We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its fine but not 3 star in the uk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Premier Hotel Lybid
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed July 10, 2012

the rooms can get a little to warm at nights unless you have the ac on full and you cant sleep i you do but apart from that the rooms were fine, water pressure in the shower was good as was the temp of the water. beds are comfy but they occasionally ran out of double duves so i had a single no major problem...if your sleeping on your own. the bar was a little overpriced at 35 locals a beer where most other bars were serving at 20-25. this may have somthing to do with the strip club built into the hotel and call girls in the bar area, but you never know. fine for a few friends but i wouldnt recomend a family holiday here. kiev yes just find a different hotel if you have children.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 355 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Spent 7 nights here from July 2 to July 9 for an average of $70 per night.

This is a solid but in no way magical hotel. Reasonably good value.

The air conditioning worked (thank god) and my room was tidy.

It's located about a 15 or 20 minute walk from "the action," ie the nice central part of Kiev that has most of the sites you'll want to see. I like walking, so this was pleasant, and the walk into the center is nice if you hook one street north off of the big boulevard the hotel is on.

If you don't like walking, cabs are cheap in Kiev, or there is a subway stop about a 10 minute or less walk from the hotel, as well as the tram terminal. The trams are great if you want to get off the beaten path; most aren't air conditioned, a few are.

The breakfast buffet was enormous and pretty tasty. It was about $12. The restaurant and the hotel in general are pretty grim, in terms of interior design, as I suspect many hotels in Kiev are, but it wasn't nasty.

PROBLEMS

The mattress. Half of the mattress was ok, but the other half was super-saggy. If I'd come with my fiancee we would have probably needed to change rooms.

No hot water in shower!! Actually I had it for 2 nights, but then nothing. This sucked. Hotel desk said this was a district-wide problem, and that it's a seasonal issue. My friend staying at the Raddison Blu had hot water, although maybe she was in a different district. I also read elsewhere online, somewhere, that they do shut off hot water in parts of Kiev in parts of the summer.

The staff in general were helpful, warm and friendly like many people in Kiev. They got me to and from the airport without any glitches, but do not rely on them for tourist info; one of them booked me a cab to a book store that was in a different country. I showed her the map on my iphone, and ... long story but the bookstore was in the Czech Republic.

The last note: it looked like there were two prostitutes in the hotel bar, and it also looked like there was a some kind of shady second bar attached to the hotel. I poked my head in and just saw two or three women in a very cramped entrance area, I didn't go any farther. I'm not a prude or anything, and none of this really freaked me out ... I'm not even positive the two women were prostitutes, but that was the vibe I got. This is also probably going to happen in other hotels in Kiev. In general the hotel felt very safe, there were always a couple of male staff members keeping an eye on things in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I used the Lybid hotel for a short weekend stay in Kiev. Hotel was very well priced compared to others in the city and it's location is good. It takes around 20 minutes to walk to the main central part of Kiev or a taxi will take less than 5 minutes for a small price.

The hotel is quite basic, rooms are small but contain all you need for a short break and are clean. Views from the higher floors are good and the rooms are very light with huge windows. Staff were very polite and helpful and I'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Kiev who doesn't want to spend big money on their hotel.

Room Tip: I had a high floor facing the back of the hotel and had a great view of the square behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Kind of torn over whether to give the Lybid 3 or 4 stars. In reality it is a bit of a dump, but the staff were very friendly, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Location is very handy for the train station (about 10 mins walk) but it's a little further to main sights of Kiev (taxi or two stops on the metro). Wifi through-out the hotel and a reasonable breakfast.

Kiev is not a city where it's easy to find western standard accommodation outside of 5 star luxury. Lybid is probably one of the best mid-range options around.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Peter925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was my first time visiting Kiev/Ukraine - for the Euro2012 tournament - and through ignorance and the BBC/Daily Mail & some of the other reviews my expectations were low for both Kiev & the Lybid. I am pleased to report that my expectations on both fronts were exceeded. The Lybid is a solid 3 star hotel, which is located in a good area only 3 metro stops away from the centre (Vokzalna metro station, which is next to the main train station, is approx 5 mins walk from the hotel) or a 25 minute pleasant walk.

Initial impression of the hotel are good: its an imposing building on Peremohy Square, I was greeted by a receptionist who spoke English very well and check-in was smooth. The rooms are fairly basic, but clean & comfortable with an adequate bathroom (except that the shower hose was not long enough to stretch to the head support on the wall). Free WiFi works well, with only the odd signal drop.

The bar stays open very late (at least to 4.30am from personal experience) & has a pool table. I found all the staff in the hotel very helpful, apart from the bar staff who were frankly rather surly and almost seemed to resent our presence: the bar ran out of beer, but they would not bring beer from the restaurant, we had to go to the restuarant to get it. And yes, there are working girls sometimes hanging around, but ignore them & they will ignore you. Friends who were staying at a different hotel wished they had booked the Lybid.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor if possible, as its a busy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartinPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

In all, for a city with expensive hotels, Hotel Lybid is a not a bad choice all in in all. The room was clean and reasonably spacious, free wifi and the receptionists are helpful and have good english. The location is not too bad, if you're a backpacker you can walk to the main station in less than seven minutes like me! The not so good points are it's frankly quite gloomy inside, the air con in room was underpowered and oh you will get solicited by the strippers who sit in the hotel bar if you're a bloke either on your own or in a group. It happens in this part of the world, it didn't really bother me but it may bother some people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rooinek63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Was not sure what to expect, but the room and facilities were very clean. Everything worked as it should.

The self service buffet breakfast was excellent in our opinion.

Easy to get to from Railway station, walking distance from Metro stations and Opera House, which was very cheap by western prices.

Room Tip: We stayed on one of the upper floors, so not much external noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicol05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
4.5 mi away
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#63 of 112 in Kiev
42 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Hotel Complex Tourist
0.4 mi away
Express
Express
#56 of 112 in Kiev
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lukyanovsky
Hotel Lukyanovsky
#70 of 112 in Kiev
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Kiev City Center
1.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 112 in Kiev
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Lybid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Lybid

Address: Peremohy pl. 1, Kiev 01135, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: $33 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Hotel Lybid 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Premier Hotel Lybid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lybid Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing