We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated hotel - great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ukraine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ukraine
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Kiev
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dated hotel - great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Not the best hotel, but a good base for a couple of days in Kiev. Rooms were very dated with small dated bathrooms. But as has been mentioned for a couple of days in Kiev I would recommend this just because of the location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    288
    224
    69
    40
See reviews for
60
129
173
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week, picked the hotel purely based on the location (which is excellent) The hotel must have been grand in the old days of communism but I'm afraid that has long gone, but it was nice to stay and get the feel of the old USSR. Room was clean and not too bad really. Breakfasts were the same everyday and the staff were a bit miserable but I'm not going to put this hotel down totally as I still had a nice stay with excellent views across the city.
I would rather stop in that hotel than a brand new hotel simply for the old USSR feel :-).

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobArmstrong666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We wanted to try a "typical" hotel so reading the reviews we choosed the Ukraine. Standars are far away from european 4* hotels but the atmosphere is very nice. Location is just perfect, on the main street and walking distance from all the main attractions and the river side.
Rooms size is good but bathrooms are small, everything is clean and in good conditions. Breakfast room was excellent, facing the square and with a big choice of traditional local food and also more european food. Staff was average with an acceptable level of english.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Booked through British Airways Holidays and got real value for monty. Hotel is in a fabulous location in Kiev (it overlooks the entire city centre).
Was travelling alone and had booked a single room - got a double room with brilliant views over the city. Room was clean, and easily worth 4 stars. Check-in was quick (check-out even quicker), there were plenty of staff around to assist should you need. Reception staff english very good and had no communication problems. Was there 2 nights and only criticism is my room was not cleaned. I left the hotel at 09:00 to go sightseeing with a friend, returned at 5 and room not made up. Within minutes a maid knocked on the door to ask if I wanted room made up No big deal but a little surprised. Breakfast was a good standard.
Oh and despite the central location it was very quiet inside hotel - would stay here again!
I had checked Trip Advisor and read comments, however I got quick service and was not asked to leave my passport behind desk! Also their exchange rate was the same as the banks - a bonus!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BTCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was my first experience of Kiev and upon arrival, it was difficult not to be impressed by the hotel's imposing position overlooking a Central Square. Upon entering, the lobby area was also quite grand, but already, the rather tired interior was starting to undermine the impressive exterior. It was definitely a case of faded grandeur. My room was on the third floor and was extremely basic, with the fabric and furniture appearing well used. The hallways running along each floor are stark and very dark, and despite someone from the hotel sitting at desk on each floor, I didn't feel safe. The breakfast was even worse that the rooms. I cannot recall a less appetising breakfast and I have travelled extensively. I was reduced to eating toast and jam (the only one available) on most mornings. The staff also appeared to lack even basic customer service skills. Overall, not a pleasurable experience, which is in contrast to the city, which I enjoyed very much. But next time, I definitely will not stay at the Hotel Ukraine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_Haigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kiev hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great position right in the middle of Kyiv overlooking the independence square. On arrival at the hotel you walk into this gorgeous foyer, we approached the desk and waited and waited for someone to finally attend to us even though there where 3 women sitting behind the desk having a chat, we walked to the elevator through a beautiful walkway and down the corridors could see wooden doors to each room it really did look impressive. When the elevator stopped at the 4th floor ours boy was it a different story, old carpet which looked dirty and the doors in this corridor looked old and tired no wooden doorways here. When we approached our door it took us at least 5 mins to get the key to work in the door finally we opened it and walked into the shabbiest room I have ever seen in my years of travelling, the carpet was old and worn the bathroom was awful there was mould and crud in the corners of the shower/bath. The bed was very uncomfortable. Our first night here was the opening of the restaurant which was directly below us so load music pumped into our room until 11pm, it was muggy in the room but you couldn't open the window or the music from downstairs was even loader. Breakfast isn't open until 7am which in my opinion is to late as there are no coffee making facilities in your room if you rise early as we did as we had a tour you can't get a coffee anywhere. I could go on and on about the things I didn't like about this hotel but I don't have enough room all I can say is I would never stay here again and would pay the extra to stay somewhere else, the staff are unfriendly and our room was horrible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz08j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The North
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Kyiv was a very interesting place to visit: especially seeing as I could not read Cyrillic or speak Russian/ Ukrainian. Thus I found the hotel quite difficult to find from the train station and was forced to hire an expensive taxi. Upon arrival at the hotel there was a 'wow factor', as it was situated on a hill over Independence Square - ideal for visiting many tourist attractions, everything was within a reasonable walking distance.

The hotel staff were most pleasant, speaking good English and happy to help with any questions/problems that I had.

The hotel lobby is pleasant, although families should probably note that there is a connecting strip club (ie. the strip club can be accessed from the hotel lobby). The hotel has an interesting history, construction began under Stalin's leadership, with the intent of making Kyiv a showpiece city of the USSR, however upon his death Khruschev ordered construction to stop, this means the hotel is missing several levels.

The rooms are perhaps a little dated, but I actually felt that they were done rather nicely, and were certainly very comfortable. My only complaint would be that the advertised Wifi was almost non-existant, it was very frustrating to check my flight details.

The breakfast was very Russian influenced, which could be a problem for some who are only comfortable with English cuisine (I found it quite nice personally).

I would recommend this hotel if you are visiting Kyiv.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
1.3 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#18 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#14 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
0.2 mi away
Dnipro Hotel
Dnipro Hotel
#48 of 110 in Kiev
3.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cosmopolite Hotel
Cosmopolite Hotel
#8 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ukraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ukraine

Property: Hotel Ukraine
Address: 4 Institutska Street, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev > Lypky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ukraine 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 371 renovated guest rooms, four-star Hotel Ukraine is a 14-storey skyline icon located in the heart of downtown Kiev and is just steps away from all major attraction. Staying in one of our rooms you will have the most fabulous views of Maidan (Independence Square) and Khreschatyk. All major events in the capital happen on the main square of the country, so you will always be in the center of all events in Kiev. Hotel Ukraine is a highlight of the capital. We have had numerous celebrities and foreign dignitaries as our guests. If you are staying with us you have a chance to accidentally catch a glimpse of well-known officials, national and foreign stars, diplomats, actors, etc. Location isn't everything though - high quality rooms, all the necessary amenities and facilities, dedicated service and friendly atmosphere are essential for providing guests with an enjoyable stay. And we are glad to offer our conference facilities for those who need to take care of business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ukraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern Ukraina Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing