We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
7
6
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
7
6
3
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2016

The receptionist (She also works as a cleaner. She sleeps in the reception room at night.) was very Rude and Terrible.
She often yelled at guests without reason. She also often clicked her tongue to me. Because I could not understand Ukrainian language.
At last day ,She gave me the order to leave hostel in the early morning before checking out time, because she wanted to clean up for next guest.
Many mosquitos and cockroaches in my room.
Horrible and stupid to stay there.
Also on my last night I was bitten by Bedbugs клоп !
I strongly do NOT recommend this hostel.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank captainfutureJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

After a 5.5hr train day journey from Ternopil first class thankfully (but no wifi!grrrr) we arrived late at main station at 9. The enormous old waiting room (we were here 2006 & 9) had been converted into (separate) a pay waiting room, bookshop and cafe for free wifi ( just but a bottle of good dark beer for 20!) and sockets.

My friends found this on booking.com and had a kebab outside.
After negotiating the amazingly deep and decorated underground we arrived at the station, trapsed a couple of hundred yards using maps.me ap and found no signage at the location. In the dim distance up a path was a lit door with figures sitting.

Approaching it the vertical text 'domino' appeared. Inside we were greeted by a friendly blonde battkeaxe who spoke no English (still) but took the incredivley reasonable sum of 330 (£10) from us and showed us 3 men a very clean quad room 102 in the corner, double aspect.
It was surprisingly quiet hostel overnight. We caught up with Internet stuff on their good wifi and crashed out, ignoring the no doubt closed bars locally). We slept well. Up at 09:30. Internet and clean loos and showers quick as checkout at 11 :-(. Must go now!

Double aspect is a bright morning in the room!

The battleaxe keeps the place well run obviously! No nonsense!

A cheerful good morning (helped by an assistant).

Off we go!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank MikeLondonSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

great hostel, really good price, clean and such a shock as i have never stayed in one before and i would and will be staying there again if i return to kiev, also i would like to thank the staff for there effort in helping us with all our small problems

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clambo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent three nights here in May 2013 with 8 friends. This is a typical hostel, with rooms for up to 10 people, bathrooms outside the room. If you are looking for accomodation of this type, Domino Hostel is an excellent choice.

The hostel is perfectly clean, and has a large kitchen + community space, with fridge and microwave, as there is no catering service available.

Unfortunately the lack of English knowledge is quite common is Ukrain, and this hostel is no exception, so it helps a lot, if someone in your group speaks some Ukrainaian and Russian. Still, the service is friendly and they are really trying to help you in any situation. Also, 24/7 reception, which means arriving late from sightseeing or a party in no problem.

Will stay there again is visiting Kiev in the future.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoltan_314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hostel is located pretty close to the city centre near Lukianivska metro station.

We found place to sleep here during the May Day, when all other hostels, hotels and even apartments were occupied.

The staff was nice and helpfull. The building is clean and new, and it's situated in the middle of the quarter far from street noise.

There are lockers, fast wi-fi, outlets, table and several chairs in the rooms. In the kitchen you may cook food or rest.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandr Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews