We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, a positive experience”
Review of Hotel Ukraine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ukraine
Ranked #26 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The location is outstanding at the Independence square with its large underground shopping center and metro. We, like most guests, had a view from the room over the roofs of central Kiev. We had a little suite of 3 rooms (at a budget price) with windows in 3 directions. You can still feel old Soviet times in the hotel, but with a modern ukranian human fouch. .The shower was probaly not renovated since the sixties, The shower curtain rail was made of old partly rusty waterpipes. But everything worked well, and the room was comfortable. The cleaning staff tried to make a good job, but the shower was a hopeless challenge. If you are looking for tasteful elegance, this is not for you, but such hotels are quite boring. Here you can feel some of the history! Renovation was ongoing in the lobby, and in some years this probably will become an expensive luxury hotel among others. -The breakfast was adequate, but not very impressive, -especially the bread was dull. We think the hotel was good value för the money, but you must have the right expectations!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingemar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 872 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Good location, nice rooms, bed not super comfortable. Good breakfast variety. Public areas need help though. I didn't like the idea that there was girlie show in the club in the hotel. Room had fridge and balcony which were nice

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whalewatcher09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have now stayed 3 times in Kiev. And for the price you cannot beat this hotel. My room was newly decorated with Wifi. The view was amazing from my room as well. Location is also great. I would definitely stay here again because of the price. This is not a five star hotel by any means but the prices for the intercontinental and others with all of the services are at least 3 times as much as here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Hotel very old but clean and maintained,The room ok but little problem with hot woter ( must to wait 10 minute,,, ) I got free Wi-Fi in my room,
Breakfast was ok , hotel staff not bed. No spa only sauna.
Locaition is one of the best in Kiev.

Room Tip: To ask about room with free Wi Fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dov48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stay Away!!!!!!
The worst possible scenario. Just UGLY!
Security guys with faces of former KGB agents were busy by not lettiing in the "wrong " ladies and selling they own prostitutes for 200$ per hour.Breakfast was like in prison,bread was like 3-4 days old,scramled eggs made on diesel .....for 100 euro hotel???????? Gosh??????
like 20 years ago in soviet era ................nothing changed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dont even think about getting close to this So called HOTEL?!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozzy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The location of the hotel couldn't be better, in the Independence Square (Maidan Nezhalezhnosti), near the subway station and a lot of restaurants at Khreschatik.
The building looks quite old, but the rooms are renovated, so it wasn't so bad, althought do not expect western standards, especially cleanliness in the bathroom could be better.
The staff was the worst I have ever met in hotels. They are feeling like 'the master' there and you are the petitioner. I think it's a habit taken from communism times, but it is really annoying.
Breakfast was quite simple, better to eat somewhere nearby.
To sum up - an average hotel with not so good staff but in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel is correct, nice suite on the top of the hotel with the best view of Kiev !!!
Ask for the room 1406.
The location is top, 1 minute to walk to Krishatik !
You have a nice 2 bathroom, a large bedroom and a small living room, but the view is just incredible, day and night.
The breakfast is good and you have choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top and also with view on the independance square !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champagnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.2 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Kiev City Center
0.3 mi away
Senator Maidan
Senator Maidan
#3 of 112 in Kiev
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#16 of 112 in Kiev
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dnipro Hotel
Dnipro Hotel
#65 of 112 in Kiev
462 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cosmopolite Hotel
Cosmopolite Hotel
#12 of 112 in Kiev
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ukraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ukraine

Address: 4 Institutska Street, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev > Lypky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
Price Range: $54 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ukraine 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 371 renovated guest rooms, four-star Hotel Ukraine is a 14-storey skyline icon located in the heart of downtown Kiev and is just steps away from all major attraction. Staying in one of our rooms you will have the most fabulous views of Maidan (Independence Square) and Khreschatyk. All major events in the capital happen on the main square of the country, so you will always be in the center of all events in Kiev. Hotel Ukraine is a highlight of the capital. We have had numerous celebrities and foreign dignitaries as our guests. If you are staying with us you have a chance to accidentally catch a glimpse of well-known officials, national and foreign stars, diplomats, actors, etc. Location isn't everything though - high quality rooms, all the necessary amenities and facilities, dedicated service and friendly atmosphere are essential for providing guests with an enjoyable stay. And we are glad to offer our conference facilities for those who need to take care of business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ukraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern Ukraina Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing