We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poignant reminder to a dark period in history”

Ranked #60 of 497 things to do in Kiev
Attraction details
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A poignant reminder to a dark period in history”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

On our way to the Lavra complex, we came across this memorial & museum. In the 1930s, a man-made famine caused starvation to many Ukrainian families. The memorial is tall and beneath is the museum which shows photos & film of the Holodomor. The regime insisted the farmers gave practically all of their crops to the Soviet union, leaving families to starve. Outside the museum is a statue of a little girl holding 5 stalks of corn. So poignant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cybertraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Its a must in Kiev.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Four times man made famine within 50 years and most of us never heard about it. It located on the high shores of the river Dieper and thus with a wonderful view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FlemmingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Moving, Poignant, this should not be missed.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

On a business trip having some time on my hands I was directed by locals to view this, I am glad I did. A lot is documented about other atrocities across the ages however we don't know a lot about this as it was suppressed during Soviet occupation (at one time it was a crime to discuss).
This is a chilling reminder of what suffering a nation can be subjected to. With great respect to other atrocities I found this on a par with the holocaust. I was emotionally shocked, who couldn't be. This is very respectfully documented, the atmosphere is something that must be experienced I challenge anyone not to be emotionally attached during the visit. The above ground memorial is poignant, but the underground museum is a fabulous testament to the suffering they endured
Other attractions appear further up in popularity however this as I say is a must. To thank the colleagues who recommended I took them out to dinner and paid for the meal.....they were almost offended as I was a guest in their country. The following morning I was presented by one of the guys a doll made from offcuts of material made by hand the previous evening by his mother. It was stuffed with grain seeds. It represented the past in that there was nothing more valuable that a person could give as a gift as a doll filled with seeds. The seeds represented the ability to plant and survive under such extreme conditions. I regard it as a treasure and a gift of true friendship and gratitude. The Ukrainians are a great people who suffered horrendously at the hands of occupying forces. They respect the past and remember those who suffered. As say a must visit memorial. It wasn't that long ago in history terms that this took place. Thank God we have moved on as a race!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Quinny_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unpretentious but impressive”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Sculpture of the little starving girl as well as the museum itself are quite modes in size, but really beautiful.
Especially as compared to the huge but ugly statues of the nearby soviet war Memorial.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zakhar_Kyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A must see. Moving, emotional, artfully conceived.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The memorial and museum commemorates 3 famines which were created by occupying powers the one in 1932-32 claimed the lives of 10 million in one year. In this year, Stalin exported confiscated grains to the West.

The memorial above is very movingly conceived. A haunting statue of a four year old girl with the eyes of an adult meets you at the entrance

Below ground is a well conceived museum.

We engaged an English speaking tour guide. Was well worth it

Step out of the museumn to a level which overlooks the dnipro river, large stone facades hold the names of famine victims.

Moving, thought provoking, does not make it possible to view Stalin nor Lenin with anything but contempt.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank roxygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum “The Memorial in Commemoration of Famines’ Victims also viewed

 

Been to National Museum “The Memorial in Commemoration of Famines’ Victims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing