We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey yet not nicely-so”
Review of City Center Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Center Hostel
Ranked #174 of 408 Specialty Lodging in Kiev
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here based on a hostelworld.com rating, but I could not understand how it got so highly-rated (... maybe some conspiring amongst their sister hostels in Kiev)? The location was convenient for walking around to see the sights of the city, and the price was reasonable; however the staff were not very helpful and there was no atmosphere for meeting other travellers - I had to join an external (i.e. run by another hostel) pub crawl. The dorm I stayed in was right next to the reception and it was not peaceful at all, with music, talking or their budgies always making noise constantly. So in summary, stay at this place only if you're a heavy sleeper and plan to spend most of your time outside of the hostel! I would not stay here again, so I do not recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room as far from the reception as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcolehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 50 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

It was a great hostel with only a few drawbacks, which were that they are on the seventh floor of the apartment building and that wasn't very clear from the outside.
The restroom facility was quite small.
Overall experience was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaytonHelmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was a great hostel with only a few drawbacks, which were that they are on the seventh floor of the apartment building and that wasn't very clear from the outside.
The restroom facility was quite small.
Overall experience was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaytonHelmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

You really get what you pay for, entrance to building and using elevator seems dangerous and buliding smells a bit, but hostel itself was clean. We stayed two nights and I have already seen better hostels, but when you are travelling on budget it is ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaginho007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

All-in a very efficient solution for group accommodation when you're there to party!
We had 3 rooms of 4, and were not particularly quiet at night but no-one complained, so that's appreciable!
Obviously it's not the most comfortable, especially for the 2 that sleep in the "living room" with a couch that turn into bed and no curtains...
No major issue with service, only a tad slow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

For the money we paid , this was an average place but the location was excellent. The showers could have been better - they were terrible- as they had minimal pressure and the cubicles were suffocating. The next time I am in Kiev - I might just book a hotel - hope it's not jacked up in price due to the Euro2012.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dharam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

stayed here during the euros, the staff was incompetent and could not scratch thier own behinds without "calling the manager" who seemed to be this almighty figure we could not talk to.

When we arrived they told us they didnt have what we booked and it became apparent that this was a common these amongst the guests as they were told the same. they charged us the expensive rate and gave us the cheap shared room. They had a sister hostel with same manager in Odessa that they recommended us and booked for us.
Same story again, arrived and the room was not available and again they said we could stay in the dorm. needles to say we left.

This happened after we confirmed several times our booking face to face and on the phone and told them we like to avoid the same incident that occurred in Kiev. will not go near this place again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Khreschatyk Hotel
#17 of 112 in Kiev
420 reviews
Premier Hotel Rus
#16 of 112 in Kiev
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Salve Hostel
#133 of 408 in Kiev
45 reviews
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#5 of 112 in Kiev
572 reviews
Hotel Nivki
#59 of 112 in Kiev
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hostel

Address: Sofiivska vul. No. 10, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 408 Specialty Lodging in Kiev
Price Range: $10 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — City Center Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Center Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing