We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting for short visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kiev Zoo

The Kiev Zoo
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Interesting for short visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Kiev Zoo is populted by not lot of animals but it is interesting to experience. The main attrction was an aging elephnt named "Boy!" A few years ago someone was entering the zoo and feeding poisoned food to the animals. Long time resident and citizen favorite "Boy" ws a causalty. fw more nimls were poisoned as well. Not sure if they caught the culprit.
A few animals, a few rides and lots of toys and balloons for sale. Not high on the visitation list .. trust me!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kolasa03148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    62
    39
    23
    17
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Nordjylland, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained zoo with sad surroundings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Kiev Zoo is a cheap and easy accessible zoo with public transport. 40-50% of their cages are empty, and only few cages are properly maintained and many of the animals live a live a life in an isolated cage with poor conditions.

I would not recommend this place unless you have a few kids with you as they may not understand the term animal suffering, though Kiev zoo may be a good example of this.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A few friends and I went to Kiev Zoo as a part of our visit to Kiev. At first we were surprised by the ticket prices, around 15-25 UAH for entrance. But short after we entered we figured out why these tickets were so cheap.

Many of the cages where empty. Many of the cages was very poorly maintained. They were filled with dirt and weed, and there were only few exceptions. In certain cases you could barely see the animals because black thick bars hid them.

When it comes to safety in the zoo, I am also a bit concerned, because at the bear cage the glass between the cage and the audience had a huge crack across as well as one of the glass windows was replaced with a wooden board. Taking into consideration that bears are four legged tanks, they could easily shred this wooden board.

The animals didn't seems to thrive. Many of the social animals were isolated and alone (I saw the saddest giraffe in my life) and some animals had way too small cages.

Nothing everything was completely awful. They had a decent petting zoo, where you can touch both goats, pigs and donkeys and for a few UAH, you can purchase a cup of vegetables to feed them,

When it comes to alternative attractions in the zoo, they have some stands with souvenirs, food and carrousels but there is nothing extraordinary to mention about these.

Everywhere in the zoo, you can observe poor maintenance. During our trip in the Zoo we found many resemblance to buildings the abandoned city of Pripyat. Wild weed seems to slowly taking over the park and its just a question about time before Kiev Zoo becomes a real forest.

I would not recommend Kiev Zoo for anybody, unless they have a few kids they want to entertain for an hour or two. The zoo's animals is of bad shape and properly health and you can easily see a park that may once have been a proud and glorious attraction is slowly crumbling. It is nothing but a matter of time before this zoo will close unless drastic measures is taken.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PilgaardMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev,Ua
Level Contributor
205 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A visiting animal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you come in the morning, you can see how the lions released into the aviary and they are having fun. However, animals do not like to take a picture with the flash!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viktor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostvoorne, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SAD :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The animals look really sad. The cages are really small and there is nothing to do for them. It is really sad to see. The worst thing was a rhino that walked the same small circle over and over again , just because he couldn't do anything else. We left, before we saw everything.. we were simply not enjoying this..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank klasina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow, russia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good place for kids but not for Animals”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

What can i say - then Zoo is out of money and has no support, animals are the first to suffer. POOR primates - the place they live now is AWFALL. Lions and Tigers has no water. Really sad picture. Well, kids are happy anyway - they do not see and get it so far.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank maxim_dronov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kiev Zoo also viewed

 

Been to The Kiev Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing