We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ukraine. About what you would expect”
Review of Hotel Ukraine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ukraine
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Typical Soviet style hotel. About 2 pieces of furniture in the room. SHower barely worked. A lady sat in the hallway to hand out towels and sheets. They charged extra for an additional person in the room. The location is good and the room was clean. Breakfast was ok.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank StrabDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 882 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is the great location at independence square. The room itself is large but the bed is uncomfortable. Bathroom has new facilities but poor water pressure and not very hot. There is no safe in the room either. Breakfast is ok but not great and if you decide to eat at their restaurant for dinner they only except cash. No cards accepted. Food there is nice but you only get very small portions and its way over priced.
Beware of the taxi drivers that wait in the lobby for a fare. They will charge you 100 UAH for a ten minute drive to the train station. Negotiate a price first.. should only cost around 40 UAH. Fare to the airport should be 230-250 UAH and not 300-400 they like to charge foreigners.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozyMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed in the hotel rather often in 2000-2010 and just a couple of time since then. The main point about is the location: in front of Maidan, famous main square of the city. The Government quarter is behind the hotel with lots of beautiful historical buildings and restaurants. With the hotel you never now what to expect, the staff could be great one day, but others behaviour themselves perfectly according to the worst Soviet standards. Rooms are spacious, could be different as well: renovated or soviet-style. On weekends the area nearby is very noisy, so it's better to live on the upper floor.

Room Tip: Mandatory: ask for a room with Maidan square view, higher lours are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GennB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times now, over the last two years. After construction on10th complete, I stayed on 10th floor. I am a contractor, and I must say the workmanship was impecable. The room was completely redone. Water was hot, new bathroom fixtures, new carpet, light fixtures, room clean, bed and all furniture new. Two thumbs up.
PS don't expect first class service from employees who average $300 per month. Try to make an effort to speak their language and they will soften their attitude.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms, rooms facing away from Independence Square are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardHkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel's position is superb - right at the end of Independence Square. That is the only advantage that I can think of.

The lobby is nice, and the breakfast is substantial, although not particularly exciting. But beyond that facade the hotel is not of a standard with other international hotels (nor, even, many smaller, family-run places). The rooms are spare, with too-narrow beds. I stayed for two nights and not once did I get any hot water in the shower or from the washbasin taps. The bathroom was pretty shabby and the main bedroom not much better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Krateros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The very limited good news: good location and decent sized surprisingly quiet rooms. As for the rest: no hot water in 2 days, a leaky air con unit leaving the cheap carpet smelling like a damp dog, broken shower attachment in an old bathroom, rationed soap, shampoo and towels, tv that didn't work, dodgy plumbing, stained sheets, French doors jammed shut, cheap furniture. You have to pay for wi-fi in the lobby and the coffee in the lobby bar is well overpriced. Breakfast buffet was average. A night is bearable but if you are staying longer in Kiev look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice location, very central with walking distances from most of the best visiting tips in KIev. The rest is simply embarrassing for a 4-star hotels. Rooms are large but with cold athmosphere, basic furniture, synthetic carpet from the 70's, incredible small bathroom with old bathtub, cleanless is just more then an option. Service makes you feel being in an old film from the communism era. Kiev is a such nice city and Ukrainians are so lovely that do not deserve an hotel like this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merengue70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.2 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Senator Maidan
Senator Maidan
#3 of 112 in Kiev
309 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Kiev City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#16 of 112 in Kiev
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel
3.7 mi away
Cosmopolite Hotel
Cosmopolite Hotel
#14 of 112 in Kiev
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ukraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ukraine

Address: 4 Institutska Street, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev > Lypky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: $56 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ukraine 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 371 renovated guest rooms, four-star Hotel Ukraine is a 14-storey skyline icon located in the heart of downtown Kiev and is just steps away from all major attraction. Staying in one of our rooms you will have the most fabulous views of Maidan (Independence Square) and Khreschatyk. All major events in the capital happen on the main square of the country, so you will always be in the center of all events in Kiev. Hotel Ukraine is a highlight of the capital. We have had numerous celebrities and foreign dignitaries as our guests. If you are staying with us you have a chance to accidentally catch a glimpse of well-known officials, national and foreign stars, diplomats, actors, etc. Location isn't everything though - high quality rooms, all the necessary amenities and facilities, dedicated service and friendly atmosphere are essential for providing guests with an enjoyable stay. And we are glad to offer our conference facilities for those who need to take care of business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ukraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern Ukraina Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing