We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is for 'location' only travelers”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ukraine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ukraine
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Kiev
Birmingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This hotel is for 'location' only travelers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Hotel Ukraine is in a great location. Period. That is the most important and one of few positive comments that I have regarding this hotel.
The positive: Location. Clean rooms. Fresh towels. Soap and shampoo provided. Breakfast provided in the hotel restaurant (upstairs) was good.
There was a definite feeling of being 'unwelcome' by the hotel staff. The woman who worked the front desk during most days, was absolutely hateful. For any question or request, she consistently answered me with a firm 'no' (in Russian) - most times before I ever got the question out of my mouth. The other ladies at the desk would then look guiltily at me - and then look down, as if they wanted to help but dared not cross this woman.
There is no food available in the hotel, as the food kiosk in the lobby was empty and unplugged, and you are told that the water is not safe to drink in the hotel. The restaurant that used to occupy the ground floor of the hotel, with access to the lobby, has been replaced by a strip club - complete with a red neon sign in the lobby - a beacon for those looking for whatever good time you can get in such a situation. The lobby is filled during the late hours with 'working ladies' who come to meet groups of businessmen who are apparently coming in for 'dates'. As there were no other lounges or places to gather, and the only internet access was available in the lobby, our group would meet there and watch with awe, the parade of platinum blonde 'entertainers', while we were trying to work or send emails.
The one key to each room must be used to lock the door - even from the inside while in the room - if you leave, you must leave the key with an attendant who sits on each floor to collect them. This made leaving the room very tricky if you were coming and going - leaving someone else locked in the room, and was an obvious hazard regarding 'safety' or egress should it be necessary.
The beds might have been the most uncomfortable of any that I have slept on in any country. They might have had about the same comfort as a tatami mat on the floor.
One of our group members was confronted by a 'police officer' outside of the hotel at night, who demanded money in a forceful manner.
I think that anyone should look for other trip advisor reviews for other local accommodations in this area, and try for a better experience for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    289
    225
    69
    40
See reviews for
61
129
173
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Hotel Ukraina is а very old Hotel, it was the Hotel Moscow before 1990 :) The location is absolutely the best, right on the independence square, close to the Subway. All main attractions are within few minutes and that is the only reason this place is still open, If you are looking for good service and five star luxury it is not for you. It is super basic at most a 3 star, it is old and run down despite being renovated,it still has a majestic feel to it. Breakfast is the same you would expect at most motels, it will not leave you starving. Ukrainian bread is very delicious.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Booked the hotel because of its location and fame.First of all due to the riots it costed me 100 bucks from railway station to hotel.If the frontdesk staff was cheerful and helpful it would have been great.I booked a standard room but it doesnot have even a kettle or bathrobes (I expected those being a 4 star!!).The breakfast was not at all satisfactory to me.Owing to the current situation and camps located in Maydan , when you get out of the hotel the atmosphere is kind of disturbing with all smoke and protestants around.The room didnot keep up its standards.However the view of the city from the room was my only relieft.Overall,not a value for money option for me.

Room Tip: Higher the floor better the view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marickar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kiev hotels

London
Level Contributor
234 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Hotel Ukraine has a fantastic location - right on Independence Square (which at the moment is occupied by protesters but it won't always be that way). You can walk to the Old Town and pretty much anywhere in central Kiev. On Sundays the main drag is pedestrianised and wonderful for people watching and shopping on a long stroll.

The hotel itself is very reminisent of places that I stayed in Moscow in the 1980s. It is big, Stanlinist in architechture and interior decor.

Checkin took half an hour. The staff were pleasant enough and spoke English - it was just slow. I was asked to pay in advance which was fine as I was there for a conference couldn't have escaped early even if I had wanted to.

My room was huge with state of the art 1970s furniture and television. I never did manage to get the tv to work so I couldn't tell you if it had a good choice of channels or not.

The bathroom was blah but not nearly as awful as some of the previous reviewers seem to have had. It was clean, the shower was surprisingly excellent with hot water (lots of it) and water pressure. Just be careful when you shower as the bath tap is a bit unusual and sticks out about a foot into the tub. I had a couple of black and blue marks from forgetting about it.

Breakfast is great if you like Russian breakfast - lots of herring, kasha, sour cream and cabbage salad. I am of Eastern European decent and love a breakfast like that, A lot of my colleagues found it odd or awful depending on who they were.

We had a couple of meals in the restaurant as well. Decipering the menu was a bit complex but the food that came was hot, well made and very tasty. One again - stick to the local stuff as that is what they do best. Some but not all of the restaurant staff speak English.

The lobby at night is a bit of shock. One one side is the "Best Errotic" show in Kiev - at least that is what the sign says - I gave it a miss. On the other side you find women working and I don't mean the hotel staff. I found that if I ignored what was going on in the lobby it equally ignored me.

If you want to get out for something a bit less local in the way of food there is a shopping centre a two minute walk away and tons of other places to eat on the main street.

Maybe because I was in the Soviet Union in the 80s I was less than excited by the Ukriane's back to the USSR feel but it was clean and safe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

A lot written up about the location. It's convenient.
Rooms - basic.
Front desk - very helpful, accommodating and cheerful.
Security - everywhere.
Breakfast - come early, they tend to run out of tables, chairs and food.

The only concern was with the black spot on the bathroom wall. It was either aged and rubbed off paint on the bathroom tiles or mold (did not try to test it :)).

Room Tip: Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

It's an older style hotel, but as you'll be out and about sampling the delights of Kyiv, that does't matter.

There is a not a better view available in the city, day or night, in my opinion - so make sure you ask for a room at the front.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EL_dEL_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Not the best hotel, but a good base for a couple of days in Kiev. Rooms were very dated with small dated bathrooms. But as has been mentioned for a couple of days in Kiev I would recommend this just because of the location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
1.3 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#18 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
0.2 mi away
Dnipro Hotel
Dnipro Hotel
#49 of 110 in Kiev
3.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cosmopolite Hotel
Cosmopolite Hotel
#8 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ukraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ukraine

Property: Hotel Ukraine
Address: 4 Institutska Street, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev > Lypky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ukraine 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 371 renovated guest rooms, four-star Hotel Ukraine is a 14-storey skyline icon located in the heart of downtown Kiev and is just steps away from all major attraction. Staying in one of our rooms you will have the most fabulous views of Maidan (Independence Square) and Khreschatyk. All major events in the capital happen on the main square of the country, so you will always be in the center of all events in Kiev. Hotel Ukraine is a highlight of the capital. We have had numerous celebrities and foreign dignitaries as our guests. If you are staying with us you have a chance to accidentally catch a glimpse of well-known officials, national and foreign stars, diplomats, actors, etc. Location isn't everything though - high quality rooms, all the necessary amenities and facilities, dedicated service and friendly atmosphere are essential for providing guests with an enjoyable stay. And we are glad to offer our conference facilities for those who need to take care of business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ukraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern Ukraina Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing