We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far from anywhere, stay elsewhere”
Review of Hotel Nivki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nivki
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Bodo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too far from anywhere, stay elsewhere”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is located in what can only be described as a sketchy area of Kiev. It is in an old soviet block well off the main drag and hard to find. It is a 30 min walk to the metro and I walk fast. The closest metro station is not Nvyky at all but the next station along which is closer to the road the hotel is actually on. So unless you love walking long distances in the heat or have plenty of money for taxis I would pick somewhere else.

The rooms are small and have shared bathrooms which is a problem if the people next door are constantly hogging it. The walls are paper thin so you can imagine what can be heard at all hours of the night. No air conditioning but windows did open. Wifi did not work at all so a trip to the lobby was necessary to get internet.

Couldn't fault the staff who were helpful in ordering taxis etc. When I checked in there was no record of my booking or the price that was promised online. They did honor the online price eventually.

If you are on a budget it would do but if you want to be closer to the city and have a better hotel stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivki_13, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Hotel Nivki, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your review. It's always important for us to know what our clients think of our service so we can constantly improve it.
Our hotel is located in the western part of Shevchenko district of Kiev. And the eastern part of this district spreads right to down town.
We are glad to tell you that our guests can take advantage of free transfer to Nivki metro station that is available seven-day week according to the schedule.
Moreover, we'd like to mention that we have five categories of rooms in "Nivki" hotel and our guests are free to choose any they prefer to satisfy their need for comfort.
Thank you for your warm words about our staff!
We hope we'd see you again as our guest so you can appreciate our renewed hotel. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    34
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
7
18
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

You need to take bus or taxi to get to city center. The hotel is located in a old block area. They have free internet and it works fine. You have to share the bathroom with another room. But the room is above average for the price. I recommend it if you can live with a not so very good located hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_N284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed three nights with my son for Euro 2012. It is a long way out from the centre, but taxis are very cheap. Our room was excellent, and the staff are incredibly helpful - including ordering taxis much cheaper than yoiu can get on the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nickgr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed here for Euro2012 first week because it was the only place that would confirm a booking at a fixed price before the event. I had read the reviews on here so I wasn't expecting much but the reality was a shock to someone who is used to Western levels for the same price. The staff are fantastic and most of them speak English and they will do anything to help. The cafe is useful and the food is freshly prepared. This is essential because there is nowhere else to eat for miles around.

My room was small but I had to share a bathroom. There was a kettle but no tea or coffee or even a cup. There is no airconditioning although the windows do open. The bathroom was clean and everything worked but there was no plug in the sink.

The biggest problem is the area where the hotel is - it is awful. There are stray dogs howling, people shouting at each other all night and the only way to get from there to Nivky Metro is by taxi so you will spend a lot of time and money on taxi fares and the standard of vehicles and driving is very poor. You would not want to be in this area after dark I think.

I think the staff here are trying very hard to make this into a nice hotel but they will always struggle against the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back where they might be less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robinj_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I spent 4 nights there in February, 2012. The Hotel is terribly noisy - you will not sleep (even if you're a seasoned traveller). My room had a shared bathroom (it was sold to me as a private). It is not close to a 3 star. It was not clean. It is very far from city center - a combination bus-metro ride that takes close to an hour each way. You can do much better.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Hotel has been built inside an old Soviet housing block very far from center of Kiev. The rooms are nice, the bathrooms very nice. But if you are coming to see Kiev---this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
0.0 mi away
Vizit Hotel Complex
Vizit Hotel Complex
#60 of 111 in Kiev
3 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Plaza
Ambassador Plaza
#28 of 111 in Kiev
67 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lukyanovsky
Hotel Lukyanovsky
#62 of 111 in Kiev
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Mir
Mir
#49 of 111 in Kiev
85 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bratislava Hotel
Bratislava Hotel
#23 of 111 in Kiev
224 reviews
9.0 mi away
Voskhod Hotel
Voskhod Hotel
#85 of 111 in Kiev
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nivki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nivki

Property: Hotel Nivki
Address: Tupolyeva akademika vul. 16-e, Kiev 04128, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nivki 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Nivki" is a hospitable hotel with cost-effective prices for the tourists and business travelers. The hotel has already gained popularity and recognition of many guests coming to Kiev. We are the closest hotel to the Exhibition Centre "KievExpoPlaza" and just a few minutes away of walking time. To assure that our guests receive the most comfortable conditions, we provide them with a free shuttle bus service to/from metro station "Nivki." Breakfasts are served at cafe as well as at guest's rooms. We have free and secure parking on the hotel's territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Nivki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing