We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ottima cena”
Review of Al Faro

Al Faro
Ranked #59 of 1,963 Restaurants in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ottima cena”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have been twice at "Al Faro", and I can say that both times it was a really nice dinner.
The place is very nice, especially for a romantic dinner.
Good quality of the food, even if we cannot say that is 100% Italian cooking style, but anyway really good.
Also, and this is quite important as the quality of the food, the service has a good standard: waiters always very carefull on taking care the customer needs.

For sure I will be back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guido S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    70
    34
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian in a central location”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've been to Al faro twice and both times had a really great meal. The location is convenient, you can walk there in about 10-15 minutes from Kreschatyk and the food and atmosphere are great. Try the steak with truffle sauce, it's delicious! They also do really nice pizza and pasta. It's a little on the pricey side for Kiev, but still cheap by European standards. A meal for four with main courses and drinks came to about £80.

The atmosphere is very nice, they have a live pianist playing whilst you eat and there are usually a few other diners around even if you go mid-week. Highly recommended if you need a bit of a break from the stodgy Ukranian food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I made a reservation for the family and the table was ready including the highchair for the toddler. The waiter spoke English and was very attentive. I ordered the beef filet with truffles and it was outstanding. My wife went with the more traditional lasagna and she enjoyed it also. The kids got pizza and liked it also. It is our second time there this year and it has been superb both times. We will definitely return. It is wonderful that you can be welcomed with children and get superior cuisine also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen RW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Typical Run Up the Bill Scam Joint”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I came to Al Faro with my girlfriend, and the place is well decorated but runs the typical "run up the bill on the foreigners" routine. The waiter sold my girlfriend on the special, which turned out to be a giant whole fish she had no prayer of eating -- hidden cost 800 hrivnia. The food is good, and the restaurant is very nice. Just watch your wallet and order carefully.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank McAliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to relax and enjoy a delicious meal! Tsezarone most delicious salad that I had to taste! Everything was perfect =)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Faro also viewed

 

Been to Al Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing