We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of DREAM House hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DREAM House hostel
Ranked #1 of 384 Specialty Lodging in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Arrived here after a dubious taxi ride through the city wondering what we had let ourselfs in for!

Luckily met some guys who were living at the hostel and working in the city who showed us around and got to see its actually an amazing city.

Cafe is the hostel is great if not a little over priced but super convienient.

Made a lot of use of the TV and board games due to the freezing weather as we visited in January!

Room was small but fine, no lifts though so a long way up to the top (4th floor) with bags!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at DREAM House hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking you time and sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you liked our hostel, cafe and that our board games saved you during those freezing January days.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in Dream House hostel. Next time you should try to come in spring or summer, you will definitely like our city more than you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    57
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
31
110
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The staff here were amazing, but I have to say that overall I'm a bit disappointed after reading all the reviews. The rooms are clean and spacious, which is nice, but as a young, solo female traveler it is a bit uncomfortable to be in a room with men who are upwards of 45 years old. There seem to be a lot of local people staying here, and even a few who appear to live here, and a lot of groups or couples. So far I have not met any other solo travelers, and it is very difficult to meet people here in comparison to other hostels.

The kitchen is very nice, however, and a movie was played at night (only in Russian though-- not even with English or German subtitles). The room was very cold, though, and the beds a bit uncomfortable. The location is decent, and the bathrooms are clean. Although there are signs that say no smoking, it does not appear to be well enforced. The ventilations in the rooms are also not great, and there is a lot of general BO-smell throughout the rooms and the corridors, which is very offputting. The cafe is nice, but a bit pricey. This seems like one of the better hostels in Kyiv, but so far I'm not especially impressed. They also boast that there are nightly activities, like pub crawls, etc, but I did not see any evidence of this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NatalieSteinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at DREAM House hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Natalie,

thank you for taking your time to share your experience of staying at our hostel! Your feedback is very important for us as it helps to understand better what we have to pay more attention to. We are taking your review on board for constant improvement.
We hope to see you again in the further future at our hostel and promise to take into consideration all af your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice and cosy, friendly stuff and modern interieur- totally worth the money, but also not cheap compared to other hostels in kiev. Location is good and about 10min to walk to closest subway. Ran out of beer in the bar, which was the only thing to complain here :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhipseyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at DREAM House hostel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Philipp,
thank you very much for your feedback! We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations!
To satisfy your complaint we will provide you with a free beer your next coming : )
Hope to welcome you back in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dream house is a clean, simple, cheap accommodation in the heart of Kyiv's touristic quarter. It is actually located in Andrey's descent, walking distance from interesting, beautiful places.
I stayed in a private room with a bathroom en-suit. Everything was working ok and clean.
Do note: the private rooms are in the fourth floor without elevator.
Downstairs there is a small cafe/restaurant which is pleasant, but requires you to reserve place for the evening, as it is popular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OferP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at DREAM House hostel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Dream House! We will be glad to welcome you again. Now our cafe has a lovely summer terrace, you would definitely like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Located in the historic part of Kyiv (Andriivskiy uzviz - one of the oldest streets in the city) near Kontraktova Square (Metro Station: Kontraktova), Dream House Hostel is the largest and most modern hostel in the capital city. The hostel can accommodate more than 100 guests due to the state-of-the -art facilities on offer. One interesting fact about this hostel is that it is the only hostel in Kyiv that has its own bar - Druzi Cafe. The mutli-lingual staff are always more than willing to help out a traveller in need (the staff at the hostel speak Ukrainian, Russian and English). Furthermore, the staff are able to organise fun parties and events for you so you will not feel alone. This is one of the best hostels in the region.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor rooms in order to escape the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at DREAM House hostel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for such a great feedback! It's really pleasant to know that we met your expectations! Hope to see you again in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The best hostel I have ever stayed in.

The staff or 'Dream Girls' are fantastic and really seem to enjoy their work. They are knowledgable about Kiev and other cities in the Ukraine and are willing to offer advice and tips on where to go and what to do, however if you just fancy a chat to pass some time, they will also accommodate you.

The rooms are spacious, well equipped with individual lamps/plug sockets for every bed and free lockers. Fresh, clean sheets are provided as are towels, the later for a small deposit. The beds are extremely comfortable and despite mine being against the wall of an adjoining room, there was little to no noise transfer between rooms. All in all a good nights sleep.

The hostel it's self has been newly renovated to a high standared and is well looked after by maintainence and cleaning staff who appear to always be doing something. It is well equipped with a cafe/bar, I did not sample the offerings, however it was always busy and I heard no complaints. There is ample communal space to relaxed in with music played throughout the hostel giving it a relaxed, yet but fun vibe. There is fast free wifi available throughout, laptops with Internet access are also free along with a nice foosball table.

The many bathrooms and showers are kept very clean and stocked with paper, not common in all hostels, sometimes it's the small things that count.

The kitchen is well equipped, though the addition of an oven would be nice. There are, however a couple of microwaves, hobs, fridge/freezer, a toaster and kettle as well as ample storage, a large table for 10+, an LCD with loads of channels and large bean bags to hang out on. Free tea is also available on request,

If I had to be picky I would say the addition of hand towels, paper towels or an eco dryer in the toilets would be nice, a foosball that is actually round would also make me smile.

The location is great, 5 minutes walk from a metro station, which in turn is just two stops from independance square and at the bottom of the historical Andrew's descent, what more could you ask for?

Finally the price was great, I stayed here with my girlfriend, 3 nights in a 6 bed dorm cost us £45 total. It is possible to find cheaper, but not much and you certainly will not find better. They also offer discounts on long term stays for those language teachers out there.

In other words, If Carlsberg made hostels, Dream house would be it.

Room Tip: Pick what you like, no matter how many beds in the dorm they are spacious enough not to feel overcro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deaninmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at DREAM House hostel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the time on writing such a detailed and pleasant review! Your constructive suggestion about towels or dryers is very useful for us, thank you! We are looking forward tp welcoming you back in our hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend Enis spend 11 nights in Dream House Hostel in Kiev. Everything was absolutely spectacular. It is superbly clean and safe place with new interior. No doubt,hostel has a really friendly atmosphere inside like a family. Girls at reception help every guest with their needs. They are pretty experienced,knowledgeable and amazingly energetic. They respond you in any subject at anytime that you would like to know and discover.

Location of hostel just at the heart of Kiev with no more than few minutes walking distance to metro stop,main attractions,24-hour open shop and exchange office. Moreover,you have Druzi Cafe(extremely a cozy ambience) where you can have snacks,various beverages and unfortunately limited main courses which is not highly important who stay in short time period.

I am really thankful to Marina-Manager of Hostel who had created such an extraordinary team and atmosphere in a professional way.You are doing good work girls. Keep it up! I will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at DREAM House hostel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Emre,
thanks for such nice words. All the girls are saying you hi! Hope to see you soon and your friend should definitely teach us belly dancing!=))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Hotel Nivki
#57 of 111 in Kiev
82 reviews
Ambassador Plaza
#27 of 111 in Kiev
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Hotel Rus
#16 of 111 in Kiev
759 reviews
Lypky
Gar'is Hostel
Gar'is Hostel
#2 of 384 in Kiev
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DREAM House hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DREAM House hostel

Property: DREAM House hostel
Address: 2D Andriivskiy Uzviz, Kiev 04070, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 384 Specialty Lodging in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dream House Hostel and Bar! The atmosphere of happiness and life satisfaction, home warmness and positive emotions, kindness and hospitality - all that proceeds from our young, and suoer-friendly staff who are always ready to share with you their good mood!Perfect location of our hostel will allow you to be at the center of all the standing of your attention events. We are located in the historical part of Kiev - one of the oldest streets in the city. By five minutes walk - Kontraktova square and metro station. Around us there are lots of opportunities to spend time, both: cultural and nightlife. Detached building built in the 19th century and completely renovated in 2012, has all the necessary communications and modern new furniture.In Dream House we have 28 rooms which can accommodate 106 people. Rooms are presented in the following categories: 8 Bed Dorms(both mixed and room only for women), 6 and 4 Bed Mixed Dorms, Triple and Double Private Rooms (Superior Double Bed Privates have shower and toilet in the room), Single rooms. All guests can use the equiped kitchen of the hostel , where everyone can cook his/her own breakfast, lunch or dinner. For an additional fee you can enjoy breakfast in our Druzi cafe on the ground floor.We make stay in Dream House enjoyable and intense. Here you will learn how to combine the cultural program with crazy nightlife! Hotel guest computers are installed, as well as free Wi-Fi network all over the hostel. Our team will do everything to make your stay in Kiev passed under the sign "at home" and the minutes were spent with us became bright impressions, and a reason to return to Dream House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your DREAM House hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing