We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit far out”
Review of Hotel Nivki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nivki
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Reviewed September 20, 2012

You need to take bus or taxi to get to city center. The hotel is located in a old block area. They have free internet and it works fine. You have to share the bathroom with another room. But the room is above average for the price. I recommend it if you can live with a not so very good located hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred_N284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 86 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed three nights with my son for Euro 2012. It is a long way out from the centre, but taxis are very cheap. Our room was excellent, and the staff are incredibly helpful - including ordering taxis much cheaper than yoiu can get on the street.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nickgr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed here for Euro2012 first week because it was the only place that would confirm a booking at a fixed price before the event. I had read the reviews on here so I wasn't expecting much but the reality was a shock to someone who is used to Western levels for the same price. The staff are fantastic and most of them speak English and they will do anything to help. The cafe is useful and the food is freshly prepared. This is essential because there is nowhere else to eat for miles around.

My room was small but I had to share a bathroom. There was a kettle but no tea or coffee or even a cup. There is no airconditioning although the windows do open. The bathroom was clean and everything worked but there was no plug in the sink.

The biggest problem is the area where the hotel is - it is awful. There are stray dogs howling, people shouting at each other all night and the only way to get from there to Nivky Metro is by taxi so you will spend a lot of time and money on taxi fares and the standard of vehicles and driving is very poor. You would not want to be in this area after dark I think.

I think the staff here are trying very hard to make this into a nice hotel but they will always struggle against the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back where they might be less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robinj_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I spent 4 nights there in February, 2012. The Hotel is terribly noisy - you will not sleep (even if you're a seasoned traveller). My room had a shared bathroom (it was sold to me as a private). It is not close to a 3 star. It was not clean. It is very far from city center - a combination bus-metro ride that takes close to an hour each way. You can do much better.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Hotel has been built inside an old Soviet housing block very far from center of Kiev. The rooms are nice, the bathrooms very nice. But if you are coming to see Kiev---this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicagobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Rudi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Андрій Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
1 mi away
Ambassador Plaza
Ambassador Plaza
#30 of 112 in Kiev
70 reviews
6.6 mi away
Vizit Hotel Complex
Vizit Hotel Complex
#98 of 112 in Kiev
4 reviews
2.7 mi away
7 Days
7 Days
#90 of 112 in Kiev
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Bratislava Hotel
Bratislava Hotel
#19 of 112 in Kiev
238 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bakkara Art-Hotel
Bakkara Art-Hotel
#22 of 112 in Kiev
323 reviews
5.5 mi away
Theatre Boutique Apart-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nivki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nivki

Address: Tupolyeva akademika vul. 16-e, Kiev 04128, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range: $13 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nivki 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Nivki" is a hospitable hotel with cost-effective prices for the tourists and business travelers. The hotel has already gained popularity and recognition of many guests coming to Kiev. We are the closest hotel to the Exhibition Centre "KievExpoPlaza" and just a few minutes away of walking time. To assure that our guests receive the most comfortable conditions, we provide them with a free shuttle bus service to/from metro station "Nivki." Breakfasts are served at cafe as well as at guest's rooms. We have free and secure parking on the hotel's territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Nivki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing