to the food. In summary, I liked it and would return.

Room Tip: Front door is tucked away so not apparent when looking from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qldbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STatiana, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you for finding time and pleasant words to write a review! We hope that CITYHOTEL will become your favourite place to stay in Kiev!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donetsk, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location, comfortable beds, friendly staff, very stylish and modern, realyy european services. great value for 4 hotel in KIev. I will stop at this hotel next time and will advise it to my friends.
The buffet breakfast is queite good. Reastaurant at 15th fool has nice views to the city.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors have very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natascha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STatiana, Director of Sales at CityHotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Natascha A,

Thank You for the review! We hope that CITYHOTEL will become Your favourite place to stay in Kiev!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Was visiting my friends in Kiev and couldn't stay at their house because of their little baby, who was continually crying. Needed to find a place in center. Though the hotel was pretty new, the level of service amazed me. Staff is friendly and ready to help you whenever needed. Rooms are great! Modern and smells good (no stinky diapers!). So, thanks to this hotel my visit to Kiev became nice and calm. If coming back to Ukraine in next few years (till my friends' kid grow up), will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STatiana, sales and marketing manager at CityHotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Helga ,

Thank you for your review and taking time to share your impressions of the hotel and Kiev with us. We are please to hear that you'll choose CITYHOTEL for accomodation during your next visit to Kiev. We'll be glad to welcome you in CITYHOTEL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annonay, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was my fourth time in Kiev in4 years. I have had since the last every time a hotel either from the 'bad' category or from the 'rip-off' category.
This one is the first which matches international standards at relatively acceptable price (but maybe the hotel is trying to attract new customers with a low price).
For €100/night with breakfast, for a hotel with fitness, in the centre and high quality it is a bargain in Kiev !
This hotel is less than 10 minutes by foot from the Opera house. It is in a quiet area (Kiev is a safe city even at night).
It opened in June 2012 just before the Euro football competition. Therefore all is brand new, including the staff.
I stayed 2 nights and here is my contribution to TripAdvisor:
Positives of the hotel:
- room well equipped. A room with all you need: confortable double (not twinned singles) bed, wifi for free, large shower and large bathroom with room for toiletries and A GOOD lighting for shaving. AC of course.
- the staff is very nice, English language skills are good but still in the learning phase of all the procedures and how to use equipements, hence was trying to be helpful but lade it at 90%
- a fairly good fitness room
- a restaurant with a great view on the city
Negatives:
- strangely the hanging bar in the cupboard is way too high. I think people below 1.65m will find it a bit of sport to reach the bar and hang anything. I am 1.87m and was just making it
- the safe operates in a very different way from Western models. Be careful how to program your own code (I had to call up for help and they sent the Safety officer to open the safe with key. I thought I had put my code but not)
- the breakfast is not a buffet service, but yet there are not enough guests to operate a buffet.
The quality is good, but service tends to be too slow. I do not like waste of time at breakfast. Would rather sleep more!
Breakfast costs, if not in the rate, UAH 100, plus another 50 hlyvna for the fruit juice.A bit expensive. Must be changed when the hoel will be better known.
- the housekeeping replenishes the shower gel but not the bottled water (2x50cl were complimentary upon arrival)

Overall a good find. Some mistakes due to the recent start but hopefully everything will work well when I return.

I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STatiana, sales manager at CityHotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank You for choosing CITYHOTEL for Your accomodation in Kiev!

Thank You for Your feedback. We have taken into account Your helpful comments and will do our best to eliminate all the inconveniences that You have experienced.

We hope that CITYHOTEL will become Your favourate place to stay in Kiev!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very nice new hotel in the centre of Kyiv, good equiped rooms and delicious breakfast. The hotel has restaurant on the 15th floor with wonderfull panorama view of Kiev! I can reccomend it as very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.3 mi away
Opera Hotel
Opera Hotel
#8 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#18 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kyiv
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staro Hotel
Staro Hotel
#16 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
2.0 mi away
ALFAVITO HOTEL
ALFAVITO HOTEL
#12 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityHotel

Property: CityHotel
Address: Khmelnytskoho Bohdana vul. 56 A, Kiev 01030, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CityHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITYHOTEL is situated in business, historical and diplomatic center of Kiev. The hotel offers 87 comfortable rooms with LED-TV, ergonomic workspace, Wi-Fi and direct local/international telephone connection in each room. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning system, mini-bars and mini-safes. CITYHOTEL - is a part of business lifestyle, modern technologies, fast and excellent service and reasonable prices. CITYHOTEL - is a restrained style along with elegance and comfort, functional design, individuality and refinement, cozy atmosphere and high class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your CityHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing