We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zolotiy Dukat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zolotoy Dukat - CLOSED

Zolotoy Dukat
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
“Zolotiy Dukat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have droped into Zolotiy Dukat on a frosty day.It was our saving. A cup of tasty coffe and
delicious desserts were just we needed on this day. Atmosphere here is quite pleasent , cosy place with polite waiters , good musik . We have been in such cafe in Lviv , here is not worse.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nely S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Decadent Hot Chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had been doing some site seeing and were around St. Michael’s Square when my friend suggested that we stop at Zolotiy Dukat. The restaurant itself was cosy and crowded and made up of individual rooms with tables quite close together, so not much privacy. As it is a coffee and dessert place we weren't planning on staying that long, as we had other sites to see.

They had a showcase of desserts which included apple strudel which is one of my favs and a large assortment of coffee and teas, though my friend recommended I try the hot chocolate. Well the strudel was a disappointment very bland tasting, bereft of cinnamon and nutmeg I believe, but the hot chocolate made up for that in spades. OMG it was delicious and so thick you ate it with a spoon instead of sipping it. We ordered a different type each, my friends was white and dark chocolate and I ordered one that was orange and pink with dried plums as a garnish. I must say it was decadent and worth a trip to this restaurant. Zolotiy Dukat is apparently part of a chain of restaurants and can be found in Lviv and other Ukrainian cities also.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeAnneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Dessert place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This small coffee shop was definitely a great experience!
From the atmosphere and decoration to the items in the menu, this place definitely stands out among many other more traditional coffee houses.
They have a great selection of coffees, that can be made as espresso, ristretto, or americano. One item for example has its coffee beans covered in edible gold. Even though I cannot attest to the veracity of the claim, it definitely had an excellent taste.
In addition to pure coffee, they also offer their own selection of coffee based drinks and hot chocolates.
Finally, there is a decent selection of dessert items and chocolates, mostly traditional, but some specialties, that did not disappoint.
They had an english menu, however, it was definitely not as stylish as the one in Ukrainian.
The main weakness would be the service, which wasn't very friendly or helpful.

Overall, the experience was great, and I would definitely recommend a visit!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
169 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

attentive girls and welcomed staff. been there for a few coffee meetings but would recommend to other. thank you

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KievApartment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Those in Lviv are MUCH better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hot chocolate is good, decorations are nice but desserts are overpriced, coffee is average and staff is sluggish

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XeniaUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zolotoy Dukat also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing