We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less Than Average for Food”
Review of Bistro Vernissage

Bistro Vernissage
Ranked #444 of 1,963 Restaurants in Kiev
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Alhambra, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Less Than Average for Food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a dinner with an old friend who knew this place. He loved it probably because of the bar which is okay, but not extraordinary. The food is supposed to be continental, but leaves a lot to be desired. I had a pesto spaghetti which was very dry and did not have much taste and the portion was very small. My wife liked her tartar, but also was not outstanding. The dessert we ordered was the highlight though you would not go to restaurant for dinner because the dessert was outstanding. Overall I would not go back as the food was so so.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tajikiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    3
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Averagely good. Have a protective helmet for your safety!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The food is averagely good. The staff is friendly enough. There is a strong urine odor if you eat outside. The restaurant is located in a residential multistory building with upper floor balconies. I would strongly recommend to eat inside or have a protective helmet for your safety.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice little place to wind down a bit and have a quiet cup of coffee. Home made ginger lemonade was excellent - very refreshing on hot summer days.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hurk_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Having been to this restaurant in several different locations around Kiev, I have to admit that this is my favorite of the locations. You pass through an iron gate and into a small courtyard that has outdoor tables during late spring, summer, and fall.

I have always found the food to be very good (except maybe the Vietnamese soup--but I should have known better than to order something like that in a "French" restaurant) and looks exactly like the pictures on the menu. I am partial to the salad with 4 slices of toast with warmed goat cheese that surounds a generous helping of fresh salad. I saw that another reviewer mentioned that the salad they received was not fresh which is unfortunate. It would be upsetting to have a bad meal, especially with the prices they charge. While they did not have a good experience, I've been to this location on many different occasions and have never experienced anything wrong with my food, or the food of my friends.

Really nice cosy atmosphere. If you are out shopping, stopping in for a cool drink and seat near the window to people watch is a nice alternative to having a meal.

Several things to note:
1) Seating selection at this location is very limited. Make sure to book ahead, eat at an off time or on a week day.
2) The menus differ slightly from restaurant to restaurant within the chain. I.e. they might have different sauces.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evesmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quaint Bistro in charming location”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Originally founded by a French exile as an honest plonk, steak and frites place, the amateur feel was not out of place with the homey tiny room crammed with odd paintings and brass and a teeny bar. New owners have brought in a plasticated menu with dish photos and branched to larger premises in Kiev, but the original restaurant retains its former quirkiness (the throne room is worth the visit) and the result is still honest food in cozy surroundings that are a welcome relief from many of the slick "oligarsky" offerrings in Kiev.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thepshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Vernissage also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Vernissage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing