We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price not worth the place”
Review of Holiday Inn Kiev

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kiev
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

the executive room has minibar and costs almost double the std room....just for a minibar? STD finishing, one mirror only in the bathroom, yes there is a king bed option and 4 types of pillows...if you forget smtg you will find shower gel soap and lotion....what about toothbrush?

Staff speak excellent english and are really professional, as only H.inn can train in fact. Wifi is available free of charge.

Food is fresh made, thus expect some time for your order to land on your table.

Room Tip: if you want minibar, ask for executive rooms but be ready to pay for it. the 8th floor offers a nice...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007PPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsjm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear 007PPV

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We were happy to read that you found our staff professional, speaking excellent English and you appreciated our free WiFi.

If you had forgotten your toothbrush or any other regular wash bag item, we have these available through reception as part of our "Forget Something" standard. The single full wall mirror is also heated so does not steam up after using the shower, a standard that guests appreciate. A shaving mirror is also fitted for convenience.

Regarding the price for an Executive room. You should pay no more than 25 Euros more than a standard room on booking through our website www.holidayinn.com or hotel direct. Executive rooms have Mini Bars including some complimentary products. They also have upgraded toiletries, robes and slippers, iron board, iron and the rooms have the best views overlooking the city.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you when you are next in Kiev.

Best regards, John Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Kiev
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 342 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Quite new hotel, only few years old, so still in a spotless condition. You get what you expect from a Holiday Inn - so a trouble free check in, a clean and comfy bed with good selection of pillows as well as a spotless bathroom. The Wi-Fi is by the way free throughout the hotel.

Should anything negative be said about the room, it would be lack of an alarm clock, wall-mounted soap/shampoo (no selection of amenities), and poor sound proofing (goes both for neighbouring rooms as well as street noise). However these things are nothing which ruined my stay there.

Lastly, the breakfast - good selection of the "ususal suspects", so here as well this Holiday Inn has delivered to my expectations.

Overall, as mentioned in the title: a good value, compared to a.o. Radisson or President in Kiev. Usually 25-30% cheaper, and still a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsjm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Lunow

Thank you for writing and sharing your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that the hotel delivered your expectations of the brand and that you had a pleasant stay offering good value. Regarding the alarm clock there is an alarm call feature on the interactive TV and of course we can also offer a wake up service through the hotel reception.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kiev.

Best regards, John Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Spent 2 weeks there whilst on a business trip. It's very centrally located with friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are clean, comfy & of fair size. There's a safe in the room, free wifi, bottle of still water a day. All in all an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank rustler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsjm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear rustler16

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your 2 week stay in our hotel. We were delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful and you found our rooms, clean, comfy and a fair size.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future visit.

Best regards, John Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

First stay in the Holiday Inn (8 nights) on my 4th trip to Kiev and an excellent hotel. Usual high standard you would expect for this chain, especially for a new hotel which this is. Staff were great, from the manager to the house-keeping everyone was friendly and more than happy to help.
Hotel is in a great location, right down the street from resturants and bars, easy walk in to Kiev city centre and a metro station just down the road.
Will stay here on future visits to Kiev

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsjm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear GlobalMeerkat
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your 8 days with us and that you found all the team great. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on TripAdvisor and share your thoughts regarding our great location which is within easy reach of a number of restaurants and bars and an easy walk to the centre.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards, John Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a new hotel and nicely located close to the heart of Kiev, but in a nice quiet area. service and staff where at all times helpful and polite. Always wanted to help and assist when asked. rooms where a good size and very clean

Room Tip: all rooms are nice as new hotel
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayneanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsjm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Wayneanddee

We are all delighted that you had a great stay at our hotel and found our team helpful , polite and always wanting to assist throughout your stay. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write and share this on TripAdvisor.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of looking after you on a future visit to the city.

Best regards John Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is my 6th hotel in the past ten nights and let me start by saying the room and beds are comfortable and the color scheme is brown/grass green is very relaxing. The feeling inside the room was great. And the rooms are easily large enough for two people. The hotel is on a quiet side street, just off Chervonoarmiiska Street, which goes directly into the center of the city and the main churches and sights (though that is a long walk. Took me more than an hour one way to the St. Vladimir's/St. Sofia's/St. Michael's area.), but by subway it's much quicker. The hotel does have some minor annoyances that distract from the experience. In my room, I needed to make an international call. After several failed attempts and two trips down to the front disk, the woman at the front desk told me that the phones are blocked unless you provide a credit card. Considering I prebooked/prepaid the room with a credit card and am a priority club member, they already have my details on file. Still, I had to provide another credit card. Another point that would be helpful would be some indication in the room of what time checkout is. I couldn't find an information book in the room, nor on the key card holder given at check in, nor anywhere else in the room. I realize the trend is towards removing the desk materials from rooms (including the hotel information book that used to be standard) but some of us do check this information to plan our final day post-checkout. In the end, I had to call reception to find out what time check-out is. The final problem, and the one that made life most difficult, was that the hotel won't exchange money. I arrived in Kiev on Orthodox Easter Sunday. With nearly everything closed, it would have been helpful to be able to get a little Ukrainian money for walking around. Most hotels will exchange Euros/Dollars for guests, but not this one. That to me is unacceptable. In the end, the rooms are nice, but there is very little in the way of service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xClark-Griswoldx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsjm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear xClark-Griswoldx

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you found our rooms great and that you were comfortable. We are sorry for the inconvenience relating to additional charges. As we do not authorise any additional funds from a credit card without the guests permission.
Regarding money exchange, all hotels are unable to exchange money due to banking laws. Some larger hotels do have a bank kiosk offering money exchange. There are however many bank machines and small bank exchange kiosks all around the city.
Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Best regards, John Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Perfect position in Central Kiev, even though looks quite tricky to find for taxi drivers ( generally, they drop you off just around the corner, as their GPS can't find the exact hotel location ).
Rooms are elegant, comfortable, spacious. Also the hotel restaurant, that I had the chance to try twice, is beyond expectations even if not superlative. Front desk helpful, kind and professional. Slightly overpriced, even for Kiev.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HippoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsjm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear HippoD
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. We were very happy that you found our rooms elegant, comfortable and spacious and that the hotel restaurant exceeded your expectations. We are also pleased that you found the front desk staff helpful, kind and professional.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.
Best regards, John Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
1.8 mi away
Khreschatyk Hotel
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 111 in Kiev
399 reviews
1.4 mi away
11 Mirrors Design Hotel
1.5 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
0.5 mi away
ALFAVITO Hotel Kyiv
ALFAVITO Hotel Kyiv
#9 of 111 in Kiev
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Opera Hotel
Opera Hotel
#7 of 111 in Kiev
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kiev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kiev

Address: 100 Chervonoarmiiska Street, Kiev 03150, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: $139 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Kiev 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Connected at the Holiday Inn Kiev Hotel with Complimentary Internet Access The Holiday Inn Kiev is situated between Hor'koho Street and Chervonoarmiis'ka Street. You can surf the web with complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms and public areas. It's just a short walk to the Olympic Stadium. A wealth of International brands can be found in the main city centre shopping district which is only 1km from the hotel and easily accessible via the Metro Olimpiis'ka, former Respublikans'kiy Stadion. Many historical and cultural sights are nearby including the Opera House, Khreschatyk (Kiev Main Street) and the Museum of Eastern and Western Art, or admire the Orthodox Churches golden domes that rise from the forested hilltops. The Holiday Inn Kiev hotel is ideally located on a main city route leading directly to the new motorway E40, linking to Kyiv's Boryspil International Airport and the famous leisure resort of Odessa on the Black Sea. In the heart of the financial district and Ukrainian Presidential Administration, Parliament, and Governmental Departments in the direct surroundings, the Holiday Inn Kiev is ideally located for both business and leisure travelers. The Holiday Inn Kiev looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Kiev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing