We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
“The best!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The best value for money in Kiev. Very good location, big room, friendly stuff. Very good breakfast. Good food in restaurant. In the last trip I've opened thai massage for myself with nice masseurs and rather cheap prices that situated in 30 metres from the hotel.
Will return in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergi0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKyiv, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sergi0111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the tripadvisor community.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards

James Taylor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    89
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
37
108
43
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Rooms: Spacious and clean. Bathroom spectacular. The junior suite was particularly comfortable.
Restaurant on 11th Floor: Good breakfast and service exceptional. Evening canapes tasty.
Restaurant on 2nd Floor: Knowledgeable head waiter. The steak and lamb were tender and delicious. Efficient and attentive service.
Strong points: very pleasant and helpful staff throughout the hotel particularly appreciated Alex on the 11th Flloor.
Weak points: Bath water had a yellow tinge, no bidet or night light.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1986745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKyiv, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear 1987645,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Alex from Fairmont Gold is excited to hear of your appreciation of the Fairmont Gold floor.

With regards to the yellow water, we do apo0logise and have taken steps to rectify this.

Kindest Regards

James Taylor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Staying at Fairmont, the rooms are very nice, comfortable beds, good location to the metro station, a lot of problems with concierge, they don't want to do anything. As a matter of fact, we were trying to get the tickets for the opening ceremony of World Championship of rhythmic gymnastic, Fairmont concierge did not even pick the phone to try to get the tickets, so we stopped by at the local Riviera Boutique Hotel, and they were great - very helpful. We were able to watch the opening ceremony!!! Shame on you guys - five star hotel!!! We were very disappointed for this kind of service. We travel all over the world and if you stay in 5***** the concierge is very helpful. Here they truly don't care.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RibbonFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
323 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Fairmont at Kyiv has won awards, and it is not difficult to see why. Once you get past the slightly monolithic (a politer term would be 'unflashy') exterior, the lobby is cool and spacious, and the staff helpful and polite without setting your teeth on edge by gushing all the time (nobody invited me to have a nice day, which is always a good sign). The rooms are large and well-appointed, the bathrooms particularly so; they are rooms in which - and this must be the true test - it's no hardship to spend time. We stayed there twice in the course of a week, and on the second occasion got an upgrade without asking for it, although the only discernible difference was that the second room had a balcony and a view of the Dnieper and St. Andrew's Church, which suggests that all the rooms are of the same high quality. The breakfast buffet was extensive, if not cheap. Despite what the in-room information says, there are not yet ice machines on each floor, but a call to room service will get you ice quickly enough.

It's true that you can't currently turn right outside the hotel because of building works going on, but that will be temporary, and much of Kyiv is under the developer's hand anyway. Nor is it a city which, on the right bank at least, encourages riverbank strolling. But the hotel is handy for Podil, which has some fine old nineteenth century architecture being gussied up, and lots of restaurants, and it's only a short walk to the funicular up to St. Mikhayil's church and St. Sophia, or to the Metro (easy to use, one stop to the city centre, flat rate of 2 hryvnia for any journey). Kyiv is a busy, in-your-face sort of city; the Fairmont is the ideal haven of rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKyiv, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear misterig,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. Your thoughts and comments are much appreciated and provide a balanced view of our hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

James Taylor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

No surprises, this a Fairmont hotel: a good corporate product, with a reasonable price, with the Fairmont decoration, colour ABS design. The only pb is the High way construction between the river Dniepr and the hotel. No noice, but no view anymore. A pity.
Will recommend this hotel for business, but probably not for leisure reason.
An excellent GM who personally called me in the room to welcome(à great little attention).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EkaterinaS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKyiv, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear EkaterinaS1978,

Warm greetings from Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Whilst the construction is beyond our control, it is excellent to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James Taylor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked a room on their club 11th floor. Could not have been better! We would have liked a room with a view rather than the internal quadrangle but the view from the lounge was great and we didn't move despite offers. The staff in the 11th floor lounge couldn't have been kinder or nicer; They diligently helped us with all our questions and sent us of to nice restaurants. Great breakfasts and aperitifs beautifully presented. The food outside wasn't great as we opted to go for local restaurants and experience what "locals" ate. It was fun but the night we ate in the Fairmont restaurant was so much better! Had a massage on the 4th floor and enjoyed it but there was some language issues in explaining what I wanted / didn't want but in the end - no problems! The construction work that so many complained about was not an issue. We hope we can go back.
PS if you have to go outside, the location for being a tourist is great!

Room Tip: Go for it - get an Executive room on 11/12th floor - its well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durris681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKyiv, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear callan681,

Warmest Greeting from Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv,

It is excellent to hear of your memorable stay here on our Fairmont Gold Floor, the staff of Fairmont Gold in particular are excited to hear your feedback. your experiences of our restaurant is very pleasing.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont and Kyiv in the near future.

Kindest Regards

James Taylor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
385 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Hotel is wonderful , staff frendly and top level . A real 5 start superior Hotel . The room are wide the customer of top level security at top level . Breakfast fantastic All looks at the top . We found only these problems that are temporary but reduced our satisfation . The hotel is indide a wide constriction area , there is a lot of powder near the Hotel . the construction are is wide and will takes 4-8 months before all will be finished . The Restaurants are pratically empty because no one except guest come in this are . The room service is really poor like choice and quality but expensive . The television system shoot down for all the 3 days in witch we was in hotel 14-15-16 August . we have 3 rooms and finally the staff admitted that all the hotel have the same problem . Looks that depend from a french supplier .... The phone room to rooms also shoot down and for call a room need to go to the reception . The wake up broken also . Finally a fantastic staff that make the best , but some problems are unacceptable in an Hotel of this level . I suggest this hotel only from 1 year when the construction site will be finished and the problem of the equipment will be solved .

Room Tip: River view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKyiv, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear paolo b,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the Tripadvisor community.

I would like to apologise for the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us. Unfortunately we did have technical issues with our TV System and Phone Ssytem, however this was only temporary and has been fully resolved.

With regards to the construction, this is an outside works run by the City Administration and is out of our control. This is however successfully moving towards a conclusion.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv in the future.

Kindest Regards

James Taylor
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#4 of 111 in Kiev
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera Hotel
#6 of 111 in Kiev
448 reviews
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#5 of 111 in Kiev
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv

Property: Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv
Address: Naberezhno-Khreschatytska vul. 1, Kiev 04070, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv is located in the heart of the city’s historic Podil district, where every turn reveals unrivalled views of the Dnipro River, the golden domes of surrounding cathedrals, and countless world-famous architectural landmarks. The hotel features 258 guest rooms, each exceeding 42m2. Hotel also features a restaurant, a lobby champagne bar, a fitness room, swimming pool, spa zone, and the underground parking. There are 12 rooms for conference services at the hotel, from 20 m² up to 460 m², including a luxurious Atrium and the biggest in the city ballroom for grand events. Guest room amenities and features• Air-conditioning with individualclimate control• Pillow-top mattresses, 300-thread-countlinens, down-filled pillows and duvets• Plush bathrobes• Exclusive Le Labo Rose 31 bathroom amenities• 42" LCD HDTV with media-connectivity panel• On-demand video system• High-speed Internet (including wireless)• Desk and telephone with voice mail• Laptop safe• Сoffee maker, kettle and refreshment centre• Hair-dryer• Garment bags ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Grand Hotel Kyiv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing