We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Beach View Bakkara ---- and bring your Fishing Rod!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakkara Art-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bakkara Art-Hotel
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Beach View Bakkara ---- and bring your Fishing Rod!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I had read such negative reviews of Ukranian hotels that the Bakkara came as a pleasent surprise.None of the glum unhelpful faces here.In fact I found the English speaking staff generally most friendly and efficient.
Moored on the Dnipro River this floating hotel is located only a 10 minute walk from the nearest Metro station from which Central Kiev and it's numerous delights can be reached within a matter of minutes.
The rooms are large and kept spotlessly clean.
The breakfast is of good quality and caters for all tastes.I doubt whether it is bettered within it's star rating in Kiev.
The hotel's only real negative aspect is it's close proximity on the landward side to a very busy duel carriageway hence this review comes with a strong recommendation that it is certainly worth the not excessive extra cost to book riverside rooms.
I live in central London so am accustomed to plenty of noise but even for me I slept very poorly for the first night or two.The traffic never seems to stop 24 hours!
Fortunately I was given the opportunity to move to a river view room and although it was not 100% noise free due to the occasional river boat disco boat sailing past it was heaven compared to the constant drone of cars and lorries.
So all in all based on a Waterside room booking I would definately give this hotel the tumbs up .... I am looking forward to another visit in 2010!!
And yes,if you fancy a lazy day on the beach,just cross the nearby Dnipro bridge and you can be soaking in the sun within a 20 minute walk,just don't expect Bay Watch Lifeguards!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBraddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    120
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
31
82
31
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

To our surprise we arrived to discover that our hotel is literary on the water, ie ship and each room is a cabin.

Hotel is permanently attached along with half dozen other hotels/retaurants along riger Днепр, about a km up from Kievs port. One side of the Bakarra hotel facing quiet a busy road and other river.

On first night was worst ever, rooms were mixed up (possibly due to our mistake) and we were given a room facing the freeway; that night was end of school celebrations end right next to the hotel is a nightclub boat which was very noisy. We were unable to move as that night the hotel was full.
Morning after we moved to another room, up from 2nd floor to 3rd and facing the river. It's much quieter and nicer.

Overall as Kiev is quiet overpriced, this is very good option (as most other hotels are 3-5x the price).

However if you are not comfortable on ships (this rocks ever so slightly, esp if larger ship goes by) or if you do mind ocasional noise, then this place is not for you.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max8764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Stayed three nights at the Bakkara Floatel. It was surprising good value and great standard. Service from all staff was very good. Classic Rooms are a good size, well decorated and clean. Breakfast is very varied and well presented. Be careful in the bar as prices quoted just dont seem to tally with what you pay and was very expensive. The hotel is just 20 minutes walk from the centre along river or main busy road but taxi will cost just £5 and there is a nearby Metro. Better to request a river view though as you would need a telescope to see the city from here. Happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Bakkara hotel is situated on the ship, just 10 min from “Dnepro” metro station. I spend 3 nights (3-7 may 2010) in standard room, small but well equipped (TV, aircond, minibar) and well cleaned. Not bad for 3* hotel in ex-USSR. Wifi is free and available in rooms, lobby and restaurant. At buffet-style breakfasts was good but not too diverse, but tasty.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

Bakkara is a good hotel. The rooms are clean and nice decorated. We had a room on the riverside. The standard rooms are a not very large. Because of the airco unit isn't working, its quit warm in the room.
Location is about 30 minutes walk to the city centre. There is a subway station in about 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
7.7 mi away
Ambassador Plaza
Ambassador Plaza
#27 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.0 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bratislava Hotel
Bratislava Hotel
#23 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sherborne ApartHotel
Sherborne ApartHotel
#22 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
5.4 mi away
Raziotel Kyiv
Raziotel Kyiv
#21 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakkara Art-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakkara Art-Hotel

Property: Bakkara Art-Hotel
Address: Venice Island, 1 | Hydropark Subway Station, Kiev 02660, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kiev
#19 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakkara Art-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bakkara Art hotel in Kiev has 200 comfortable rooms that are ideal for romantic breaks as well as for business trips. The variety of different categories of suites that hotel suggests allows you to choose one that fits the purpose of your visit most of all – from a cozy standard room to a luxe class. Comfortable beds with nice bed linens will provide our guests with sound sleep. All the rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with electronic security system, TV, free Wi-Fi Internet access, personal mini safe, hair drier, mini-bar, telephone with direct international access. Buffet breakfast is included into the rooms’ prices. Convenient conference room, sized 105 sq. m, with modern technical equipment is available to all the guests of our hotel for conducting conference, meetings and seminars for up to 100 participants. There is also a modern business center situated near the hotel’s conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Bakkara Art-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakkara Art Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing