We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“President”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“President”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in December 2011. The foyer and downstairs bar is absolutely fabulous. Food in the sushi bar is excellent and service is great. Overall a good hotel well placed for the city. Rooms were old fashioned from the soviet era and there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room which was surprising for a supposed 5* hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the rear overlooking the Stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Hotel_Kiev, Head of Reservation Department at President Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Phil! We highly appreciate your taking time to share your experience of the recent stay at President Hotel with Tripadvisor community! We’d like to present our special compliments on behalf of the entire restaurant team who will be flattered to know the appreciation of their work. In 2011 we did have some old-fashioned rooms, but in 2012 we completely renewed our room base and now we offer our guests a brand new rooms with modern design and new set of high quality in-room facilities in full compliance with the latest European standards of 4 * hotels. As for the tea and coffee making facilities we offer the ones complimentary in Superior, Junior Suite and Suite rooms. In addition to the standard set of services all room categories except Standard rooms have a complimentary mini-bar, turndown service, free newspapers of your choice and 2 laundry items per day for free. These rooms are located on the upper floors of the hotel and have a lovely view of the newly renovated Olympic Stadium. Modern interiors of the restaurant and lobby, renovated rooms, delicious cuisine and central location are our key strengths to date and we are very pleased that these are the items you mentioned in your review. We are looking forward to take pleasure in welcoming you back to President Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    161
    98
    21
    20
See reviews for
8
39
33
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at President Hotel on business. Clean, modern rooms; above average breakfast; decently helpful front desk staff. Will stay here again when in town on business as it is close and convenient.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogue_Gent_612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Hotel_Kiev, Head of Reservation Department at President Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest! Thank you for taking time to share your positive experiences about your stay at President Hotel! We are truly glad you've enjoyed our room facilities and have taken to heart the cleanliness of the rooms, tasty food and service-minded employees. Your flattering feedback will be greatly inspiring for entire President Hotel team. We do hope to take pleasure in welcoming you back to President Hotel soon, not only on business matters but for the week-ends, especially in spring when Kiev is extremely charming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erd, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent 3 days in the President Hotel in Kiev during a business trip and we found it really OK. The rooms are clean and acceptably large. The hotel is placed in the centra of the city close to the headquarters of most of the large companies.
There is free of charge Internet and a good coffee shop near the reception. The coffee shop is quite enough for business discussions.
The restaurant is clean and nice, the cooking is good. There is a large choice of sushi available.
The minbar is good as well except for the drinking water. You will get daily 300 ml of water free of charge. If you order it from the room service or take it from the minibar it is quite expensive. I would suggest to take 1-2 liters of water with you before you check in.
The TV was not working in my room, but I didn't missed it too much.

Compared to the local standards the hotel is really OK.

Room Tip: It is forbidden to smoke in the hotel. Smokers (like me) can get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Hotel_Kiev, Head of Reservation Department at President Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Szaki,
Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback about our property and the level of service you received during your stay. We always strive to deliver the highest level of service to each guest and make our business travelers feel like home. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by insufficient performance of the TV in your room and will address this issue to our housekeeping department to ensure a proper room inspection before every guest arrival. Please, do not hesitate to address any issues you may face during your stay to the Front Desk, so that our professional team can promptly react to any problem or complaint and make your stay more enjoyable. Our housekeeping team always tries to supply guests with water at least twice during the day by refreshing complimentary bottles when the room is being cleaned and also during the turndown service in the evening. We sincerely hope to be the hotel of your choice for your next trip to Kyiv and will be very excited to have you back Mr. Szaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hotel president was renovated , the room very modern, clean and spacious.
free WiFi in hotel , professional employees, very good service in the lobby restaurant ( make good sushi and more ) and reception. hotel very very clean and comfortable.
Location is very central just 5 minutes walk to the main street khreshchtyak and more nice tourist places.
best value for money.

Room Tip: renovation room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dov48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Hotel_Kiev, Head of Reservation Department at President Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest! On behalf of entire President Hotel's team we would like to sincerely and wholeheartedly thank you for sharing your positive experiences and sustaining a good image of President Hotel with such a praising assessment! Your inspiring feedback will undoubtedly motivate us for further development and improvements to provide exclusive service exceeding your expectations. We sincerely hope that whenever you decide to visit Kiev again you will grant us an honor to be our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very nice place to stay,I had a coffee machine in my room which was free of charge and i was surprised to find out that mini bar was also included into the price. The only minor problem was the noise made by air conditioner

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KriGev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Hotel_Kiev, Reservation Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear KriGev! Thank you for taking time to give your flattering feedback to President Hotel! Indeed staying in superior rooms provides the guest with a number of pleasant advantages such as free mini-bar, coffee-machine in room, free daily newspaper at your choice, turndown service and free laundry of 2 items. Free early arrival and late check-out upon room availability would be a nice tip as well. We are sorry to learn you were incommoded by noisy air-conditioner which is actually an isolated occurrence for our central air-conditioning system. We truly hope you won’t refuse us a pleasure to welcome you back at President Hotel in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel several times during August- November 2012, staying in several different kinds of rooms, and enjoyed my stay there. I never had time to use the swimming pool but heard that it was fine.
The rooms were a good size, had comfortable beds (and they put a chocolate on one's pillow each night), and had good closet space as well as a place to hang up coats on the wall. During my last visits, I had a room that had a coffee maker, which I enjoyed.
The bathrooms were clean and pleasant, with a heating rail for towels, and very nice amenities. I always like to have a bathrobe and slippers.
The wall television was great (gave me a chance to watch the US election results) but the wireless internet was rather disappointing - except that it gave me an excuse to go downstairs to the restaurant in the lobby, which I liked very much.
The lobby restaurant, in addition to having charming staff, has a combination of sofas and tables, and comfortable chairs and tables, so you can sit and relax or sit and work, as the spirit moves you. There are plugs along the wall, so you can plug in your computer or mobile phone as you drink a latte or cappucino (both of which they do well).
There was no pressure from the staff, if I wanted to sit at a table and work and not drink coffee. Equally, they were happy to bring me a cappucino if I wanted.
I ate a number of meals in the lobby restaurant, and all of them were enjoyable. I ate dinner once in the downstairs restaurant and that was good, although a bit pricey.
Breakfast is a lavish spread, offering something for everyone, and you can pick up a copy of the Kiev News and other publications on your way in the door. You can eat European style, American style, or Ukrainian style - or a little of all three.
There is a bank machine and an exchange office in the lobby, and just down the hallway, there is a beauty salon - I got my hair cut there while I was in Ukraine, and was happy with the result.
The President Hotel is quite centrally located. It is not far to walk from there to the Maidan, and you can find a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance.
The Congress Hall, which hosts large events, is just outside the door at the back of the hotel.
We were first there in summer, and at that point, the hotel had an outdoor cafe where it was pleasant to sit in the sunshine. When the weather turns cooler, though, the outdoor cafe disappears til spring.
I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outsider222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Hotel_Kiev, Reservation Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear guest! On behalf of the President Hotel's team we would like to sincerely and wholeheartedly thank you for sharing your positive experiences with the community of Tripadvisor and sustaining a good image of President Hotel with such a detailed and complimentary review! We are very pleased that you are not the first time visiting our hotel and staying with us always involves only pleasant emotions and beautiful memories! Your inspiring feedback will undoubtedly motivate us for further development and improvements to provide exclusive service exceeding your expectations. I personally would be happy to book a room for you, whenever you decide to visit Kiev again. Please feel free to contact me directly by e-mail solonina@presidenthotel.com.ua. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed there during a conference and things worked well. The reception was very helpful. BUT when i left in a hurry I forgot one small items in my room and one in laundry. hen i asked witin 24 hours the were lost forwever. Nobody knew anything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlemmingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
1.1 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
ALFAVITO Hotel Kyiv
ALFAVITO Hotel Kyiv
#9 of 111 in Kiev
350 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kiev
Holiday Inn Kiev
#11 of 111 in Kiev
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 111 in Kiev
769 reviews
1.2 mi away
CityHotel
CityHotel
#20 of 111 in Kiev
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: Hospitalna vul. 12, Kiev 01601, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star President Hotel is located in the city centre, on a picturesque hill, just 7 minutes walk from Khreschatik street, the main street of Kiev, 5 minutes from Olmpiysky stadium, Sports Palace, Central Synagogue. President Hotel offers comfortable rooms, Wellness Centre, multifunctional conference halls and several restaurants and two banquet halls. President Hotel offers 221 guest rooms:• 195 Executive Single/DoubleTwin Rooms (22 sq.m);• 20 Junior Suites (38 sq.m);• 5 Suites (60 sq.m);• 1 Apartment (82 sq.m). Room amenities include:- desk and working area;- luggage table;- minibar;- two line telephone;- non-allergic bed linen and pillows;- bottled water;- European-style bedding;- ergonomic desk chairs;- individual climate control system;- in-room safety-deposit box;- LCD TVsets with satellite television and interactive TV;- electronic room key;- black-out curtains;- robes & slippers;- hairdryer;- tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing