We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, food was just okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Himalaya

Himalaya
Ranked #304 of 1,797 Restaurants in Kiev
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great location, food was just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were hoping for a lot, but the food was just okay. The location was great, the people were nice, prices were okay, and the ambiance was okay. We went here on our first night in Kiev. I probably wouldn't return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OverseasIowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    33
    17
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
140 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good for Kiev”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Centrally located, in Kreshatik, a fair Indian in Kiev. Although not a fantastic one, probably the best Indian in town so far. Usual dishes (cuurry is so-so) and smiling service. If you are looking for a real Indian, this is not perfect, but the closest thing you could find in Kiev.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GIOPIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great, Unassuming Little Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Right in the heart of Kiev on Kreshatyk Street is this little, out-of-the-way restaurant. I believe its # 23. It is a little difficult to find, but between two large buildings (Zara and Grand Galeria), you look up and will see the sign. The sign is in Russian, but you should be able to figure it out... You have to go alongside a cafe terrace to stairs going up to Himalaya... it all sounds more complicated than it is... BUT, it is well worth it.
The food is very good and authentic Indian cuisine at reasonable prices. Not an inexpensive restaurant, but very good value for your money.
The staff have always been good, and the restaurant always seems to be busy, but I have never had a problem getting a good table.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Terrible Ambassador for Indian Cuisine in Ukraine - Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Back to back Indian meals showed a devastating contrast. After Amsterdam I flew to Kiev.

I thought Indian cuisine in Kiev was a gamble but the reviews were not bad and they seemed to be around for over 15 years so I thought, why not?

Service was friendly and warm. The restaurant was tired looking, toilets dirty, and in need of minor adjustments and work to bring it up to shape. Lazy not to have done this prior to last year's European football crowd in Kiev but I have had great food in tatty restaurants so I was not yet worried.

Then the real problems started.

Some of the completely unavailable items to start with: Any sweet chutney, lime pickle, poppadoms, or any Indian beer (but corona with a lemon(?) was offered.)

Sauces were therefore limited to mint raita and something that looked and tasted like ketchup gone wrong.

The menu contained a vastly too large selection of items including Indian pork dishes (hilarious) and some "international" items like Singapore Noodles.

The ordered Indian dishes "looked" right but to start with were lukewarm (at best). A main meat dish was served in a nice oval metal dish on a beautiful enclosed copper heater. The dish was cold, the copper heater was very cold and when I lifted the dish there was a place for a candle but no sign that any had ever been placed there.

All dishes lacked flavor. My lamb Vindaloo, although it looked good (large pieces of tender meat, not too many potatoes, sauce not oily) was ordered extra spicy. It was completely bland and tasted like last weekend pot roast.

My partner's dishes were equally bland and the Naan looked like frozen thin crust pizza dough sprinkled with some spices (bland).

The vegetable samosas (I ordered meat ones) contained whole cardamon pods. (Note to chef: you are supposed to open the pods and take the seeds out, not use the whole pod!) Even these seemed devoid of taste.

As the owner was actually in and around the restaurant all evening there is no excuse for this.

My advise to people in Kiev is avoid this place at all cost until they have a re-launch with a new chef and a manager who actually cares about what comes our of his kitchen. They would not last a week anywhere else but Kiev, Lazy and too bad this awful place acts as the showcase for such a fine culinary heritage to Ukrainian diners. Maybe the Indian ambassador should stop by? )

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaremche
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The place for Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've been to the Himalaya dozens of times over the years, nearly every time I'm in Kyiv. Of course, the quality changes with new chefs, but Basically the interior is nicely overdone, the service is very gracious and the food is never worse than average. It has got a bit less spicy over the last year or two.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rascalndear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya also viewed

 
Kiev, Ukraine
 

Been to Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing