We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok for a curry fix...”
Review of Himalaya

Himalaya
Ranked #373 of 1,966 Restaurants in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“It's ok for a curry fix...”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Had to have my curry fix while I was away and I went to the Himalaya again, 3rd or 4th time now. Now you are not spoilt for choice for curry restaurants in Kiev so you take what you can get. The starters are nothing to write home about and the nan are not fluffy and light (I am a nan o holic, your heard that phrase here first folks!) rather thin and stretchy but they do serve a purpose. If you ask for keema nan you get a nan with mince smeared on the top rather than the ''traditional'' keema nan with the mince sandwiched into the nan. There are no curries on the menu that really stand out and the reason I have given this restaurant an average rating instead of poor is because I was so happy to get my curry kick after a number of days. Service was generally very good and the restaurant looks like a traditional old style Indian restaurant. As a previous reviewer has already stated the price of a meal is really average so no quibbles there. You do get the impression that the owner(s) are present.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    34
    20
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Taste of Home for the Asian Diaspora”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed in Kiev for 4 nights, Himalaya was close to our apartment and we couldn't stop ourselves from frequenting which is a shame as we missed out on the opportunities to try the local and Uzbek cuisines. Suffice to say the food is not bad, economical, and service is generally very good. Would recommend the Qeema & Chicken Liver and the Seekh kabab, if you a tad bit hungry try the mixed grill :)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ulfat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dab
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian food”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Himalaya will prepare you some of the best Indian food you have ever had. Don't see something on menu you can ask for it. Waitstaff fluent in English. Wonderful experience, i have eaten there many times.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dab4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very good food , fast service and fair price”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Vide variety of Indian food , very tasty , fast service , very centrally located and fair price. Interior atmosphere is very traditional , old furnished and not very enjoyable , however food quality & price balance is perfect :))

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMERIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have been to this restaurant a couple of times. The food is delicious - especially Tandoori cuisine is highly recommended! Great value for the Centre of Kyiv and friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kuzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya also viewed

 

Been to Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing