We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Funicular” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiev Funicular

Kiev Funicular
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Private City Tour of Kiev
Ranked #1 of 9 Transportation in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun Funicular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I used to have an apartment at the top about a two minute walk. I used to take the Funicular often to go to Podil.

I remember reading about the Kyiv metro system just before I took the Funicular for the first time. It mentioned how that if you tried to step through too soon after putting your blue metro token in a metal bar would shoot up and whack you in the .... Sure enough that happened to me.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank David427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    217
    120
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Fun things to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

saves a lot of time and trams are always fun. Older tram but still fun and if you are on the Dnieper, this is the fastest way to get to City Center. Faster than a taxi

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“complete your tour with a hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

for me it is one of the best round trips in Kiev: Andriivskiy spusk (alley) starting up from Mikhailovskiy street down to Podil/Contractova ploscha (sqr) and have a coffee on the Sagaidachnogo street and finish your journey with Funicular which is situated right at the end of the street with a magnificent view of Dnipro river.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cnkyldrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

On a hot summers day perfect! I don't think it's a tourist attraction as such, but worth a visit as what you see at the top is spectacular!

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Energy saver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you don't feel like climbing Andreyevsky Spusk, it would behoove you to just pay the miserly 1.5-2.0 hryvnyas to take this up. I would not classify this as a tourist attraction per se; however, because it is rather old, it's an experience worth trying. I like the decorations on either side of the station as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank alicevarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiev Funicular also viewed

 

Been to Kiev Funicular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing