We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great Ibis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Kiev City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ibis Kiev City Center
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Another great Ibis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Cheap price for a great hotel. The staff was very nice. Check in and out were easy. They gave me a high room on the 12th floor which was nice, they asked me what I preferred. Room looked like a normal Ibis room, great all around. The view of the city was nice. Breakfast was tasty. The lobby had computers that I used to contact my friend who met up with me at the hotel and we used Google translate for a while before heading off since he didn't know English and I don't know Ukrainian so that helped out greatly! They called me a taxi and helped with anything I needed. Thanks Ibis Kiev!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 325irollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, PA to General Manager at ibis Kiev City Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Let me express my appreciation with such a nice comment regarding your stay at ibis Kiev Shevchenko Bouklevard.
It is always a pleasure for our team to receive positive feedback as we are striving to provide the best possible level of services to our guests.

It will be our pleasure to accommodate you again during your next visit to Kiev.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    483
    115
    25
    8
See reviews for
70
163
157
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashkelon, Israel
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I would call this hotel , best for your money. Compared to other choice in Kiev this would be the best
Only breakfast is over charged
The rest is ver good for short business trips
After traveling to Kiev for over ten years at least 3, 4 times a year
Accor has brought the best solution compared to other
To bad Holiday Inn don't consider to give his member any solution, beside price killers
bravo Accor!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Davidcpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at ibis Kiev City Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback concerning your experience with ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive and nice comment. Our team is always doing their best in order to provide the highest level of services to our guests.

Thank you again for your confidence in our ability to serve you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

While on business trips, I usually stay in Accor hotels - there is an expected quality of service and most of the times no bad surprises.
Since Ibis is the only Accor hotel in Kiev, I decided to spend 10 nights here and I had no regrets after checking out. I will try to evaluate it by comparing with other Ibis hotels I've stayed in.

First, if you have time for visiting Kiev, you should know that the hotel is close to city center and few minutes to subway - this allows you to walk to major tourists sites or get underground and quickly reach your destination.
The young personnel welcomes you with a smile at the reception, speaking a good English. In the restaurant there is the same same warm atmosphere.
The dinner is regular, nothing special, but the breakfast is excellent for an Ibis hotel.
Along with usual "cold & dry" food you find in many Ibis restaurants around Europe, here you receive a special treatment: each morning they provide various choices from Ukrainian cuisine. Whoever had this idea should be congratulated for bringing uniqness to this Ibis hotel.
The rooms are very basic but ok, even if the bathroom feels a bit small - if you are a guy over 100 kg you will definitely find it cramped.
Although I had a non-smoking room, last days in the morning it smelled like cigarets. Also in the hall it felt like ventilation was not properly working. I hope it was a temporary issue.
Altogether the services are good. Charge per night is slightly higher compared to other Ibis hotels from EU but it I guess it's lower compared to same level hotels in Kiev.
I recommend it and most probably stay there next time.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet but I recommend to choose a room on top floors - you will have a nice view over bota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arcadie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at ibis Kiev City Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Arcadie P,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding stay at ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard.
Let me assure you that minor issues you have encountered do not reflect our level of service. All thedescribed issues are already fixed.
Tahnk you again for your feedback that is very important to us.
We really hope that your next visit will be more pleasant than previous one.
Sincerely,
nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is extremely basic. It is clean and well kept, however in my opinion the value for money is not there. Rooms walls are barren, and beds are very hard.

Breakfast is very basic, and the warm items are rather strange. For example they served cabbage rolls, green beans, rice, and then scrambled eggs (in water). Anyone who says the food at breakfast is good, really musnt stay in hotels very often, so wouldnt know any better.

Unfortunately, dinner all 3 nights I ate there was very poor. Two night sin a row I ordered the steak. First night I ordered it medium and it came well done. Next night when ordering it again and letting the waitress (name beginning with A) know that the night before it was overdone, her reply was “ I’m sorry sir, that’s not possible, it was prepared by our chef”, err, ok. So I asked for it to me medium-well done, in hopes of getting medium. From the attached picture, you can see that it came closer to rare. When I asked for it to be cooked a bit longer, the waitress said’ but you wanted it medium-rare”, and I told her that it was rare, not medium-rare, to which she rolled her eyes…not the greatest customer service. Oh and beware, when bill time came, they gave me a bill with 4 drinks on it which I never had, I only caught it because of the quantity, as the items are listed in Cyrillic.

The bar service wasn’t much better. The bar maid (name beginning with N) was very hostile, and not at all attentive. In fact she seemed to blatantly ignore me a few times, which was strange.

The redeeming aspects of this hotel was the front desk staff, who I found very polite, curious and helpful.

Overall, I would suggest to stay here if you don’t plan on having any meals at the location, and if you want an extremely basic room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llcoold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at ibis Kiev City Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience with ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard I have received. It is very kind of you to take the time to give us your feedback. We always strive to provide the most enjoyable stay to our guests, and your opinion is always very valuable to us, and gives us an opportunity to improve the level of the services and the satisfaction of our guests.
Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the problems you have experienced. Let me assure you that all the necessary actions are already taken to prevent such occurrences in the future. I am very sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. However, your observations give us an opportunity to work on further improving of the experience we are offering to our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in January 2013, very friendly hotel staff with good English skills, hotel reception was very clean and modern. The rooms themselves were small, but for the price you pay, it wasn't a problem.

Hotel restaurant served good quality for food, with a good choice of food on the menu, a little expensive for what it was, but it is more expensive to eat at our hotel than eating outside.

Hotel was located not far from Kiev main Train Station and and if you wanted to stretch your legs its a pleasurable walk to the main downtown area, or a short inexpensive taxi ride, I think it was around 30 hryvnia (£2.50).

Cant really fault this hotel it is a cost effective place to stay. If its a comfortable clean hotel to get your head down and use as a base then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember08192015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at ibis Kiev City Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this pleasant comment regarding your stay at ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard hotel. Such pleasant and nice comments serve as a very good motivation fo rour team.

Thank you for your confidence in our ability to serve you.
We will be pleased to welcome you again during your next visit to Kiev.

Best regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kiev who is looking to stay close to the train station yet be within easy reach of the centre. It's very comfortable and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank defojeffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at ibis Kiev City Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for sharing your comment regarding your stay at ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard hotel.
It is a big pleasure to receive a positive feedback as our team is always putting all their efforts to make you feel satisfied with your stay.

We will be happy to serve you again during your next visit to Kiev.

Sincerely,
Nina Sotnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is positioned just slightly too far from the city centre sights for my liking. It was a 30 minute walk up to St Sophia's Cathedral but there was a metro stop on Shevchenko Blvd a few minutes away.
The rooms were fine, the staff helpful and there is a taxi rank outside which also helped.
I like the Ibis chain and generally stay with them but if I was returning to Kiev I'd probably look a bit nearer the centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awk2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at ibis Kiev City Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all et me express my appreciation for sharing your experience.
Your feedback is very important to us as our team is always doing its best to make our guests feel like home.
We really hope that during your next visit to Kiev you will give us an opportunity to serve you better and your next stay will be more pleasant.

Sincerely,
Nina Sotnikova.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Cosmopolite Hotel
#8 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lypky
Hotel Ukraine
Hotel Ukraine
#26 of 111 in Kiev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Khreschatyk Hotel
#18 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Kiev City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Kiev City Center

Property: ibis Kiev City Center
Address: Shevchenka Tarasa bulv. 25, Kiev 01032, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Kiev City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Kiev City Center hotel was open in August 2011. It is located in the center of Kiev, close to Khreschatik street, main shopping and historic avenue from where you can get easily to: St. Vladimir Cathedral, St. Sofia's Cathedral, Dnieper River view, National Circus and other points of interest. Nearest metro stations: Univesitet, Vokzalnaya.The hotel features 212 new generation Ibis rooms with air conditioning, flat-screen TV, satellite, free Wi-Fi internet connection. Bar is opened 24/7 for snacks and ibis Kitchen restaurant works till 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your ibis Kiev City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing