We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Burnham UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and quality”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very well appointed rooms with luxury fittings. Very comfortable bed. Great $35 airport pick up taxi service organised by helpful manager. Good aircon, not noisy, and spacious bathroom. Great central location very near the Teatralna Metro.Many good cares nearby for breakfast and other meals. Helpful management and staff; complimentary luggage storage, local taxi ordering at regular rates.
But...still poor signage, none beyond the sign on No10 entry arch; go straight ahead through the arch to the far door in the centre, then up just one floor. It feels a bit disconcerting since renovation of the stairwell is still work-in-progress. Reception is behind the unmarked door on the right, it has a buzzer but have the manager/reception mobile number with you since he also covers further apartments in another block. On balance a good value, well appointed apartment, serviced daily, despite the disconcerting approach route.

Room Tip: Studio has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocktroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
38
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
580 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were upgraded to a luxury suite, which was fantastic - marvellous but still sophisticated decoration, large spaces, king-size bed, jacuzzi, and the others. Very much appreciated the fully equipped kitchen and complimentary mineral water. The location is perfect, most sights can be reached on foot. Its downside was however the lack of reception and signposting of the hotel. Practically it is impossible to find it without calling the number on your booking. It opens from the interior area of a seriously run-down apartment building, giving you a creepy feeling that you are in a very bad place. So when you arrive do not wander around, just give a call and let them pick you up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold S, General Manager at Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and we continue to take it constructively to improve our services. I would like to go ahead and comment on each of the items mentioned:

1. Thank you for the compliment on our rooms, we do in fact believe that we have the best quality of actual rooms of any hotel in Kiev. They are in fact on par with any 5 star hotel.

2. As far as finding the hotel, actually it is very easy now, as the signs have been updated and changed. There is now a large sign on the street level, arrows in the courtyard and signs on the actual entrance. The issue occurred as your stay overlapped with the time we had our old signs removed and new ones not yet installed.

3. As for the reception - there is in fact 24 hour reception, located on the 2nd floor of a main entrance. However, it may be likely at the time you went there the manager was either checking another client in or perhaps left for a few minutes. In any event, a manager can always be reached by phone even if they stepped away from their desk.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and we hope to see you in Kiev in the future.

Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

There is a small sign visible from the road, with the name of the business, that is above the entrance to the inner courtyard of the building that it is in. Once you get in the courtyard, though, there are no directions about where to go. Finally called the number, and one of the staff met me outside, and took me up to the floor where my room was. The checking in process started a little "rough", but ended very well.

The checking in process started a little "rough", but ended very well. I should have known better, since Am Ex isn't accepted a lot of places even in Western Europe, but since AmEx was an available payment on Expedia, I thought I would be fine.... Well, not so. If you read the small print, under the payment amount, it reads something to the effect of: "Final Payment will be made in local currency, directly with the hotel." They prefer cash, but I know they take Visa, since that's what I eventually used. They were very helpful/friendly about it.

The room was beautiful. Great windows, that could open either as a window, or in a door "open/closed" fashion. Balcony was nice too. Nice small fridge, stove, drinking glasses, wine glasses, coffee cups, cooking items, etc. Washing machine (ask for detergent and they will put some in for you), but no dryer, so I just laid my stuff out in the bathroom to dry. Marble floors, comfortable bed, nice couch. Barely watched the TV, but it was nice. Place was cleaned daily. Would definitely stay again.

Staff was always friendly, and willing to help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aulee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold S, General Manager at Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for such great feedback. It is our pleasure to receive such kind words and we will continue working to make sure all of our guests are satisfied. As for the sign, there are now signs in the courtyard (arrow signs), showing exactly where the entrance is. Your visit coincided with changes of these sings, which is why they were not visible and we apologize for that.

We look froward to seeing you in Kiev with us in the future.

Thank you,
Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in the beginning of March 2013. The hotel is composed of a number of renovated flats in a normal anonymous building. There are no signs outside, and the flats are distributed over several buildings, so unless you are “lucky” or know the precise address, it is almost impossible to find this “hotel”. You need to go into the yard – and then locate the flats. The flats themselves are beautiful, cozy, and very good! The heating system is working, and the TV features foreign TV-channels, e.g. German, English and US channels. The location is perfect in the heart of Kiev, not far from the National Theatre. A practical advise: They prefer that payments for the flats is made in cash, so try and negotiate a better price in exchange for paying this way – if possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikkjal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold S, Manager at Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mikjal

Thank you for your review and we appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative and always attempt to use the information to improve our services. I understand your frustration about not being able to find us, however, I do have some good news and inform you that our signs have been placed both on the street level (one large sign that lights up at night as well), along with arrow signs in the courtyard. It is impossible to miss us now. Unfortunately, during your stay the old signs were being replaced, which is why difficulty in finding us occurred.

We hope to see you in Kiev in the future.

Thank you
Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Theatre Boutique hotel prior to travelling to another part of Ukraine. The price we paid was £56 on a booking site which was a lot cheaper than the hotel's own site. I have to say that was real value for money. The hotel is situated right in the centre of the city, just off the main street and close to all the restaurants and sites of interest and with a metro station right across the road. It was difficult to find at first as the entrance is in a courtyard and there is little signage, however the owner saw us approaching and came straight over to us. I must say it seemed a little strange, it isn't a conventional hotel with lobby, reception etc. It is a residential apartment block where the rooms have been converted into hotel rooms. Therefore the staircases are concrete and look shabby and the elevator is the smallest I have ever seen, one person and a bag is all that can fit in. The room itself was a studio but a decent size, clean, modern with a small kitchen area. The bathroom was also well appointed and had a very large jacuzzi bath. It also had wi-fi. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and allowed us to keep our bags there until 1530 despite the check out time of 1100. There was no breakfast included but that didn't bother us as there are plenty of places to eats. All in all, because of the price, location and cleanliness I would stay here again if it were for one or two nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheApostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I needed a room at the very last minute during the Euro Cup in Ukraine. We found this place on booking.com and the response to the booking was very prompt (that same morning). The staff spoke English and were very helpful over the phone.

The sign for the hotel can be a bit hard to find, but once located (with the help of a friendly neighbour) you'll see it's actually in a very central location, just a minute or 2 from the nearest metro station and walking distance from places of interest and shopping. The staff, upon check in, were really friendly and helpful. They showed us the rooms and even helped to call the cab for us the next day to go to the airport.

The room looked like it was recently refurbished and had high ceilings, with a/c and huge windows that let in a lot of light. Everything was really clean and the tv had decent channels to flick through. There was also free internet, which was great. This hotel has the tiniest elevator I have ever seen, enough to squeeze in 3 ppl at the most (with no luggage).

In terms of price, it was pretty decent, but it is difficult to say as when we visited Ukraine everywhere was easily 4 or 5 times the price it usually is.

Overall, a really good place to stay whilst visiting Kiev.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezoar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Staff was very friendly. We arrived early and were not able to check in, but there was a possibility to store our luggage. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable. Metro station was a 2 minutes walk. Apartments are in the middle of the city. There was a sign near the street and next to the entrance was another one. No breakfast, but a lot of possibilities nearby for a tasty start of the day .
Heating was a lot warmer than necessary and couldn't be switched off.
There was a water dispenser in the apartment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.4 mi away
Senator Apartments Maidan
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.8 mi away
Opera Hotel
Opera Hotel
#6 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sherborne ApartHotel
Sherborne ApartHotel
#26 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Staro Hotel
Staro Hotel
#24 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel

Property: Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel
Address: Bogdana Khmelnytskogo Str.10, apt.22 | Main Entrance, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small boutique style hotel located in the very center of Kiev. All of our suites offer individual design. Each suite features a two person Jacuzzi. Our staff will do their absolute best to make your stay in Kiev unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing