We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and centrally located, one block from the Metro, so you can get anywhere in the city for about fifty cents in USD.

My room was a suite, which surprised me, and the view of the river was fantastic.

Also, it was about the most comfortable bed and linens of any hotel I've ever visited.

The breakfast buffet was huge and delicious, and they were able to accommodate my American need for Diet Coke as a breakfast drink.

Finally, it was the staff who made my visit to Kiev so wonderful. They were informative, helpful, friendly, and went above and beyond. I happened to have left my most important possession behind in the bathroom, and when I called, nearly in tears, they went, found it, and assured me that it would be returned. I have no doubt it will be.

Truly a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 540 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Mr Jamos Taylor you think to solve problem by your own way but when you see my email about your hotel in all online reservation sites and complainig sites you will understand what does it means to deceive and take innocent people's money..I dont know where you come from but you know how to follow ukranian way to deceivw your customers...This is not about money..iam a businessman who gives 2400 ukranian money for a one lunch 2 person meal in your hotel.. this is about a men's honor.. you try to make me stupied and this made me so angry.Now iam in reception and if you respond to my email negative.You will face a serious problem about negative information for your hotel...So tell me your view and decision about this event...


Decision is up to you!..






I stayed fairmont hotel the dates between 14.09 - 16.09.2013 For 2 night me and my business partner payed 1000 usd to hotel for 2 night stay. My business partner leaved hotel one day earlier because of his crucial meeting..When i applied to reception desk i learned that they take from us 1500 ukranian money eventhough my partner said to them that he wanted to enclose balance yesterday.they take 1500 ukranian money from us without our permission.After a time they told us they did not take the money they just blocked this money in our account.For this problem i spend 40 minutes and also i want my 1000 ukranian deposit from them..because it is my right.i had checked out..but they want deposit paper from me..

I do not have any information about paper...what paper??

After that time

One bellboy went to my room and he turned back with a few minutes..he said that in the room one cigarette is smoken in the room.. it is impossible becuase i did not smoke.And because of this event they want 2500 ukranian money punishment from me...And i really shocked!!

And reception front office manager called Mr. James Taylor come to near me and told me that you did not smoke in the room...so your punishment is just 1000 ukranian money so it is same as your deposit and we did not give this deposit to you!..

This hotels humiliating behaviour is really bad and now i warn all booking.com visitors and people who think to stay in FAIRMONT HOTEL KIEV. My suggestion to people is to find realiable and better hotel and never prefer to stay in this hotel !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank erkandnepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

True 5* luxury hotel. Everithing was excellent. Nice view on Dnieper river. Highly reccomended. The rooms were exceptional, with very comfortable beds and down pillows (a serious step up from almost all Ukraine hotels). It was a great experience! I'm looking forward to go back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AHTOXXXA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the moment we walked in to this elegantly appointed (and new) hotel, we enjoyed our week long+ stay at the Fairmont Grand Kiev. The rooms were exceptional, with very comfortable beds and down pillows (a serious step up from almost all Ukraine hotels). The view, despite nearby construction, of the Dnepro River is relaxing. It's still close to the action of Kryschatyk Street and Independence Square, yet removed from the noise in large part.

The service is impeccable. It's by far the best guest service staff in Eastern Europe. Period. The only real drawbacks are the costs of any extras. The buffet at breakfast is immense, varied and delicious, but not worth $50 USD. Cocktails are great (they're cocktails, and often specially prepared), but are priced around $25 USD (even beer was more than $20). Seriously? Are they that much better? No. In fact, some members of the wait staff at the restaurant could learn a few things from the concierge desk. Same thing in the spa. You can use the fitness room, just don't expect to grab a quick jacuzzi. The cost is $60 USD each time you want to dip your toe. No joke.

We ended up biting the bullet through the times we just wanted to relax in the hotel. But most other times, we found exceptional dining within a one block radius, including American style breakfasts at Shooters Cafe, and the best Italian restaurant in Kiev, Oliva both on the street directly behind the hotel. There are others too, and all with great drinking and dining value (and taste) just a few steps in virtually every direction.

All in all, worth it. We'll be back, no doubt, if for no other reason that the way we were treated. You just need to know where else to go for the extras.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if you can get it. 8th floor seems to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I've stayed at other Fairmonts, but this one so far it's my favorite.
Friendly & professional staff, great location, spacious rooms, classy decor.
It was a great experience!
I'm looking forward to go back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandoUrgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We died and fell into heaven when we checked in. Our room was so large, the beds so comfortable, it was hard to leave do to other things! We stayed on the courtyard side so the room was completely quiet - just what we wanted. We were impressed with the breakfast buffet and great cafe au laits. We ate once in the dining room, our first night in, and found it to be OK but not great - certainly a pricey venture for us. The staff, especially at the front desk and Serge the doorman, were wonderfully friendly and helpful to us, and we could not have had a better experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are more or less soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodlandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I highly recommend the Fairmont Gold service as it has been my best experience of any Hotel I have stayed in. The staff were very welcoming and always helpful. The food was delightful and really delicious. I did not want to leave the hotel. Overall great experience and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shahn9311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#5 of 112 in Kiev
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#7 of 112 in Kiev
593 reviews
Opera Hotel
#4 of 112 in Kiev
496 reviews
Senator Maidan
#3 of 112 in Kiev
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv

Address: Naberezhno-Khreschatytska vul. 1, Kiev 04070, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: $264 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv is located in the heart of the city’s historic Podil district, where every turn reveals unrivalled views of the Dnipro River, the golden domes of surrounding cathedrals, and countless world-famous architectural landmarks. The hotel features 258 guest rooms, each exceeding 42m2. Hotel also features a restaurant, a lobby champagne bar, a fitness room, swimming pool, spa zone, and the underground parking. There are 12 rooms for conference services at the hotel, from 20 m² up to 460 m², including a luxurious Atrium and the biggest in the city ballroom for grand events. Guest room amenities and features• Air-conditioning with individualclimate control• Pillow-top mattresses, 300-thread-countlinens, down-filled pillows and duvets• Plush bathrobes• Exclusive Le Labo Rose 31 bathroom amenities• 42" LCD HDTV with media-connectivity panel• On-demand video system• High-speed Internet (including wireless)• Desk and telephone with voice mail• Laptop safe• Сoffee maker, kettle and refreshment centre• Hair-dryer• Garment bags ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing